All member reviews for Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Ugly Truth

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 98 reviews)
age 8+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old December 3, 2010
Teen, 14 years old Written byhaleyrox01 December 24, 2010
age 2+
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byScreennameGirl September 14, 2011
age 9+
 

Great Book

This is a really good book, even though it's about puberty. It's funny. But, you'll get through it fast. If you're a girl and want a girl diary book, check out Dork Diaries.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old May 29, 2011
age 10+
 

really good and dont say that there is any sexual content

i am reading it and i am loving it and i laughed at some parts
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byMr.ziarat master January 7, 2013
age 9+
 

parent should know the truth

The Ugly Truth begins with Greg discovering that Rowley has a new friend that his parents hired from a company called "Cool Brian". Left friendless, Greg attempts to find another friend and become popular on his own, only for this to backfire on him. At the same time he's dreading his uncle's impending wedding, knowing that his grandmother "Gammie" will try to have The Talk with him. Things are further exacerbated by his mother going back to school, which means that Greg, his father, and his brother will be left to care for themselves. Rodrick takes advantage of the situation to play several pranks on Greg, which culminates in him accidentally setting off a fire alarm at school, but manages not to be caught. As time progresses, Greg is subjected to more misery by way of an ill-tempered and paranoid dentist, receiving a failing grade on an important Health class assignment, and dealing with an extremely lazy maid called Isabella. To make matters worse, his mother is initially unwilling to believe that Isabella is lazy until she discovers this for herself and fires Isabella as a result. Greg also gains more stress over the impending school "Lock-In", where the boys and girls have a supervised slumber party in the school auditorium. The slumber party turns out to be a disaster, as the girls and boys are separated and the games are all either childlike and boring or risky. The slumber party is made even worse when one of the chaperones turns on the air conditioner to keep the misbehaving boys in their sleeping bags. The next day Rowley comes to school with a large zit on his forehead as a result of his growth spurt, which he believes will make him cooler and more attractive to girls. This leads Greg to question his parents over his own lack of a growth spurt, to which they reply that they were both late bloomers when it came to puberty. Greg is briefly excited at the chance to attend a party by one of the popular kids, only to be crushed when he discovers that he is unable to go since the party is on the same night as his uncle's wedding. Disappointed, Greg attends the wedding, where he's bored and humiliated. He's later pulled aside by his Gammie, who gives him "The Talk", where she explains to Greg the stress and horrors of becoming and being an adult both physically and mentally. Gammie tells Greg to enjoy his late childhood for now. Normality eventually resumes when Greg's mother stops attending college and returns to the family and Greg discovers that the party invitation was a pretense to use himself and Rowley as servants. Greg also decided to make the first move and mends his friendship with his ex-best friend Rowley, and the two became friends again.
Kid, 11 years old May 15, 2011
age 8+
 

OK BOOK1

It is very good. But I like Rodric rules better.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old May 14, 2011
age 11+
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old April 5, 2011
age 12+
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 25, 2010
age 6+
 

worst book ever!

It is realy bad.He loves,he has alot of money "stealing",and it is bad.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bythebest23 March 30, 2011
age 8+
 

anyone who can read

it's a great book,if you can read,read this book.it's funny,and retarded
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old February 24, 2011
age 7+
 

diary of a wimpy kid the ugly truth

I love it!ive read but im still in the middle of dog days
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 8, 2010
age 9+
 

over exaggerated

It wasnt as bad as people claim it to be it was actually a pretty good book but that just my opinion
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 28, 2010
age 10+
 
i havent read it but i hope it will be good
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 15, 2011
age 9+
 

Like bitstrips for school it's educatnal and fun

It's a very good book! It tells the reader about growing up. and I HATE lerning about this stuff but it put in in a funny way!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old May 14, 2011
age 9+
 

Good for growing up

It's a very good book. It teaches the reader about growing up. It helps.
Kid, 10 years old March 30, 2011
age 2+
 
This is one of the best books I've ever read.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old January 18, 2011
age 6+
 
i love it!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byJesusFreak09 December 21, 2010
age 7+
 
I reallly enjoyed this book. I really like the book series.
Kid, 12 years old January 4, 2015
age 9+
 

Puberty

In this book, Greg goes through puberty which I believe isn't quite appropriate for 8 year olds. But for sensitive 9 year olds, I don't think seeing a cartoonish butt is so appropriate either. Greg is still trying to find a girl, and loses Rowley (not for long) so the whole "sex" thing should be 4 circles. I would let a nonsensitive 9 year old read this book.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old June 28, 2014
age 12+
 

Too much about puberty

which is not for young kids. 12+
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages