All member reviews for King Dork

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bybri123craw December 27, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I love this book. It is so funny. Chi-mo (the main character) isnt always the best example for children but it is an honest discription of some kids are. It wonderfully describes all the hardships that teenagers to through. five starss!
Teen, 16 years old Written byXoxoKatie September 28, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoviemogul April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Excellently written and hilarious

This is a great novel, and I highly reccommend it to anyone who is in highschool or has been. I would also have anyone who is going to be in highschool too, but this has too many sexual situations that are ddescribed in good detail, and the fact that everyone gets high or drunk (or at least talks about it all the time), that I agree with the CSM age.
Kid, 9 years old October 8, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

REALLY WHY DO PEOPLE READ THIS GARBAGE??

it sucks i read it over the holidays i hate it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old March 11, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

a mixed bag

while a character in the story does have sex, curses constantly, and has a friend who does drugs. It has good stuff it talks a lot about catcher in the rye but the guy who runs the child porn is a teacher. His nickname is Chi-Mo which stands for child molester. This will be made into a movie though.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byfreesquirrel14 August 28, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

I enjoyed it very much

I think it is pretty awesome. I enjoyed reading the book and I think that there is definitely worse language used in real life. Sure, the f-bomb has been dropped a few times in the book, but it's been dropped a lot more times in average high school life. The book deals with very real issues!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byhamstergurl09 August 21, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

One of My Favorite Books

This is the funniest account of high school I've read in a long time. Rarely does a book make me laugh out loud, but King Dork did several times throughout. I like how there are several interlocking conspiracies and mysteries. It makes you want to keep reading. However, there are sexual topics in this book. For example, the main character's derogatory nickname is Chi-Mo, which is short for child molester(but, for the record, he does not molest children, people just say that to make fun of him). There is also oral sex, teen sex, and an entire illegal teen porn operation run by a teacher . Despite all of that, this book is absolutely brilliant. I love that the main character is involved with rock and roll and has a band with his friend Sam Hellerman. Tom is somewhat of a hero in the end, which I also like. I don't think I'd give this book to anybody under 13, but for teenagers, this book is great!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byzigzota January 24, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great

im in 6th grade and honestly, kids hear worse things on the playground.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bynapoleonwrasse September 9, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great book. But full of dark humor.

Great book! One of the funniest books I have read in a while. Absolutely great. It is more dark humor though, so be for warned. This book is great for mature teens. The is lots of language and sex. As well as some drug use. The sex aspect is described in pretty much full detail. And the language can get pretty strong. But still a great book.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 August 24, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

I found this book hard to understand

At times it was very comical, but there were so many inside jokes "King Dork" constantly brought up and extended to great length that if you missed a page you'd be like: HUH? It's totally surreal in the since of the school worshiping just one book, but it's ideals on bullying are not. This book is loaded with profanities and semi-graphic depections of sex. 15 and up is probably a good starting age to read this book.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Review Kid April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byReview Dude April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bypinkpanda744 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Hmm...

I read King Dork, and as much as I liked it, I definitely don't think it's a good choice for kids under the age of 14 or 15. If King Dork were a movie, it would definitely be rated R. The main issues are sex and language. There's somewhat constant language, and there are some strongly sexually explicit parts. Not for young kids, but otherwise, a very good book.