All member reviews for Lily's Crossing

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Lets readers walk in the shoes of a tweenage girl.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bysazaka April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I am not sold on this book

I read this book because my daughter was required to read it for school. Despite the editors claim that Lily's lying would be understood by the reader - that never really happened. The fact that the author was determined to "show us" how her lying was OK - acceptable even - really bothered me. I don't know why this book won a Caldecott Award accept for it's war time setting. The writer is talented but I question the moral message here.
Kid, 12 years old September 2, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Just a review

I'm 12 and chose this because it was short but I myself read books 18 year olds would read.
Kid, 11 years old July 31, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Lily's Crossing

Great Book
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old April 23, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A Really Good Book

Some say this book makes kids think that lying and sneaking around is ok, but it really doesn't. Lily gets and trouble for sneaking around and a life is almost lost for her lying- the author portrays that that stuff is bad! This book is wonderful and has great historical fiction- read it!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byjliu198 February 25, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

OK

Lily's Crossing is good in terms of story, but it doesn't make clear exactly what and when everything happened.
Teen, 14 years old Written byprimolover November 13, 2008
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I had fun

I loved this book so much that I cried humorously
Adult Written bynewjoy2day July 3, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Lily's Crossing as an Introduction to WW2

I read this book for Battle of the Books in 5th grade and I feel it is a very appropriate for that age range. It is a work that is a bit slower so it takes some time to digest for younger kids. It takes place in WW2 and therefore has moments of grief as Lily deals with the death of her mother and the war overseas. This book is a gem and a great read, the only reason I say 8 and up is because the pace is rather slow for a children's book so it is wise to take the attention span of a child into consideration. I feel this book is an extremely good introduction to the topic of WW2 and should be treated accordingly.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent Written bywolflordz194 December 27, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

don"t overlook classics!

first off "it swears in first chapter" give it up good reading is always close to reality. welcome to real life!
Adult Written byVeryThankfulMom September 8, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Great descriptive writing but not for kids. Young readers likely to walk away from book thinking that lieing and sneaky behavior are acceptable. Uses a four letter word in the first chapter. If writing for children, the author must have forgotten who the audience is. As a parent, I do not recommend this book.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bykaelalove April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

this was awseome

it kind of confused me couse i was also reading willows run but over all it was awesome i would also recemengd pictures of hollis woods i also that that book was wonderful
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byswirlyQ April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
This was a great book. I was required to read it for school. I liked the story and the message. Another similar book that i would definitly reccomend to people is Number The Stars by Lois Lowry.