All member reviews for Looking for Alaska

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Teen, 13 years old Written byjlee7 January 23, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Perhaps..... Great Dissapointment

I was only able to read halfway through this book before writing this review, so I can not really vouch for how the resolution comes in play. I'll start by saying that once you take away the sex, sexual references, drinking, smoking, and underage everything there is not much to this book. Don't get me wrong, I am a definite Nerdfighter (in fact I'm currently wearing a Pizza John shirt), but this book left me unsatisfied. There are curse words on every single page and if there aren't, there is a sexual reference. When some try and defend the characters by saying that teenagers have sex and drink and smoke all the time it really annoys me because there are also a ton of real life teenagers that don't do any of those things and make good choices. There are absolutely zero of these types of teens in this book. The fact that the main character gave into his peers at the drop of a hat is also annoying because readers could potentially look up to Miles and be like "well Miles never smoked, but he started too so it means it's okay to smoke." The only thing I enjoyed in this book was Miles' knowledge of famous last words. Not sexual, does't involve drinking, doesn't involve smoking. I'm sorry, John, you're awesome, and I get that this was your first book, but you could do better. :/
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byUna14 January 19, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

An amazing book!

John Green never fails to disappoint with his books. I feel as this book is meant for older teens and I myself was too young to read this as there are many mentions of sex etc. It is a fab book for 15 and up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byNarwhalLover13 January 18, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

John Green is AMAZING

I think every book John Green writes is amazing and the whole world should read about him. I read this book when I was 13, and being a messed up child my whole life, I could have read it at 10. Well, since parents probably want to protect their children from sex and smoking, maybe wait till your 13. As for me, I was corrupted at a young age, too much tv and youtube. Anyways, read all of the other books by him (paper towns, let it snow, will grayson; will grayson, abundance of katherines, and the fault in our stars) because they are also very amazing and you would be depriving yourself of some very important happiness.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old January 9, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great but contains sex material

This is a magnificent book. Absolutely magnificent. But this book covers some very mature topics; suicide, loss of a family member, and sex. There is a short sex scene between Pudge and Lara, and the word p*** is used multiple times throughout the course of the book. However, having read this when I was eleven, I am sure that most kids will know about this by the time they are 12.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byjoanafilipa1998 December 27, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

One of the best books ever

I've read this book, and I absolutely loved it. It has some controversial points, yes, but it's nothing I couldn't handle, as I deal pretty well with strong and explicit language. I think that people who are 15 and older can read this book, and I also advise it, as it is a really good book, and it obviously deserved the award it received.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byaabigailrose November 29, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Coming-of-age gem!

Looking for Alaska is a beautiful coming-of-age story that chronicles the boarding school adventures of Miles, later nicknamed Pudge. Pudge and his friends pull off crazy pranks, fall in love, and ultimately experience and cope with loss. This book is not light with the language, but it is used in a very realistic setting, as all of the main characters are sixteen or seventeen years old. Also, there is marijuana smoking mentioned in passing, and most of the main characters smoke cigarettes at some point. There is also underage drinking shown multiple times, however the consequences (hangover, vomiting) are also mentioned to balance it out. There is a fair amount of sexual content, including references to sexual acts, as well as intense kissing and other vaguely sexual interactions. Also, pornographic materials are mentioned. There is a death in the book, and the second half of the book is devoted to how the characters cope with loss. It may be intense for younger children to read about this loss, especially since it may or may not have been a suicide (never revealed). Overall, this is a good story about coming of age, and it contains some positive messages about growing up, love, and friendship. If you think your child is mature enough to handle the iffy material, then it is absolutely a must-read. However, know your child before saying yes to this one, because the content can blind-side an unsuspecting preteen who picks this up after The Fault in Our Stars.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written by3drock3 November 7, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Warning!

This book is crazy amazing, for anyone above 16. Don't be fooled by the fact that it is in a middle school. This book includes the F work, descriptions of porn and oral sex, drug use, smoking, and pretty much everything that any parent ever tells their child NOT to do. If you are 16 and up, or a parent of a 16 and up year old, then this a NEED to read!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byKelli3502 November 5, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Best Book I Ever Read

This book is amazing, it kept making me want to dive deeper into the story. The characters are so full of life and real and in some cases relatable. This book should be read by a middle schooler and so on, its just a bit to violent and sexual for anyone in elementary school.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThisTeenKnowsAll November 5, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent of a 12 and 12 year old Written byDtownmom October 3, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Inappropriate Material

The protagonist goes looking for the "Great Perhaps." I thought it might be something powerful and meaningful. But what it turns out to be is him hanging out with a bunch of other teens whose pastimes are drinking heavily, smoking, watching porn, and playing mean pranks. While it was horrible and stupid from the beginning, the real jaw-dropper was the lesson in oral sex. Really? In a book marketed to children? Do you know who is reading John Green books these days? It's all the way down to 5th graders, 10-year-olds. Mr. Green defends the scene by saying it is not erotic. Hello! That's worse! It is very casual. The receiver has barely even made eye contact with the girl, and afterward, he basically ignores her. Made me want to vomit.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bySing laugh be happy September 30, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

I was sadly surprised

WARNING DO YOUR RESEARCH! When my mom and I went to the book store my mom saw this book and saw it was a award winning book and thought it was fine. It was not. At first I really enjoyed it but it kept getting worse and worse. It went in to detail about sex and the swearing was horrible! The main character starts drinking and smoking during the book and the book makes it seem like fun, also the girl Alaska says she smokes so much to die. I didn't think it was appropriate and I wouldn't suggested it to anyone under 16.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew September 25, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Sad dark toned book has gun shooting+military violence

Kid, 12 years old September 9, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

:(

I have not read this book (my mum won't let me for obvious reasons I understand) loads of my friends have read it which suprised me when I found out about the sex scene. I think this book may hurt or confuse girls who are not educated or mature enough for this scene. I don't know how good this book is but I put down just fine because you can't reveiw without putting it down.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bysharkgirl021502 September 1, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

MAKE THIS BOOK INTO A MOVIE!!!!!

I LOVE THIS BOOK, its romantic adventurous and soo much more if ur not reading this book then you are missing out
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bypepperoots August 31, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

DO NOT MISS

this is a very well written book, even thought the themes are pretty heavy, its realistic and has very developed characters.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 21, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Looking For Alaka

The book is outstanding. John Green is one of my favourite authors, as he can really create a work of art. There is reference to marijuana, but the novel never goes into detail on any of the charaters smoking it. It is noted that one of the basketball players is a "stoner" Major use of cigarettes. The characters, who are all minors (-18), sneak smoking, and cigarette use is a major part of the story. There is an oral sex scene, where Miles/Pudge has his girlfriend give him a "blow job", and another where Alaska and Miles watch porn. There are many references to sextoys and pon, comdoms and sex. Sexuality is also a major part of the story, and definitely something to look out for. Towards the end of the book, there is talk of depression and suicide. Alaska drops hints during the novel that she is depressed, but the character think nothing of it. Overall, I recommend parental discretion for children under the age of 16. It is heartwarming, and I'm sure you'll love it. happy reading :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 10, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

not okay for people my age and if you cry at books... you re going to cry a river

a lot of sexual references!! I believe im mature enough to handle that but knowing others my age I cant imagine them reading a book like this! I adore john green! im a nerdfighter and has read all of his novels! this contains some swering including sh*t f**ck and others. absolutely amazing tho and if your unsure whether or not this book is okay for you your probably right... overall FANTASTIC!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byTonyBMG July 9, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Seriously?

It has way too much bad language, sex, and drinking – graphic sex and drinking. I can handle the occasional reference to sex, or maybe some drinking in a young adult book, but this book went way over the top. Your teen will learn how to get and stay drunk, the proper manner in which to administer a blow job (very graphic), and how to use the F word in every sentence. http://riffingonreads.com/blog/book-review-looking-for-alaska/
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 2, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I was 50/50

The book Looking for Alaska was a pretty good book. Compared to some of the other John Green books such as The Fault In Our Stars, it was only decent. It was very inappropriate and was not very interesting. I felt like it could've had a better and more intriguing plot.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written by221TARDIShunter July 1, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

READ THIS BOOK!!!!

I love this book. It's my favourite. John Green is an outstanding writer and really gets the teen struggle now. Peer pressure, wild emotions, fun, it's all there. Through all the pages you can tell these characters could be real, John Green just gets it. The book has some really good lessons to learn and some quotes can really help (like my favourite "The only way out of the labyrinth of suffering is to forgive."). Whenever I need a pick-me-up, I always pick up this book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages

Pages