All member reviews for Eighth Grade Bites: The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod

Common Sense Media says

Exciting vampire tale sucks in reluctant readers.

Users say

(out of 71 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byEmii February 4, 2009

Yet another Vampire story.

This book was actually quite interesting, unlike other vampire books the main character Vladimir drinks blood which is brought back from the hospital thnaks to aunt Nelly. If you liked the Twilight saga, well this serious might be the be book(s) for you!
Teen, 15 years old Written byCriticalMovieRater01 October 9, 2011

2 Words: Love It!

Loved it. Absolutely loved it. The series is just flat out amazing. Original storyline, but the only thing bad about it is all the talk of blood. Some people that get sick by talking or thinking about blood may not love the book, but the story is great, the characters are awesome role models, my all-time favorite series.
Teen, 13 years old Written byParamoreFan09 December 3, 2009

More blood shows up later in the series in violence.

I love this book!!! Yes, this one is okay, but as a warning, the ones later in the series get a little more... well... you know. Absolutely more blood later in the series-- specifically the third one. Torture scenes (with knives) throughout the whole book in dream sequences (SPOILER NEXT) and actual ones in the end. The second one is my FAVORITE!!! :) highly recommended.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byamaritri July 3, 2011

Vladimir tod is awesome

this book is designed for teenagers and pre-teens. not adults and not children. i love the fact that it is about a vampire boy but i like even more that he lives a very normal life. it isnt sexual which is another thing i love about it. if i wanted to know about pornos i can watch the internet.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byanime123rox May 18, 2011

Great

I REALLY LOVE THIS BOOK. there isn't really anything bad with the book. Really great series
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bysuper-duper-boo... May 2, 2011

really really outstanding!

This book was wonderful! Vlad was very relatable to in the way that we're all different, and we might have our own secrets, thought obviously not as HUGE as being a vampire. he's also accepted by who he is as a vampire by his aunt and his best friend. But, being a vampire book, it does have violence (sucking blood) but also his parents were burned in a fire. He revisits this memory many times throughout the series and always cries when he does. he says how he came home and saw his parents all burned, which was kind of depressing
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byJ-Cray October 4, 2011

READ THE BOOK AND YOU WILL LOVE IT!

This book is freakin awsome.....I was adicted to one series called Warriors(about cats and clans) but when i read a little bit of this book i was already hooked.. I thinks this book is more for Pre-teens and teens.. It has situations on which an older kid would understand..Im just finish the third book and going onto fourth..I Definately RECOMEND!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2011

very good

it was great
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byjadco2012 November 14, 2008

great book for anyone

this book is about a young vampire named vladimir tod, people call him vlad thogh. his best freind is named henery and his cruch is medrith, he lives with his aunt nelly scince his parents died when he was 10. his english teacher also dies and the new substitute teacher is keeping a close profile on vlad.
Adult Written byJames R December 2, 2016

For being a book in the young adult genre, it was a good read.

When I first read this book (and then the rest of the series), I was about 17 years old. I've always enjoyed fiction books ever since I was first able to read. This book (and the rest of the series), was very interesting and enjoyable. I'm definitely going to buy this book and the rest of the series ASAP because I liked it so much.
Teen, 14 years old Written byCastielWinchester September 27, 2016

Great for hard to convince readers

I feel this book is perfect for kids who refuses to read books. It's a fun and very entertaining book that many can enjoy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages