All member reviews for Hoot

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 100 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old January 31, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I think that the book hoot is telling you that you shouldn't kill nature or people will find out and do something to you
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 25, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old September 13, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Perfect for anyone who has an A.R. Reading Level of 5.5 or higher

This is a great story for the young to read. It is about sticking to your goal and acheiving it using teamwork. It's touching when all of the owls are saved after Roy gives the meaningful speech.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byreviewgirl13 April 23, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Language is iffy, but great message!

Well,2 years ago, my whole class in 5th grade read this book, and it was really good. Parents, there are a few swear words in this book, which I don't think were needed. But anyway, this book is about a kid named Roy who moves to a new school and he and his friends, "Mullet Fingers" and Beatrice, help him save some owls from getting their homes taken away from them. The book is interesting, and it has a great message and ending.
Kid, 11 years old February 4, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
This is a great book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Teen, 14 years old Written bystripesanddots March 14, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Too Much Language

I thought the book was pretty good, but I stopped reading it because I thought there was too much language.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old May 1, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

scat is way better!

One day I started reading this book and I found some bad languge. I also found a lot of violents! There were guns and all that bad stuff. I also found in the book people smoking! Scat is way better than this book!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

OMG!!!!!! excelentae

AWEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMEEEEE
Teen, 13 years old Written byHOOT IS BEAST November 8, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

HOOT IS THE BEST BOOK EVER!

OMG best book I have ever EVER read!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please read!!!!!!!!!!! If you don't you will never find a good book again! Just saying!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byunderdawg July 20, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

the best book ever

there is a good message and it is not 2 reck land because animals homes r there but there is a lot of violence and some cussing there is a lot of product placement also such as reebok and ihop but it was the best book i have ever read
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 8 years old January 21, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
this is a great movie I think that it is a good movie because itsinspiring and teaches about good freindship
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byJookie September 14, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good for anyone over 11

Good book, good moral, slight foul language use(small amount)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byLissaNicky April 30, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Okay

Same as the book not bad not great... it's a typical novel. There were some boring parts and I think the bullying that goes on at school was exagerated.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old August 10, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
its an alwright book but it dint get my atention so much
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A great book

Really, it has only a little "colorful language" in it that im sure kids use behind their parents back. Its a really great book that "I" happen to enjoy. Really I think the parents should let there kids read this, its up to the kids not the parents.
Teen, 13 years old Written byjboogie2000 December 20, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good oppion

this is a book that is interesting and its very adventures and kids really gets into this book my kids love this book they always ask me to read it to them I think this is a good book and i think your families will love it
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old November 6, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good!

it was really good
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byKarl Pleus October 24, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hoot book Review by Kyle Hagen

This book is excellent for kids and adults to read. It's funny appropriate and not sexually inappropriate. It says something about our environment in a general casual way. I love the way that Carl Hiaason wrote the POV of the characters.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byspider monkey April 7, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
The book hoot by Carl Hiaasen is fantastic. It is about a boy,Roy, who comes to a new town and is expecting to find no friends. To his surprise one day he sees a boy running barefooted along side the school bus. He watches the boy as he is getting choked to death on the bus by the school bully. He figures out that the soccer jock ,named Beatrice Leep, of the school is his sister. The running boy has been pulling harmless pranks on a contruction site in order to delay the work hours of a Mother Paulas pancake house being built. He's doing this because he found owl holes in the ground and innocent owls about to be harmed. For a prank he let out a few snakes with their mouths taped shut. The guard dogs around the place got scared and bit the running boy's arm. He was seriously injured and he had to go to a hospital. They had to use Roy's name because everyone thought the running boy was a missing person for he ran away from home not to long ago. They get caught up in the police a few times, but they get away. Its a very intense book and i just don't want to put it down. I finish a chapter and then move right on to the next one. its hard to find books like that. This one is especially one of my favorite books. What do you think? Will the owls get saved? -AEC
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old January 11, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
It is a "good" book! I love all of CaRL hIAASENS books I would defitlently recommend this to your kids even you should read (10+)

Pages