All member reviews for Cirque Du Freak: The Saga of Darren Shan Series

Common Sense Media says

Vampire horror series may hook reluctant readers.
 

Users say

(out of 88 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byKforKitty101 May 27, 2010
age 11+
 

I LOVE THEM!

AHHHHH! This is my new fave book series! Much better than Twilight! But i still recommend it if your 11 years or older because it is scary. But if you love horror, this is for you! Its AMAZING! These vampires dont sparkle, stalk people, or have sex at an early age. They are great role models! I LOVE LARTEN CREPSLEY! :D
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bycwg98 May 15, 2011
age 12+
 

Ideal for Tweens but under 12s won't get it

Perfect book for 12+ Basically a violent, bloody and exciting version of Twilight. But definately not for under 12s as the first book is sad and depressing and the others include more blood and fighting. The storyline may also be confusing for them as there is a lot going on and it's spooky as well as violent.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old September 30, 2010
age 7+
 
i loved this book. their was nothing wrong i read it when i was 8. i fell in love with this book. i have read this series 3 times. a great classic
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheCookieMonster September 17, 2010
age 12+
 
I luv this book
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byContra23 September 6, 2010
age 12+
 

Great macabre thriller, that captivates readers until the last page is turned.

I love these books! I've read all 12 and was sooo sad when I was done with them, very entertaining a great thriller!
Kid, 10 years old January 4, 2011
age 10+
 

Awesome for tweens

When I read this book I fell in love with it. Its not too bad because unless kids really saw people doing these things and they aren't too descriptive. Still its a little violent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byclairebearxoxox June 12, 2010
age 13+
 
i love them its soo good the movie wasnt that violent okay the books were kinda but not horribly its sooo good read it i wouldnt do less the n10 because they probly odnt know what some of it means and 10 is iffy but 13 is good i read them when i was 12
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bySakura-Fluff January 13, 2010
age 10+
 

I loved it!

One of the best series I've read. I read the series when I was in 6th grade. I was 10. It was in 2006. I may not be the best one to judge the vampire element, since i read those kind of books so much, but it's not all the book is about. It shows how the real world is, or at least how hard it is, trying to do whats right, and then being hurt for it. Nonetheless, it's an amazing book!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 16, 2013
age 11+
 

No.

No. No. No. Not for kids. I myself did not read it, but was giving great discription from kids in my class that read it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byvegas-diva August 14, 2012
age 13+
 

10/10

Yeah i think it is a great book for any teens. its got lots of action and it has a great story line. i dont think kids under 12 should read it though because the book might confuse them and they might not get the whole story and because there is quite of killing and stuff but the dont describe it in detail which is good for the younger ones. one of the reasons i like it more than twilight and stuff is because there is less romance and it gets on with the story instead of lots of talking and stuff. i love this series and would recommend it to everyone :D
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnn Black May 9, 2011
age 11+
 

Great for Tweens!

I think this book was very good. Although it did have violence and a few curse words I think this book was a good read. I would recommend this book for people who aren't scared to read a good horror book and for kids probably over 11 or 12.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bypoisondeath123 February 16, 2011
age 6+
 

If you can read it, then it's right for you

This is the best series EVER! especially in a time of twilightified vampires. Best book saga of all time. Very creative, Darren's the best horror author yet (tied with Ray Bradbury and Stephen King)
Teen, 14 years old Written byruneplatoon August 31, 2012
age 10+
 

Amazing Book

Im 14 but was 13 when i read the WHOLE series.i hate reading books but if i find abook i like i will tear through it and love it forever in this case the Cirque Du Freak series.personally i think it has 1uite a bit of violence but a little bit of book violence never hurt a kid or scarred him for life so all in all parents dont be overprotective, just let them read the book i gaurantee theyll like it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old May 10, 2010
age 10+
 

BEST BOOKS EVER!!!

I really really love this series!!! It is very exciting and you'll love every single book- even until book 12!! There is a bit of bad words, but it's not really a big deal.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bycoolioface April 26, 2010
age 14+
 

goood goood

good for ages 10 and up? really? these are such graphic gruesome books. 10 year olds can't read it unless they dont mind reading about throats being eaten out! but the series is amazing i read it soo fast
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byNerdy-In Hp I trust November 29, 2009
age 13+
 

Second best series I've ever read!!

I love Cirque Du Freak. Darren Shan is an amazing author and everyone would like it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 14 and 14 year old Written byxmasterxofxmyxd... November 14, 2008
age 10+
 

an entertaining read for tweens that can be hard to put down but its nothing more than that

an entertaining read for the pre-teens but it is not very well written if you have read more intricate stories by more talented authors. but overall it is a fun weekend read for tweens, but the plot is thin and the characters are cliched.
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

really god book

i love this series i finished the third book good books but it gets a little more violent in the 2 a persons gut gets ripped out but still good books
Teen, 16 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Spooky

When I read it it kind of freaked me out, of course i was in 6th grade. At one part its kinda nasty
Parent Written byshanerocks May 1, 2012
age 11+
 

Very suspenseful series

This series has a great plot to it. I've read all of them I love them! It doesn't get gory until the end of each installment.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages