All member reviews for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Powerful penultimate book mines Voldemort's past.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 178 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bysingingsuperstar2120 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bykkzozo987 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

She is still going!!(j.k)

This book is one of the best bookes in the seaires! Others may diagrie but i like it the best although the 4th and 5th were good! I am still wating for my mom to finsh the 7th one! But u just have to read this one! I will garente this will be good!!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A must read book for those whom can understand (read the books in order)

Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written byfrodolover April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bywii April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
great book better than the fifth but sad yep the ending is very sad but great book i can't wate til the last book
Teen, 13 years old Written byschuymarch1 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Exciting book, (may not be suitable for kids under 11)

In this book there is a death of a major character, caused by one of Harry's villains. There is lots of fighting in this.
Teen, 14 years old Written byjazzyjammrz April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Harry at his best!

I am a huge Harry Potter fan. This is by far the best book. It's a book that's more aimed at teens, so people ten and up should read it. It is important to understand that Harry is growing up, so there are more teen issues, like dating and more language. It is a book of many layers, and any Harry Potter fan will certainly enjoy this book!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I read this at the age of 10...

By the way, PotterPhantom, please stop. You're hurting people, and Lord of the Rings IS better than Harry Potter. Anyway, at 10 the snogging didn't bother me, nor did the violence (though I pretty much cried when __________ died). It's true that the plot gets much more complicated in this book (with some fabulous red herrings, foreshadowing, and connections back to older books) and it may be hard for some to follow. On the other hand, for any real Potter fan that's been reading since 5 or 6 (like me) it shouldn't be too hard -- you're already predicting at a young age, and you've been exposed to plot twists as a little kid. Plus, kids are much smarter than adults think they are, and I know that I could have gotten this book at 8 or 9. Come on, give us credit. This book is fine for 9+, although is probably best for 10 or 11+. It's amazingly written, my favorite so far, and I can't wait till Deathly Hallows!
Teen, 17 years old Written byfiddlexabout April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bynumberdomino April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

RonLIcious

This book is great esspecially the parts with Ron For my age but mabye not for young readers like the snogging but it is great for teens but the whole book is good for 10ish and up
Adult Written byzdrina April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great book!

Different from the others, but its lovely! More romance, its a lovely read! although one major death..
Teen, 13 years old Written byMisty11116 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

the best twist of plot to me

You would be suprised who the half blood prince Is. You might think it is one person but it is someone completely the opposite of that person.
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

the BEST book so far.

this book kept me on the edge of my seat. so many twists and turn. A MUST READ BOOK!!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

BEST OF THE HARRY POTTER BOOKS!!

This is a great book. I loved it. I can't wait for the movie to come out!
Adult Written bylizzy21018 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages