All member reviews for Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Ugly Truth

Common Sense Media says

Greg faces puberty's horrors in funny 5th installment.

Users say

(out of 126 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old December 3, 2010
Teen, 14 years old Written byhaleyrox01 December 24, 2010
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 29, 2011

really good and dont say that there is any sexual content

i am reading it and i am loving it and i laughed at some parts
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byJesusFreak09 December 21, 2010
I reallly enjoyed this book. I really like the book series.
Kid, 12 years old June 26, 2011

Funny fifth book is a bit more mature than the rest.

I gotta say it was funny! It was a bit more mature than the rest of the book in the series. The whole book is basically a humorous way to inform kids about some changes in puberty. Like growing more hair and body odor. A brief mention of smoking was included. This book is perfect for comedy loving tweens. Especially fans of the series!
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byDrCool May 30, 2012

LOL

This book rocks! It is funny as heck and delightful to read! If you love Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (like me),then read this book,you won't be dissapointed! You'll thank me later! :D
Kid, 8 years old March 6, 2011

FUNNY!

AWESOME! So funny! Read it! 8 and Up Recomended.
Kid, 12 years old January 6, 2011

Good book for Kids 8+

Jeff Kinely's new book would be a great book for all kids going into puburty.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 11 year old Written bytolomolo December 25, 2010
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Kid, 9 years old March 24, 2012

The best book ever!

It is a great book!
Educator Written byMychemicalstinkpants April 25, 2011
Parent of a 7, 8, 9, and 9 year old Written bySamM 2 February 28, 2015

Give themselves a good headstarrt

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written bySuperTwinMom February 27, 2011

Not the BEST read for GIRLS

Wow... my daughter learned ALOT of what is going on with boys during pubertey....... thanks!
Parent of a 13 year old Written bysweetestgirl17 February 17, 2011
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4 and 8 year old Written byMrs. Edwards December 1, 2010
Kid, 10 years old November 17, 2013

another amazing diary of a wimpy kid book!

the diary of a wimpy kid series is the only books i will read! i have been reading these books ever since i was in 2nd grade and i am in 5th grade now. the main character Greg Heffley is a middle schooler who tries his best to survive middle school. in the ugly truth Greg starts to have puberty and he just starts to wonder what is going on with his life. this book is not as good as cabin fever,third wheel, or hard luck but this is still a awesome book for your collection!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheTrillionaire February 14, 2013

Love This Book!!!

This is a good book for kids 8+.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 2, 2012

Wimpy Kid Ugly Truth

Nothing bad, just a really good book!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old June 25, 2012

Good for kids becoming older

It's VERY funny,and is quite kid-freindly, except for one scene where Tyson pulls his pants all the way down showing his butt and also one or two scene(s) of kissing.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow March 31, 2012

Fantastic for kids hitting puberty

This increases on the level of maturity featured in DOAWK books, but it also comes with educational themes, more good messages, and more good role models. Parents need to know that this may be too mature for the younger DOAWK fans as it revolves around hitting puberty and what not, which means that there are occasional sexual themes. My advise to parents: on the day that you think it is right to buy your kid zit creme, give him/her this book with it. They will love it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex

Pages