All member reviews for Hatchet

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 76 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old September 18, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

dumb book

i don't like this book very much at all i haver read it bout 2 times it is boring and stupied
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byPunky5558 June 26, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I totally changed my mind!

I know what I sed before but i totally changed my mind! I never took time to understand the book. I'm so glad my school made me read this book for summer reading! THANK U CHCA MOBILE AL!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old June 12, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

You need need need to read this book!!

I loved this book! I may be the worlds slowest reader but I did finish the book and it was GREAT!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byBugsBunny32389 March 21, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Well written book...

I personally thought this book was great. It was very educational in the sense of having to survive in the wild. It is also, at sometimes, a violent book in my opinion due to the outraged animals that we encounter in the story. Another thing that I liked about this book was the fact that everything was so realistic.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old February 23, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

SUPER BORING

I hated this book it was very boring and too predictable. *SPOILER* If a moose stomped on him like that he would have been dead.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byNewtonkid October 4, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great Book, Meat Eaters?

I love this book and first read it when I was in 3rd grade and it was assigned in 5th grade. I have reread it at least a dozen times. I believe that this book has good role models. Brian overcomes his internal struggle through the book. Personally, the scenes involving Brian hunting and killing animals is not violent at all. Unless someone has a certain type of religion or is a vegetarian, they probably eat meat every day. It's just that we don't think about how that meat got there in the first place. Anyways, if you like this book, you should read Brian's Winter, The River, and Brian's Return as well.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMaplefrost March 26, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
One of my favorite books of all time.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byDavidhanno December 1, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great for just starting to read novels. And fun to read for fun.

The story shows that through struggle and hard times, that even in the worst situations, we can prevail.
Kid, 11 years old June 30, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

good book!

I read this book twice, in third grade and fifth grade, and I liked it a lot.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bySWIFTER May 9, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hatchet Rocks!

Love it! Wonderful book, I've read it several times! Gary Paulsen is a wonderful author too!
Kid, 11 years old May 6, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

BEST BOOK IVE EVER READ

I LOOOOVE this book it was the first book id ever read that was more than 200 pages. Anyone can read it but children under 8 or 7 wont understand it. Also one D word in the book
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bybrycez March 28, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

excellent book

first serious book i read in elementary school that i actually liked alot. great detail and description of survival in tough conditions.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bygirlie_girl1700 March 17, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

awesome book!

I love this book Though, it got boring at times since he did a lot of the same stuff. Overall, I love this book and I really think that you'll enjoy it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 13, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

best for tweens

I read this book at school it is a great book. Brian kills a few animals in this book.Please wait untill you are nine or ten to read this book.Unless you are eight and are mature innuf to handle this book.It is a great read!!! ;)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old March 9, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

EEW.

So much bad images. Blood. And a lot of it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bybrow boy February 1, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
i hate it it repets it self to much
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old November 21, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

book

read i last year !
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old November 18, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Very good book read it last year Awsome
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytylerbest November 12, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
i think this book is the best book i have read and it has alot of adventure
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bybookaddict24 November 11, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

It's pretty good. Suspensful and good.

It was pretty good... not too crazy 'bout it, though. I read this about a year ago for school, and I thought it was okay, I guess. It's ment for a lower age group I think. Other than that, it's full of suspense on every page, and I was suprised how everything turned out for him. I gotta read the sequal!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages