All member reviews for Feathers

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kid, 10 years old November 18, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for Patient Readers.

It's a great book and I think everyone should read it. Not much happens, though. The characters include: The narrator, her deaf brother, a white kid who comes to her all black school, and a bully.
Parent of a 10 year old Written byboragasux November 29, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byflohrkm September 10, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Perfect for teens.

I thought this was a great book. Dealt with acceptance issues.
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 November 10, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

feathers

falseness of that assumption. Families can talk about Dickenson's poem. What is it about? Why did the author use it so pervasively? How does it apply to the lives of these characters? Also, why do you think this book won the Newbery Honor?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byJordynnn September 10, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

About Feathers

Feathers is a really good book that I enjoyed a lot . I read it once in 6th grade and I'm just finishing it again while I'm in 8th grade . I'm using it to do a book project on and I shouldn't have picked this one . Don't get me wrong , Feathers is a great book , but it doesn't have a main conflict or climax . There's many conflicts throughout the book , but not one main one that's big a problem through the whole book . So my advice is to never pick this book for a book project , but you should definately read it !
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old March 7, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hope & Feathers.

This book is amazing and deep into hope.It sends Positive messages about A young girl who needs to find out A poem statement her teacher and read to her and her class.She wrote it down in her notebook to never forget.When she saw it she asked her mom about the statement.Hope is the thing with feathers.Is what it said.In the end she finds out.Its a Phenomenal book that should be great for any age grup and mad into a movie.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bybookreaderforever April 25, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

LOVE ITT!!!!!

One of my all time favorites!!! Kind of racist though.
Adult Written byjadafa3026 January 9, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byOttie February 8, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Thank you!

It's a good way for kids to learn who they may be talking to. People used to say "oh. that's not a kid book." untile we showed them,Yes it was.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byPixieLottGurl December 8, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

About Eight

I just read it in My eith grade class. There really isn't a climax or a main thing to look forward to, but it would be a good book for people, say, about eight.
Kid, 11 years old December 27, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good for tweens not for younger

I think the Jacqeline Woodson is a great writer....But her stories can have racism in there...
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old October 24, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Good for all ages (Especially Young Children)

I think that it was an amazing book and some kids are still a little racial and this book will help the kids see the other way.
What other families should know
Great messages