All member reviews for Looking for Alaska

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 107 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bymangoRSL April 20, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Trash, Garbage, Simply JUNK!

Okay, to start out- spoiler. The main character DIES. Who on EARTH would want to waste their time reading a book where the main character dies. Actually, wait- people have to have been reading it, because Mr. Green and his Vlog account have been making a whole lot of money off of his kill-the-main-character franchise. Second, the stuff in it. Okay, sure there is some stupid positive message hidden somewhere in it,but not where kids can grasp it. But what kids DO get from it is the sex, the drugs, the drinking, the smoking- all the stuff that make Ms. Alaska here "cool". It's like shouting out "Drink Alcohol at age 16!" And plus, none of the characters are real, even in the fictional sense. They seem to be a way for John Green to get his opinion across where people will read it, and think, "Hey, this dude is so deep- let's subscribe to his vlog account and tell everyone how deep he is!" Which, by the way is EXACTLY what it is intended to do: you cry, and spend money on his books, he gets the money, and you get to be "deep". Where is the great adventure, the smiles, the humor, the magic, the romance? All the elements for a good book are missing. But for a book to be a bestseller, it has to follow the same recipe that it has had since the Secret Life of Bees was first published- first, kill all parents, then send the main characteroff to remote place, then, include lots of sex, language, drugs, and alcohol, and finally, kill a main character and leave the others in a life of depression. What could possibly inspire people to read trash like this repetitively? Simple- being deep. Mr. Green and his deep books are a living example of the emperor's new clothes- how people read trash just to be deep.Go, sensible people, stand up while you still can, stand up for those nice books that don't violently kill the main characters off, the ones like Lord of the Rings, Percy Jackson, or Little Women, Castaways of the Flying Dutchmen, Star Wars, the ones that are plain old GOOD BOOKS.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byilovemanga January 30, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great meaning....but

So i'm 14 read it about a week or two ago and let's be honest i think the thing that is bad is the fact that the sex is really full on. I mean they LITERALLY describe a blowjob! And porn , i think it really distracted from the great meaning that we never really know one another as much as we think
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byClobrim January 19, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

It's for older teens.

It's aimed at people who are the age of the characters or around that age, who could probably actually relate to them.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bytdizzle12345678 December 8, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing for mature ones

This novel features many "older" material but the over message of it is pretty good. It is told in the perspective of a teenager and it is meant for a mature audience, a very good read in my opinion.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byKatReads December 7, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I would change a few things.

Honestly, it was a good enough book. I think that the unnecessary sex scene is the only thing i would change. There were times when it was almost too much with the drugs, sex, and language...but besides that it was a well written book.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 5, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Book!!! Definitely Recommended!

While there is a teensy bit of not THAT graphic sex but quite a few instances of language just as it says. This is an awesome book and I would definitely recommend this book but do be wary about the language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bymaddie123dftba June 28, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Must read you will cry of happiness and sadness and just for the fact you dont want it to end

I read this book and fell in love with the story and the author. It does have sex related parts and cussing but a 13 yr old can handle it. But don't limit this book to your child because of this. It moved me so much. I fell in love with the characters and it was if we were friends and I could relate to them and I cried tears of joy and sadness. You just have to read this book it is my favorite and it was one of my first books I read bc before this I hated reading but now im up to a book a week. Please read 14+ and even adults to. it also has the best lesson and you learn a lot. The last 10 pages are the best. I have a signed copy and my favorite quotes on my wall. oh yes and super funny you will laugh a lot too.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bylovelife15 May 24, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not What I Thought

I'm 15, and honestly, the language and sexual content is too much for me. The sexual content is highly descriptive, which I found disturbing at parts. There's at least one f-bomb on every page or 2, and many other words. It's a captivating book, but it would be a lot better without all of the sex, language, and smoking/drinking that takes place.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bynoveleater November 6, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Beautiful...

Everything from the cover to the narration to the plot to the last sentence is beautiful. I cried, I laughed, and most of all, I found a friend, who I could love, trust, and find comfort. The one thing that makes this novel perfect is the narration. Miles' voice is so boyish, so funny, and so real! Miles was like me (except the smoking and memorizing last words) and like any other boy who has ever felt lonely, misunderstood, or just want to read a book that will change their life, every boy older than fourteen. The only scene(s) that made me uncomfortable is the oral sex scene, and the many kisses! Some characters smoke a lot, and other smoke drugs in a little hut where students only know about. Most everybody had drank beer under- aged in this novel, and drunk driving has to do with the big plot. This novel will make you cry for miles (pun not intentional) on end. This novel helps teenager find out that they aren't the only ones out there who have felt pain, or depression. I feel that this novel really should really bring up some interesting discussions. Many cuss words are used often, some times shot at adults. A prank almost gets a character dead. Read and cry and enjoy!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byAmbrosette December 27, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

TEENS HAVE BRAINS

What I love about this book is the fact that it shows reality -sex, underage drinking - and also is deeply mentally challenging with the whole labyrinth, and Great Perhaps and the meaning of life... And this is why I read it. John Green tells the story beautifully and it really made me think. And as for concerned parents, if your kid reads in today's society, she/he is smart enough to differ from morally right and morally wrong. That being said, enjoy the reading. Yes, it goes to you.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byMetalman173 November 27, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Very well written, mature book

great story and charictors. but content includes sex (kissing, touching, one scene with oral sex that is mostly comedic), charicors discuss drugs and use alcohol and smoke ciggarettes), and language (including f*ck) It depends on how mature your kid is
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byradon canyon November 3, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Eh, it's okay

I read The Fault In Our Stars and then turned to this for more John Green. I was kind of disappointed though. It started out with promise but quickly turned into a really long, boring experience. It looks short but it dragged on. There weren't any positive messages or great role models either. If you want good John Green, read Paper Towns, An Abundance Of Katherines or The Fault In Our Stars.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybscgirl October 10, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Looking for Alaska

The book has a lot of mature subjects so id make sure the age of the person who's reading this is ok but other then that its a beautiful emotional book that has a lesson and will make you shed a couple tears.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byKristanio January 30, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

This book is one of, if not, the best.

Amazing book. Got so much out of it and is one book that I could read over and over again and could never get bored with it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byHolly.Ali August 26, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Loved it

I read this book when I was in 3rd form. And I truely loved it!I learnt alot from this novel, sure there is a fair amount of alcohol, drugs, and sex but I found from hearing the point of views from the characters, the younger readers mature from reading this novel.
Teen, 16 years old Written byErk808 July 28, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Very Good Read

This novel does bring up issues that will come into play with kids when they are around fifteen maybe younger, so it is appropriate for young teens to read this novel. It is extremely well written and has excellent characters that tell the story, It does have a lot of smoking and drinking in it and does have some language but in the end the book is a fantastic read. I recomend it to teens around 15 and older since it does deal with sex, drugs and language.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written by Alice June 21, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

On for 12-13 year olds

John Green's debut novel, Looking for Alaska is a beautiful book, and definitely one of my favorites. It deals with love, loss, loneliness, and living life to the fullest. Miles "Pudge" Halter has a boring and meaningless life, so he goes to Culver Creek boarding school in hopes of finding the great perhaps. He meets the gorgeous, smart, funny, self- destructive Alaska Young, who he falls in love with. Alaska, along with other new friends, The Colonel, Lara, and Takumi expose Pudge to smoking and alcohol, enlist him to pull some great pranks, and show him the great perhaps. The "Before" half of the book is about coming of age, making new friends, and falling in love. The "After" half of the book deals with grief, loss, and searching for the truth. Over all, this is a wonderful book for teens and adults alike.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bylipglosschaos September 4, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

One of the Best Books Written

OH MY GOSH! College kids lost their virginity! GASP! What has the owlrd come to :/ I loved this book. It was well written with great messages. I enjoyed that the main event wasn't the end- it was the middle. The characters were so quirky and unique, and when *SPOILER ALERT* Alaska died *SPOILER OVER* I cried for twenty minutes. The characters are relatable and you fall in love with them. DFTBA!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 24, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good book but very inappropriate

I came into reading this book because I thought it was Paper Towns, beforehand, I had read small portions of what Paper Towns was about. When I got Looking For Alaska, I didn't know what I got myself into because it was a very interesting, well-written piece of literature, but very inappropriate. This book is a good read if your child has a high maturity level. This book promotes smoking, underage drinking, sex, and more, but it also promotes having good friends. Still, the storyline is fun and cute. It has a young difficulty level, yet it takes high maturity, and I do recommend it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byncfenton April 29, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

deep

i love this book to death. it's very sad, but also very happy. it goes over a lot of real-life situations. overall, it is pretty inappropriate because of the swearing. also, there are a few scenes that are very inappropriate but you can always skip them, they do not add much to the story line.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing

Pages