All member reviews for Little Brother

Kids say

(out of 18 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byicantfindaname January 7, 2009
age 16+
 

Very good, but adult oriented

This is an extremely good, thought provoking book that should be read along with books such as 1984, Fahrenheit 451, and so forth. However, the large number of sex scenes might be some cause for alarm. Although nothing a responsible teen couldn't handle, this book edges on pornographic in some places. I really think if this were a movie, it would be rated R on this alone.
Teen, 17 years old Written bySasukeUchiha August 6, 2009
age 15+
 

Great Book! It's like a modern 1984.

I loved this book, personally. I am not really a fan of anything having to do with swearing, sexual things, or drugs/drinking. However, this book had an entirely different message that I took from it. I ignored the inappropriate things, and stuck to the plot. I am a geek myself, so I found the hacking parts intriguing. I don't hack, but I love computers and video games.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 30, 2010
age 13+
 

Page-turner, though the political messages are touchy and the characters aren't really pitiable.

It's okay. I really didn't care much about the characters, and it seems that the author goes through a lot of trouble to make four dimensional characters that he doesn't mention much throughout the much. It was pretty tense and was a good page turner. My biggest complaint witht he book is that it represents the government as an evil being and a bunch of drunken teens as good. I'm a teenager, and I really don't agree with that. While I believe in free speech, the teens did obviously illegal stuff and were dissapointed that they got punished. Welcom to earth, people. By the way, what was with the sex scene? Was it really necessary?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bybibliophile December 15, 2008
age 17+
 

CAUTION ADVISED

There is a LOT OF SWEARING. I mean A LOT. And pretty much every swear word known under the sun. There is also a sex scene, which is when I stopped reading the book. Other than that, the book has amazing plot, but the author also explains some very complicated computer technical things, so it's cool to try and figure out, but also confusing. I highly recommend you stay away from this book because of its content.
Teen, 14 years old Written bya teen book lover February 16, 2010
age 14+
 

Great for middle aged teens

I loved this book.It was great.but i wouldnt reamind it for kinds under 13.
Teen, 14 years old Written byreadingfreak April 28, 2010
age 14+
 
I thought that this was a quite good book. Although I myself am not a hacker my brother does have lot of expertise in that field. He actually has his own hacked Xbox. He thought that it was well written in the knowledge of hacking. The main thing I had a problem with was the sex. Personally I agree with Jourdy288. Being a Christian I believe that sex has no place outside of marriage. That is everyone's own decision. I don't think that they thought through their decision to have sex. It was to rushed, and because of that it took all the specialness out of the scene. As Jourdy288 said, the book seems to be pushing 'if it feels right do it'. I really liked how Marcus stood up for what he believed. Hacking may be wrong in some instances but when it comes to correcting a corrupt government, do it. The main character was strong in that sense. he stood up for what he believed no matter what the circumstance. I recommend this book for 14+
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byJourdy288 January 26, 2010
age 13+
 

Not one I can recommend.

Having read the book, I'm afraid that I must say I disliked this one. Just to get this out of the way, I thought the sex scene was entirely inappropriate! It seemed like an awkward attempt at telling teens to "go ahead and do what they want so long as they use protection". It was poorly thrust in there. That aside, I did appreciate that the author advocated open source technology and hacking (for a good cause). Many fail to realize the true implications of hacking things, like, for example, an Xbox/Wii/PS2/Whathaveyou. If you 'hack' a console, you have the ability to run your own programs/games on it that you create. There's entire communities online dedicated to what's known as 'homebrew', making games for consoles independently. The book mentions a new form of Xbox (albeit a nonexistent one) used by the protagonist for homebrew, and later, as a tool for social reform. There is a darker side to hacking, referred to as 'cracking', but that's a different kettle of fish, and usually involves things like stealing credit card numbers or embezzling cash, etc. The book also seems to reflect the author's view of marijuana, which I (and most people in their right minds) disagree with. All in all, an interesting book, but in all honesty there's better ways to introduce your kids to open source technology. I wrote a review here: thestuffiread.blogspot.com/2009/08/little-brother.html
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Teen, 16 years old Written bymontag July 3, 2009
age 14+
 

Don't need to repeat what's up there

Some of you guys think that you have to repeat what has just been said in the review about the violence, language, etc..., but you don't. Readers want to know what made you like/dislike the book, not tell them AGAIN what violence and stuff is in it. As for Little Brother, it is the best book that I've ever read, and Cory Doctorow is the only gateway that my generation has to surviving the future.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bycsccosecant February 9, 2009
age 13+
 

Amazing!

This book is amazing. It is similar to 1984, but is very believable and scary. There is some inappropriate stuff: I don't remember many swear words, but I usually don't. There is a lot of sexual content, including a sex scene, but any American teenager has seen much worse. There is some violence, including a graphic scene of torture and some people being trampled to death. These things, though they are certainly inappropriate for a young child, are all very important to the story, and are nothing an intelligent teenager can't handle
Teen, 14 years old Written bypepperoots August 31, 2014
age 13+
 
exciting, complicated, smart, provocative are all the words that describe this story.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byTorterrafan5676 February 19, 2014
age 17+
 

Wow. Just. Wow.

This is a really amazing book. Its not a kids book per say, it has some adult elements in it. If you do decide to read this to your kids, I HIGHLY recommend you tell your kids this is not real, it could HAPPEN, but its not real. Overall an superb book, highly dystopian and I loved it. I highly recommend this for any young-adult thru adult.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byIris Topaz February 16, 2013
age 13+
 

WONDERFUL

Amazing. Cory Doctorow brings some of the most pressing internet inssues into a single book.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old February 20, 2011
age 10+
 

Perfect for kids 10+ who understand the political community.

I loved it! Its my next favorite book next to Harry Potter.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byw1n5t0n February 16, 2011
age 13+
 

Don't Trust Anyone Over 25, And Other Lessons Learned

this book was great. it touched on the importance of freedoms, the fun world of technology we live in, the power of protest, the injustice of government and the simple truth that: 'Governments are instituted among men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, that when any form of government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the right of the people to alter or abolish it, and to institute new government, laying its foundations on such principles, and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their safety and happiness.' that is from the book and the declaration of independence. convinced it is educational? Marcus, Angie, and all the" Xneters" in the book are all strong characters. Of course, as certain parties point out, it touches on underage drinking, drugs, teen sex, hacking, and crime. but it doesn't say "do all this stuff", it is simply a minor part in the book and readers will have already heard about those things from their parents(hopefully). this does not mean it is alright for all young children, but okay for some.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 20, 2009
age 12+
 
Languages such as "s--t", "crap", etc, some well-described violent scenes, and mentions of "gang kids". Very realistic.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bylecritic February 5, 2009
age 13+
 

Wonderfully Written, Very Timely

An amazing book about government taken too far. To Bibliophile: Just because a book has some mature content in it, doesn't mean its bad. The Godfather is the greatest movie of all time, but that has sex, violence, and language.
Kid, 11 years old January 28, 2009
age 13+
 

Well written book about hackers.

I finished this book about a month ago (finished it in a week) and it's probably one of my favorite books I've read--ever. But there is a lot of swearing (someone who was being nosy and looked at it said that it was "disgusting" because it contained swearing) in it, and some sexual references. Aside from that, it was good.
Teen, 13 years old Written byzorba1994 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Good read.

The book is very well written, and is very realistic. Sex: Young couples attempt to several times, but it is never explicit (pause) Violence: Pepper Spray against protesters, a stabbing (non graphic), a waterboarding (torture) session. General cruelty from the government towards minors (PAUSE) Drugs/alcohol: The main characters host a party with alcohol at it. The main character says he has a fondness for hash. (PAUSE) Social Behavior: The government is cruel, and treats everyone like a terrorist. The main characters are hackers, and hacking is shown as a good thing (however, I would like to point out that hacking has gotten a much worse rap than it should, it is not as dangerous as it is. If more people knew how to hack, there would be LESS identity theft, because the security would have to be better). (PAUSE) All in all very good Mature: 13+, Normal: 14+