Parent reviews for George

Common Sense says

Fourth-grader George identifies as a girl in tender tale.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 10+
Based on 18 reviews

Kids say

age 9+
Based on 23 reviews
Adult Written byGeorge B. May 22, 2018

Good for pre teens and up.

As a transgender man, I loved this book, but I also noted that, yes indeed, theres subjects that may not be suitable for kids below the 6th grade. I didn’t become ‘self aware’ until junior high, so I think this book would be great for teens and pre-teens 7th grade and up. Young children wont understand the psychological process of being transgender, it’ll only confuse their outlook on the matter (I say this with all due respect to the LGBT+ community, kids just don’t understand everything yet!). The book itself brings up very valid points that help shine light on the struggles and dysphoria that comes with being transgender. There are some sexual remarks and whatnot, but nothing 14+ teens wont understand. A good book to teach children that are going through a confusing period who and what they are and how they should embrace themselves instead of shutting everyone out.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byCity G. August 13, 2017

Great Message!

I loved this book! I think kids nine and up, will understand the moral of the story and understand all the messages this book sends to us. What parents should know is that George is judged for trying to show who he is and is punched in the stomach a.k.a bullies! George also has a stash of Seventeen magazines that she holds onto because she considers the girls (models) of the magazine her friends. People also thought George was gay but George isn't so sure. George wonders about having a surgery he has heard about that completely turn him physically into a girl. Another thing is sometimes the book references to mild sexual topics. But that is why I caution for kids 10 and up to read this book. Overall, what the book is about is George is technically a boy, but on the inside she feels more like a girl. The fourth grade puts on the production Charlotte's Web, George really wants to play the spider, Charlotte. But she's not sure if he can because everyone sees her as a boy! I'm not going to spoil the rest. The great message is that George starts to follow the path to her true self. Which is the best path to take. George discovers she doesn't need to change for people to accept her, or at least she shouldn't have to. George sees herself as a girl, so she wants people to see her as a girl. There is nothing wrong with how she feels. She is being her true self. That is the best thing she could ever be.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byAdamvsid October 21, 2019

Beautiful

My daughter may end up being transgender. A lot of the signs are there. She’s 9 years old and in the same grade as the main character, George/Melissa. She brought this book home from school this week. I’m
sure someone from the school staff gave it to her. Initially, I was shocked and a little frightened that she was reading this book so I decided to read it too.
I’m not sure that she understood everything she read. All the parts that other reviewers said were inappropriate for a 9 year old probably went over her head but I’m sure she got the gist of it. She probably gets that some people are born the wrong gender and they can change into the one they were meant to be, especially if the people around them support them. I’m glad she knows that now.
As for me, I was rooting for the kid in the story to be able to be who she was inside the whole time. I thought it was beautiful when she was free to be herself. If it’s right for a character in a book, it’s right for my kid. It’s seems more complicated than that but maybe it’s not. George helped me to understand that I’ve got to support my kid no matter what.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byAVADA January 8, 2019

Positive Message

This book is great, nothing wrong with it, and I think it should be considered a great novel to read with the class.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byBookNerd18 October 16, 2018

George is about GENDER, not sexuality! There's a difference!

Many people confuse sexuality with gender and feel that this book is not appropriate for elementary aged kids. They are not the same thing, and when you read this book, you will learn the difference! This is an important book for transgender youth and the LGBTQ community in general. Most transgender children know that they are different than the societal norm at a very early age. Some as young as 4-5 years old. It is so important that these stories be told and read - everyone deserves to be represented in children's literature!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byrcoughler March 30, 2016

An excellent insight

I am wiring this review to clarify a point in another review. They mention that there is a high level of sexuality in this book because it discusses transgender, this is often erroneously linked to gender identity and are mutually exclusive from each other. A child's (or even adult's) gender identity is not an automatic reference to their preferences sexually speaking. Someone could feel mislabeled gender wise and be completely asexual. This book written by a gender fluid author is a great book that may help a younger child dealing with this exact form of confusion in their lives. It shows that support may not always be there from everyone but you may be surprised by those who do. And touching little tale for sure.
Adult Written byEmpressGlory November 13, 2020

Shut up transphobic jerks- THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!

I am a part of LGBT and came to shut down the transphobic comments. Literally, some of the reviews let me "translate them"

Original: Not appropriate for kids under middle school!

Really what it means: TRANSGENDER IS INAPPWOPWIATE!

George teaches transphobic jerks that there's nothing wrong with being transgender. I've read this book at a young age, and I loved it. I feel bad for all the kids whose parents are transphobic chickens.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent Written byAndrea D. May 3, 2018

Not for elementary Ages

Topics and content not for elementary kids. The content brings up issues most kids have not been exposed to and it gives them only one side to the story. Deleting internet history and discussing porn are not topics children should read about without a parent knowing ahead of time. This book is thinly veiled as appropriate for kids ... but an older audience would be more appropriate.
Adult Written byCrawh12 April 30, 2018

George helps build compassion and understanding

We listened as a family to the audiobook. The kids took the story for what it was- a child who feels like a girl but was born a boy. They now understand it is possible for people to feel like George does. This helps them not be surprised in the future when they meet people like George and/or discover they have a different gender identity than they were born with.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 6, 10, 12, and 14-year-old Written byAurea T. January 30, 2018

Middle school and up

I didn't think the writing in this book was great. I appreciate that there is a book about a transgendered character. However, even though the characters are 4th grade, they act much more like 6-7th graders.

My kids wouldn't be discussing sexuality at that age, be going out in public wearing makeup, reading Seventeen magazine, talking about tingling feelings when think of members of the opposite sex, etc.

It is a short book written with short sentences, so in that way it is easy to read. However, it also addresses hormone therapy and surgery for transgendered persons which really is a bit much for the middle grades to whom it is marketed.

I also felt that it portrayed a sexist "all boys are bullies" attitude. In general, it over simplified a very real and important issue. I'd like to see more books address this well.
Adult Written bybumpers July 20, 2016

12+ Can be confusing to children

While this book is informative and gives insight to a 10 year old boys journey of a transgender story, there are a few parts of the book that are inappropriate for those under 12. The book does foster individuality and help lead to acceptance of George. Not all children are at the same level developmentally and many are too young at the age of 9 to have a full understanding of the sexuality and the changes of the pronouns at the age of 9.

Pg8 talks about a child in the bathroom looking at magazines " I bet you are looking at a magazine in there" " that's my bro growing up and looking at dirty magazines".
Pg33 George thinks of kissing a boy, the thought gives her a tingle".
Pg48 George had seen an interview on tv about a transgender....... A boy can become a girl and you can take hormones to change your body and get a bunch of surgeries if you have the money. It's called transgendering. You can take androgen blockers to prevent you from from turning man like.
Pg104 talks about searching the computer and clearing a web browser so tour parents can't see what you view. Granted, it does state you need your parents permission but the information is put out there for them.
Pg117 there is an argument / fight and a character tells him " it looks like someone is starting to grow some balls."
Pg128 the mom realizes he's transgender and talks about not wanting him in her closet trying on her clothes.
Pg141 Intalking with his brother, " so you think you want to go all the way? His fingers gesturing in a scissor motion.
Pg176 Georges mother requests her to go slow with the changes, George decides with an accepting friend to go ahead and dress like a girl to an outing.
Pg192 George ( Melissa )uses a girls bathroom for the 1st time.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bythicclegend March 24, 2019

Great Book!

I think before reading this book you should have at least 2 brain cells. If you dont want your kids to know about things such as transgender people then dont let them read this book. But dont tear it down for its powerful and beautiful message. I was looking through here and I noticed that most reviews were out of homophobia rather than an actual review. I'd also like to point out any parent that says kids shouldnt know about the LGBTQ+ community has certainly not come to see our society recently. People these days are actually ACCPETING of people who come out as gay, lesbian, trans, bi or ANYTHING. Plus the fact that its so common in middle schools that kids might have up to 30 friends who are part of the LGBTQ+ community. In elementary school it might not be that many people who have come out but FOR SURE kids know about it and find themselves as part of the community. Spread the word that dumb parents need to think before they criticize.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byenash1 February 26, 2019
With the current things going on in our society this is a great book for teenagers to read. That being said there are some things talked about that i would not feel comfortable teaching in my middle school class room. I highly suggest everyone read this book, it has such a positive message.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bySamantha G February 22, 2019

A very real and honest look at being a transgender child

As so many have said, this is an astonishingly good book. This book is one of the most accurate and honest representations of struggling with gender identity as a child. As a grown woman I was only able to read small sections of this at a time because I quickly found myself overwhelmed with thoughts and emotions related to my own life.

I read this as a transgender woman, to determine if it was an accurate representation, before gifting it to my little cousins. And I've since bought at least 5 copies of this book to gift to friends and family.

Based on reading the other reviews, good and bad I think it's safe to say that you need to have a certain set of views to appreciate this book.

-Children have the ability and right to asses their own identity.
-Children should be supported in discovering who they are without being forced into specific roles.
-Transgender identities are valid (I mean you'd think this goes without saying but here we are)
-Sexuality and gender are different (I mean again, duh, but here we are)

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Adult Written bywideEyed February 11, 2019

Another school recital story or a controversial piece of literature your choice

Basically there is a very brief reference to the existence of print style pornography ( that term was not used ), and one reference that exposes children to the idea that Internet searches can be masked from adults. ( Both of the things are described in detail in the common sense media review )
These two minor concepts were so embedded in the story, and such minor ideas that a zealous third grade reader without exposure to either idea would easily skim right over them while trying to glean the overall concept of the book.
That being said if your child does have exposure or knowledge of these two concepts this book is a great tool to discuss these topics at an age-appropriate level.
The elephant in the room is that this book is controversial because the concept that transgender identity is something you are born with is controversial. If that concept is excepted as truth then this book is nothing more than another “Wonder” story in which children learn compassion for another childs place in life. Only this time wrapped around the plotline of a schools 4th grade Charlottes Web pageant. ( I kid you not the story is that benign. )

Bottom line: In the same way that a child reading the book Wonder might need an introductory to what deforming childhood disabilities are, a child reading this book might need an introduction to who transgender people are. If you are comfortable giving this introduction your child is going to have a literary experience which grows empathy and social awareness. And optimally will have more compassion for a marginalized community of individuals.
Adult Written bySchafhrrgh October 7, 2018

Good Book

Nice book. Some people think this book is inappropriate, but this is a part of life. Fun read.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byWikistick September 23, 2018

Positive message/too much information

I enjoyed the story but felt grade four was too young for the characters, these characters seemed more mature than 9/10 year olds.

The message in the book is important for children struggling with their sexual identity and sharing it allows everyone to understand their feelings. I think I would be more inclined to incourage my children to read this book if the operation and hormone injections had been left out. I understand these points are important but I did not feel at this age level they were necessary.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byhatred a. June 6, 2018

most uplifting story i have ever read!

this is one of the best books i have ever read! it has the same message as wonder, and is just as good, if not better! It will help children who are reading it understand what it happening to them, and help other children understand their friends. and this book is not just for children, it is a generally uplifting story that will lighten anyone's day. and the reviews that call this book inappropriate because of details that are necessary to this book (like the main character's older brother who is an example of the obstacles that transgender children and adults face) are completely wrong! those reviews should instead be thanking Alex Gino for their wonderful addition to the world of literature!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models