All member reviews for Just Listen

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 87 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bySosie98 April 3, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Just Listen and Keep Listening!!!

This book is deep and seriously great.If you ever want a book that's dramatic, funny, and definitely sad, this is the one for you. I would absolutely reccomend it to a friend. The messages are great, and Whitney's overcoming of her eating disorder shows that anything is possible, as well as Annabel's admission during the trial of Will Cash. Owen is a great support system and shows that sometimes great friends come in weird packages. I would not reccomend this to younger kids however, because it definitely is a little iffy for a younger age. I did put a highlight as educational because I think it educates children on bad decisions and other things they might need to know for high school.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byerinl_2008 July 15, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

LOVE<3

Loved this book! SO much!
Teen, 15 years old Written byerinadorereadin122 July 22, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Simply Adore.

Im gonna start off by saying i absoloustly adore this book. I love how Dessen uses things that actually happen in High School. How deceiving things can be and how life always has new turns. Showing how parties can turn out to be dangerous and how there are people out there who suffer from eating disorders and such really puts an affect on the reader. The book also shows how the "outcast" could always turn out to be your best friend if you just give them a chance. I love the message this book has even if it has to use some unhappy things to portray it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bykittenmady June 5, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great Book

This is such a great book. Good for older teens.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byidgaf. October 10, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Perfect for teens

I love this book because it gives some good messages to think about.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byshanno15 September 10, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

One of the best love stories ever!

Very good book, one of the authors best.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byhey gurl August 25, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Nessa

I think that the book was really interesting,it can help teens decide how to deal with their conflicts without using violence. And show what happens when you hang out with the wrong people.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytweeni September 7, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

More of the Same from Dessen

It seems that Dessen's books all follow the same storyline: A girl has a problem, meets a boy who enlightens her, and they fall in love. It's actually kind of insulting to women; we don't need boys to get over our problems. There are so many other solutions. I'm not saying there's anything wrong with these books; just that Dessen sticks to one plot.
Teen, 13 years old Written bypsycho_kristen September 7, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Perfect for anyone who loves a good book and doesn't mind a few bad words

I loved this book. It did have a lot of bad words. But it was very well written and the entire time has a wonderful message.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytaraturtle February 12, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great book for kids over 13!

I loved this book. Annabel and Owen form an unlikely friendship and it teaches kids to talk about their problems. My only concerns are the rape, but that also teaches kids to be aware.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byCrystaline April 28, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

In between

i love it i read it and alomst cry. i was excited and have an itch that Owen and Annbel would hook up.
Teen, 16 years old Written byIrish_Rosie September 22, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Really cool!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bywhatababe November 8, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

amazingg :)

loved this book, i could relate to the characters and the problems they faced. really inspirational and motivating
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byjaliep15 September 27, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Perfect for teens

Loved this book, although the beginning is quite sad. but all of Sarah Dessens Books are about a person being knocked down and then growing to their full potential again.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byLocknKey May 10, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

tells you everything about everything

Sarah Dessen tell you aboutfamily,love and life. And it includes music.....Which everybody loves...This books reminds me how it feels to be different but similar....unusual..
Teen, 13 years old Written byNo one is alone. November 6, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Its good for anyone who feels the need to relate to someone

Its a good book and i think most teens can relate to it even adults when you suffer pain you dont usually think that anyone else is in pain but when you read it you understand your not the only one and that your only human to feel what you feel
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byLissaNicky May 8, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Must- Read!

Great! This is book that you can stop reading half way through. It's a little bad in some parts but very heartwarming.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bydncrgirl627 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

LOVE LOVE LOVE!

As a 14 year old girl-I loved this book. It's geared more for girls. i could really identify with the main character.
Teen, 16 years old Written byquaycomputer April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

recommend for high school teens

I think this book contains some rational high school or older teen problems
Teen, 15 years old Written byserjrk April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A must read book for any teenager!

This book was an amazing book for teenagers to read because it gave real life situations that could happen to anybody and describes how difficult it is to live with something as horrible as rape on your mind.

Pages