All member reviews for City of Glass: The Mortal Instruments, Book 3

Common Sense Media says

Exciting, violent series cycle concludes with a bang.

Users say

(out of 36 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byZara360 September 1, 2012

Extemly Disapointing.. Has spoilars

I say this book has the following... Alec has makes-out with his boyfriend (his name escapes me) Max dies killed by Johnathan this book said it's possible to capture and kill angels Jace and clary have angel blood in them and find out the r not really brother and sister johnathan has demon blood in him and is really Clary's brother Jace is kinda like luke's nephew Simon and Izzy are believed to have sex the scene end with Izzy pushing Simon on to her bed, but Simon says other wise it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bysyaixyrah December 19, 2011

great book

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byNIXY December 17, 2011

LOVE

LOVE ,love,love,love,love,love!!!!!!!!! *SPOILER* i'm so glad that Alec and Magnus are together! <3
Teen, 14 years old Written byI izz awsom July 13, 2011

GO for it

I read this book. And shockingly the entire time my mind was split on two opinions. One- why in the world am I reading this? Two- I love the characters in this book. OK this book- no this series has a very confusing yet hilarious group of characters. I love how Jace and simon and Alec are constantly cracking small yet noticeable jokes ("What kind of walk takes 6 hours?") I am currently reading the 4th book, i do hope they make this a movie because I think it could be extremely interesting to see how the would adapt it into a movie. However I do think you should only read it if your in at least 8th grade.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bySakinarahman May 21, 2011

Perfect for teens and adults!

Another bestseller! Cassandra Clare did it again! :)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byCityofbonesfan019 January 28, 2011

Extreme violence... suited better for teens

Absoultly amazing!! The best of the series. It blew my mind!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byaddie2011 January 21, 2011
i loved this book and everybody should read it but probably just teens because it is really violent.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byCECI THE GREAT October 3, 2010

READ IT ALL

I loved the whole thing. I would totally choose this world with Jace, Isabelle, Alec, Simon, and Magnus than any other book-world! There's a bit more kissing 'n' stuff than the others, but the book is so amazing!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byJaberjay May 26, 2010

I love these books

Go out and buy the whole series. You will have something to talk about for months with your friends. Can't wait till the next book comes out
Teen, 14 years old Written byreadingfreak April 6, 2010
I don't recommend this book for younger tweens. City of glass is even more violent than the first two books and there is even more sexual scenes than the first two also. Personally I think that the whole series is great, I really loved all of them, but as a Christian girl I find the demonic stuff a little disturbing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bymanti November 8, 2009

i think that its perfect for ages 11-16

i just loved it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byshaddowphax July 19, 2009

read the others first

Good book, not too serious but not just a waste of time. Ideal for most teenagers, nothing overly noticable - would be fine for younger ones as language and themes are not explicite.
Teen, 13 years old Written bycorkiepookie June 12, 2009

AWESOME! but read the others first!

Parent of a 14 year old Written byNellie Kurt May 23, 2009

When I finished it I went back to the begging and read it all over again!

I never ever read a book so cool! The mortal instruments have everything a great book needs to have: love, fantasy, mystery.
Teen, 14 years old Written byBloody Gorgeous May 7, 2009

AWESOMENESS!!

Just as I Predicted, This Book was Amazing! I Love it! There were so Many Things Revealed and so many twists and and.... Well it's all a little Overwhelming to Write About. I actually cried at one part. There is SO MUCH I want to say but it would just spoil the whole thing. To make it short, The Mortal Instruments Series is an addicting, heartbreaking, heartmending, and Spectacular book! Any person who loves a good fantasy book MUST read this!! Definitely one of my favorite books ever!!
Teen, 16 years old Written byrixxxy May 2, 2009

most amazing book EVER

wow is all i have to say. i thought the 1st book was great the second was unbeatable, but the thrid was WOW. it took my breath away, i stayed up to 1:30am to read it. so many twists! it really tyes real life to a magical world and you can get lost completely in it. i would NOT read these books OUT OF ORDER. You will have no idea what is going on. but these books, espically this one, is AMAZING. :D

Pages