All member reviews for Lawn Boy

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Perfect summer reading for reluctant readers.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 24 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old September 5, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A good book for ages 9-12

This book is about a 12 year old boy who gets a his grandpa's old riding for his birthday. His neighbor needs a mowing job and "Lawn Boy" needs money for a new inner tube for his bike. So he agrees. Then he has a lot of job offers, people working for him, a hippie stockbroker, a heavyweight boxer, and a big problem for the company. But all he wanted was money for a new inner tube for his bike.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
I say this book sucked its just boring
Kid, 10 years old September 2, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Stock

A boy is trying to earn some money and gets A LOT more then he bargained for. I think this book is good for kids 10+, especially boys. This book teaches about stock market, investing, and a small amount about (and it is a small amount) mowing lawns.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written bytheformalreader July 29, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Quick and Easy Read

This book was just okay. I found some parts of it to be boring, but it was mostly a good book. It's very easy and quick to read. However, it really annoyed me that the kid didn't have a name!
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old November 3, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

a good book

its a gr8 book i loved it :D
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 1, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bynewone112 April 12, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

perfect for 9 and up

people in my class liked the book and said for me to read it and i did and i lied it really much
Teen, 15 years old Written bysophie_1289 November 18, 2008
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

i loved this book very much

i love it
Kid, 11 years old October 21, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

lawn boy

I think it is very good it sends a positive message and is a good start for readers.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byMisty waterfall January 4, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A little to much like a kid book for me

Fine i guss. I had a few laughs here and there.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bylikeasommmbodeeeeeee September 29, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byjessicastarnes April 14, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

i laughed

I think the book was good my favorite part was when the boy said that his parents forgot what he looked like because he's been mowing so much that he barly gets home to eat wiith his own family at night
Teen, 15 years old Written byAwesomeperson7 December 30, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Great book! Some things about stocks and shares might be a little to much for younger kids to understand though..
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 October 4, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

lame and boring

this book is so lame!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byHunter Roberts December 7, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Lawn Boy

What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old November 9, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!!!!!!

If you are thinking of buying this book don't bother your wasting your time and if you bought it your wasting your money!!!!
Kid, 12 years old March 29, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

perfect for kids and tweens.

It teaches about real world economy. Funny and interresting.love it! Mentions family and gives kids an idea of one thing they could do in the summer to get a little extra bucks.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymichael m.7 November 30, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great book

great book even though i read it in a day. great for kids to understand the stock market. i am actully useing this book in a book talk for school. i loved it! I=D
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 7, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

to childish

its kinda kiddy cuz he mows lawns, gets money, has a problem, then he fixes it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written bygrandma3 February 4, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Questionable topics, role models

Fun read but be aware.... some info and references not appropriate or necessary, ie, former lawn service guy (obviously adult) ran away with a neighbor's wife; worker who would only work at night/after dark (illegal?), not wanting to call police because not wanting to cause anyone trouble. Some topics not appropriate for younger readers.

Pages