All member reviews for Firegirl

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

A disfigured classmate teaches stirring lessons.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 31 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bystas April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byB0OkWORM_DiiAMONd January 20, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

touching book [;

i loved this book when i read it last year.i cried.i reccomned this book to any children 10 and over.this book gives an insperational message.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old October 20, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

6th grade +, touching, loving

I loved that book. I was probably my favorite book of all time. It is touching, heart-warming, and can teach kids that it doesn't matter what one might look like on the outside, it counts what you're like on the inside. Even if it doesn't look like a good book from the cover to you, just give it a try and I'm sure you'll love it. Everybody I've heard talk about it said it was wonderful! It made me cry at the end, but only because of the words and what the meaning of them are after you read the whole story.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 13, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A roller coaster of emotions...

It must be terrible to be burned. The flames licking at your face with brutal tenderness and the overwhelming heat that leaves you screaming for ice. It must be even more terrible that after treatment, no one wants anything to do with you, to be dubbed, "Firegirl". In Tony Abbott's spellbinding book, Firegirl, this is exactly what happens. Seventh grader Tom Bender has almost has the same reaction when burned Jessica Feeney joins his class. She looks ugly and intimidating. All the other students turn against her and in a mass of glaring faces, Tom is the only one brave and kind enough to hold her hand and become her friend. Firegirl was a roller coaster of emotions. I felt compassion towards Jessica, anger at her peers, and annoyance at Tom for not standing up for her. I was broken hearted to see Jessica move to another place before the end of the book but deep down, I knew that was supposed to happen. How else would Tom know more about the world and its realities if Jessica stayed? This book was one of the things that made me realize something, that human beings are weak when it comes to peer pressure. It's so hard to take a stand against what you believe is right when everyone around you is doing otherwise. It's frightening to stand out against the crowd. People shun you and you begin to feel like you're not a member of the world anymore. But in the end, people begin to accept the fact that you don't want to be like everyone else and some might even take a stand with you.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
its good
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old March 31, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

read this book!!!!!!

It's the best book to teach kids not to judge someone by the way they look. Everyone can be friends no matter what they look like. I definitely recommend this book to anyone ages 9 and up.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old September 17, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
i think its a beautiful story and its a brilliant
Parent of a 12 year old Written byilovefiregirl March 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

FIRE GIRL ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this is now one of my faviorite books !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT I LOVE IT I LOVE IT ILOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you should totaly read it is beautiful and sad at the end jessica moves and tom liked her but they will always remember each other. so SAD!!!!!!! =*(
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old September 20, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Firegirl is awesome!!!

this is a really good book everyone will enjoy it!!!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMiZzXxXMaSaCaRxXx March 29, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

amazing for tweens and older kids but not great for younger ones.

my name is jordan rayner and im a student at worsley and im curently reading this and i think this is a very GREAT book for students or even parents that are being teased at school and there (might) be some one there that loves you for who you are witch i think is fabulouse. if there were an age group i would recommend this at the maximum of 13+ just in case younger ones find it quit disturbing but im twelve so i have found it to be very sed and fine.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 8 year old Written byspannfam February 23, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

terrific!

Great book! My 8-year old and I both read it together. She quite an advanced reader, and while it may not be appropriate for all eight year olds, I recommend it to 5th and 6th grade. It's a great example of writing that expresses feeling. Very imaginative. Does have a curse word, talks of cursing.
Kid, 11 years old December 25, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

10's a good age

I find the book very touching! Really there is nothing really for parents to be hesitant about though anyone under 10 might not quite understand it. I find that this book has a really nice message: to not judge a book by its cover (as in to not judge a person by what they look like) I really liked this story
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byPayton Hurd September 25, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

What I think about this book!

I learned that you shouldn't jugde someone by how they look or even how they act. This book is a really good book to read to your self or even to other children. This book has a little bit violence, but other then that I would totally recommend this book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 11 and 12 year old Written byA.C.L. April 6, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
It's a beautiful story, beautiful friendship, love the super power fantasies.. but extremely depressing when Jessica arrives. Love the story and I'm glad it's just fictional, but if it were true.. best wishes to Jessica. :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byhiiiiiiiiiluver August 15, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

10+

I loved how it taught me a lesson of not judging people on how they look but how loving and caring they are. Altough, it did get a a little violent when they told about her car accident and the they didnt contantly say a bad word but one part refferd to a bad word and it said a bad word. But the book was sad and i dont think that 9 year olds are ready for this even 10 year olds. It's just a sad book but it teaches a great lesson and has a heart-warming ending. I had different emotions every chapter thats what I love about this book.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 and 11 year old Written bymickievanallen November 26, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byLexi♥ December 3, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

This book is great!

I am 14 years old and even i thought this was a great book! It made me cry and i loved it! The girl in this book has had a hard life which was heart warming sorda. This is my favorite book, better than Twilight!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byFlyersKid48 January 1, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Judging People by the way they look

LOVE IT!! im 10 and i read it..... But i think it teaches some very important lessons like how when everybody was judging Jessica by the way she looked and how Tom just went and was very nice to her.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 30, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
I just brought the book yesterday and finshed it it's so heart touching!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 26, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Boring.

While I under-stand the message, I found the book to be boring. Tony Abbott is know for his fantasy books, like The Secrets of Droon. A big dissapointment.

Pages