All member reviews for Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Sweet, funny summer vacation tale in 4th installment.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 109 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old May 9, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Book for anyone

This i a great book when you want a good laugh!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 7, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Best book yet and more to come!

As long as you have the time and patience to read these books [Each book is like 200 pages but easy reading], you will fall in love with them. :D Greg can be a bad role model at times, but it always ends well. The story can`t be all well in good, that`s what makes it a story! Jeez! Best book in the series yet, but I would totally recommend starting with the first book. The best are yet to come! Yay Jeff Kinney!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old May 6, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

All right, I guess...

OK, sometimes Greg is kinda bad, but still the best book in the series.
Kid, 11 years old April 29, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

awesome

I think this book is very cool because Greg Heffley is not like other kids that would want to go out and get some fresh air, but he rather stay inside withe the curtains closed and play viedo games... GREG ROCKS FOR BEING DIFFERENT....
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 12, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

WOOT!! WOOT!! :D

Loved The Book! Read all of them. I cant wait for the next one to come out. I EVEN WROTE A BOOK REPORT ON ONE! I dont read much but this book is pretty good!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 11, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

awesome

i saw no proplem with this book cs also forgot the movie diary you should have seen me and my best friend ethen in class at the time i was the only one in the whole grade who had the book and me and ethen were siting next to each other i showed him the sweaty part we almost got in tople for lol so loud in class
Kid, 9 years old April 8, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Depends on your personality

To be honest, i would rather read one of Jeff Kinneys other Diary of a Whimpy Kid books. This one seems as if Jeff Kinney was sleeping the whole time. Well, i guess it was pretty good if i think of what it would be like for other kids but keep in mind i am only being postive. You might like it, who knows?
Kid, 10 years old April 6, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Funny...go jeff kinney!!

Okay...here we go: It's a great book-like any other Jeff Kinney book. But like other "Diary Of A Wimpy Kid" books the role models aren't good and the messeges aren't very posotive. But thats is what makes a Jeff Kinney book a Jeff Kinney book. He is a great writer and the stories are sooo funny but I think 8 and up is a good age range so they do not have tolearn these things when they are too young.
Kid, 10 years old April 3, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Dog Days: A Dissapointment?

It was a little bit of a disapointment for a Diary of a Wimpy Kid book. It was okay, but like the movie, it could have been better.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 22, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

bad for diary of a wimpy kid

it wasnt very good for diary of a wimpy kid, but it was still OK. the only thing bad is the role models, greg and rodrick arent very good role models.
Kid, 9 years old March 20, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

YEA

Yea this so fun to read !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Kid, 9 years old March 19, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Best in the series very fun!

This book is simply the best in the series. It is easy to read and fun, having lots of pictures and comics. There is a part which would scare someone under five, which is when Greg and Rowley sneak a horror movie from Rodrick's room, and the movie and how it is described might have little kids having nightmares about it. It is also mention several times afterward. Greg makes bad choices, including him running onto a thrill ride he's not ready for, just because his brother said you can't be a man without going on it. Greg also writes what he feels about things, like when he goes to a water park and specifically states that it's for three year-olds. In the picture, his family is the only one with children over two foot. When Greg's grampa says to Greg's dad that he actually ran over his childhood dog, Frank gets mad and buys a dog quickly. Dog Days is perfect for kids 6+, that is after they've read the first three.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 16 and 17 year old Written byla_sombra1121 March 15, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
I think this book is very good for kid because its funny and good. =) :-)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old March 7, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

great

i have all four and its a great book dont get me wrong but i thihnk rodrick rules is better on ages 7 and up
Kid, 7 years old March 4, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

ummm... great!

Funny, crazy, and just plain original. This book is one of the best books I have ever read.
Kid, 12 years old March 2, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Anybody can read it

I love the book. It only took me one day to read. I hope you enjoy. When greg can't go on vaction he spends his time playing video games all day.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old February 24, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

PERFECT 4 ALL AGES

REALLY GOOD BOOK
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old February 17, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
I LOVE IT
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old February 4, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good!

Love it best book yet in the series.V.Funny
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 28, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Perfect for Younger kids and tweens!

I don't have the book, but, I had time to read a bit of it at a book store. It's rather funny I must admit. There are bully's in the book but nothing serious at all.
What other families should know
Great role models

Pages