All member reviews for Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Common Sense Media says

Magical start of bestselling Potter phenomenon.
 

Users say

(out of 228 reviews)
age 8+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 5, 9, 11, and 14 year old Written byJamesRobertson January 4, 2009
Adult Written bythe fallen November 7, 2008
age 14+
 

it was on ok book not as good as the others

i like the book but my mom is in love with the book she has it all name sumthing and she has if it invales harry potter she has to have it is scary how some people love this book ( it was a little had to fallow)
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

good

I liked this book. The beginning was a little stupid but it got better as it went on.
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

A good book

Not as good as the other Harry Potter books, but okay.
Teen, 13 years old Written bystompboi79 April 9, 2008
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

A good book

This book is a very good book for all ages. There i ssome fantasy fighting but there are some mean rude words.
Teen, 14 years old Written byjazzyjammrz April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

A Good Start

This is a fantastic beginning to an almost impossibly great series. These are the best books ever! Sorcerer's Stone is an easy classic. It's fun, and has a light atmosphere*. It's a great introductory to such a phenomenon. Well done, Mrs. Rowling, this is truly a masterpiece. *To Parents: As the series moves on, the books become progressively darker, mostly on behalf of Lord Voldemort. While this book is great for seven and up, the latest book so far is better for eleven or older.
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

You haven't lived until you've read this. Honestly.

Teen, 13 years old Written bybasketball dude April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

It's A Must Read!!!

Well, Harry Potter was raised in a family of muggles, the Dursley's.Harry never knew he was a wizard until he got a letter to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.Not knowing any thing about magic, Harry goes.Their he meets some enemies and some friends.Harry has to save his school from someone who is trying to take the Sorcerer's Stone.
Teen, 13 years old Written bypom_______pom April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

It was GREAT!!!!!!

I thought it was a very good book because it was full of action and It was very exciting. I think people my age should read this if you like sorcery (and if your mom and dad let you). Thier is some scary parts and some fighting parts but all together it is very good.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

I enjoyed this book

I like this book. It's one of my mom's faves.
Teen, 14 years old Written bykarate chop April 9, 2008
Adult Written byfr0stedshad0w April 9, 2008
Adult Written bypooreme April 9, 2008
Teen, 15 years old Written byelenmadil April 9, 2008
age 0+
 
A great beginning to a wonderfull series!
Teen, 14 years old Written byJohanjwalker April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Harry Potter is like a drug in the book area.

Harry potter is probably the most popular kids series of books in the world. And I must tell parents that kids will enjoy reading these books just as much as they will playing video games and watching TV. Its amazing. But be warned however, Harry Potter books are like drugs. Kids can get addicted to them. Reading the first book will get to the second, thrid, then all the way upt to the sixth and the seventh coming out sometime later. And they will actually read the books over and over again! I've read each of them at least two or three times. They're excellent. Nothing offensive here either. Its perfectly fine for kids, just maybe some scary stuff. The books get more mature however, as they go up in the series. But sill, the latest book, the sixth, could easily be read by a ten-year-old. They are wonderful books. Encourage your kids, and pretty soon, they'll be hooked. You may have to give them only a limited time of reading! (And another warning: kids may stay up very late reading under the covers with Harry Potter.)
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Wonderful book!

You will absolutely love this book! There is no adult language, but lots of "idiots" and "shut ups." Violence is frequent, drugs and alcohol aren't a big issue, and neither is commercialism. This book is absolutely wonderful for kids 9+!
Teen, 17 years old Written byjcsoblonde April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

dangerous series

i think that this book and its series are not what people think. a lot of parents will go for these just because it gets their kids reading. i find that a rather stupid motive. give your kid something dangerous because it might get them to do something good? i have read this book and others in the series. the "good" characters frequently lie, disobey authority, cheat, and what's more, they are rewarded. i know many say that they had "good motives" but this only teaches that if someone has good intentions, he/she may use ANY MEANS in order to accomplish that for "the greater good." also, the main theme of the book is witchcraft. there are "good" witches and wizards and "bad" ones. witchcraft is very dangerous, and for those who dont know, its very real. kids can go on the harry potter website and actually learn spells, and other things about it. this book teaches that you may fight for good, but you can use deceitful means, it doesn't matter as long as you have good intentions. children will believe that they will be rewarded at the end of what they have done if its a good thing, yet it doesn't matter how they have accomplished it. this is a dangerous idea. i wouldn't give children this book for anything. though i will admit that it is written well, it is wrong for children to read. it will interest them in witchcraft, teach that lying, cheating, and disrespect to authority is alright as long as they get what they want. another issue is harry's "family." in the story they are not good people, but children who cannot get along with their parents, who may in fact be good and loving people, will associate them with harry's relatives, and simply conlude that since harry's family was stupid and mean, they did not deserve obedience and respect. many who read this will think im "nuts" and will write reviews in conflict stating "dont listen to that critical review this book is amazing blah blah blah..." well, everyone has a free will. but if you read the book maybe you'll notice these things when you didn't before.

Pages