All parent member reviews for Looking for Alaska

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 30 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator and Parent of a 6, 10, 12, and 12 year old Written byComplementing Critic April 26, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Beautiful book.

John Green is a wonderful writer and this book is quite well written. My 12 year olds read it, and it is a great book for mature tweens and teens.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 15 and 15 year old Written byKotaro May 23, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
It was pretty good, but I don't think any young children should be reading it. Emphasis on YOUNG. I mean, I was a pretty messed up child, and I wouldn't have been bothered by it, or learned anything new, even if I had read it at the age of seven. But I was still pretty screwed up, so don't take my word on it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written byLizBriz April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Modern Day Separate Peace

Our whole family listened to this book together and it was rivoting. There are certainly tough issues and frank discussion about sex, the frequent use of alcohol and tobacco by some of the students, but all presented realistically and from a teens perspective. Very enlightening for any age. We loved how it was written, that there was mystery, humor, sadness, all in one book! Great read.
Adult Written byLemonMrang April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

NO WONDER IT WON A PRIZE

LOOKING FOR ALASKA is an awesome awesome book! It stirs up the reader's emotions. It made me get misty-eyed. You become completely drawn into the life of Miles, the narrator, as he tries to find his "Great Perhaps" by enrolling in a boarding school. His roommate introduces Miles (ironically nicknamed "Pudge") to his friends, including Alaska, and a whole lot of crazy stuff ensues. They all smoke a lot and get drunk a lot. But I found myself laughing a lot! The language can be pretty rough at times, but it wasn't horrid. Green (the author) really knows how to throw in surprises. And he portrays the characters' emotions really well. LOOKING FOR ALASKA is a great book that I would recommend for readers 12 and up.
Adult Written byJohn.green19 July 15, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fantastic for mature audiences

This book is FANTASTIC If you are open minded to mature content and can see metaphorical resonance there within.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent of a 12 and 12 year old Written byDtownmom October 3, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Inappropriate Material

The protagonist goes looking for the "Great Perhaps." I thought it might be something powerful and meaningful. But what it turns out to be is him hanging out with a bunch of other teens whose pastimes are drinking heavily, smoking, watching porn, and playing mean pranks. While it was horrible and stupid from the beginning, the real jaw-dropper was the lesson in oral sex. Really? In a book marketed to children? Do you know who is reading John Green books these days? It's all the way down to 5th graders, 10-year-olds. Mr. Green defends the scene by saying it is not erotic. Hello! That's worse! It is very casual. The receiver has barely even made eye contact with the girl, and afterward, he basically ignores her. Made me want to vomit.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byTonyBMG July 9, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Seriously?

It has way too much bad language, sex, and drinking – graphic sex and drinking. I can handle the occasional reference to sex, or maybe some drinking in a young adult book, but this book went way over the top. Your teen will learn how to get and stay drunk, the proper manner in which to administer a blow job (very graphic), and how to use the F word in every sentence. http://riffingonreads.com/blog/book-review-looking-for-alaska/
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byMcCat June 14, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Not for young teens...

This goes beyond, drinking, smoking, and sex. Many of the books middle schoolers read have those topics and the theme outweighs the vices. This however, gives some pretty graphic details of oral sex and I don't feel like the under 16 crowd needs this in a book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Educator and Parent Written byKristalkaye February 25, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

All the hype, no come through

The book was hyped so much. It was a disappointing read from beginning to end. Lacked original imagination. (something that has been done 100 times before and better) Didn't create, nor stick to the mere story line or the "plot". I feel as though the book had a whole lot of nice words and sayings but not worth the read at all. The outcome of Alaska was utterly stupid and just when the book seemed to be picking up interest. Hopefully fault in our stars is a much better read..
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educator and Parent Written byALing71 January 13, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Glued Fingers

This book is a great book for your children to read! It shows positive messages very much like the book "The Fault in Our Stars" . I teach grades 9th & 10th at a highschool and they all seemed to have fell in love with "Looking for Alaska". As a teacher I believe this book is a great book for students starting thier freshman and sophmore year.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages