All member reviews for Looking for Alaska

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Teen, 16 years old Written byjakecinkus January 10, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Looking for Alaska Review

The first part of the book revolved around the main character, "Pudge" entering a new school where he meets 'the Colonel', Takumi, Lara and Alaska. The first part of the book was sort of slow moving. It was mostly them having fun- just smoking, and drinking, and playing pranks. But I guess at the same time it was also entertaining to read about their conversations and adventures and such. What I also really liked about the first part, was John Green's wit. What kept me reading was the personalities of the characters and their witty punch lines. I also enjoyed Pudge's like for 'last words'. I enjoyed reading the second part of the book. Although I already had an idea of what the characters were thinking and what would happen. The second part was less witty than the first, but had a lot of depth that made me think more and enjoy the second part more. I really liked the ending, it made me realize a lot and left a good feeling.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old January 3, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Looking for Adventure??

Very heartwrenching with pretty explicit scenes. I read when I was 11 and had no problem because I'm mature.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymusiczombie407 December 18, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

gorgeously written, though not given enough credit. :)

I read this book for the first time at age 12, I'm pretty mature for my age, and I absolutely adored it. I fell in love with Alaska's witty yet self detructive personality as well as Miles yearning for his "Great Perhaps." This piece of genius inspired me to be more influencial to people and to love without fear. I think Alaska, although she made a pretty bad choice in the end, had one of the most influencial personalities and attitude than any other character I'd ever experienced at that time. I'm now going on 15, and I am a complete Nerdfighter, I can only hope that young children can be exposed to this ugly world in such a beautiful way. I had never looked at depression or misunderstanding in such a way, until this unique novel opened my eyes to it. John Green deserves more credit for this gorgeous piece of work, and this novel is what made me into the raving fan of his that I am today.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byalexchristine96 August 22, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Life changing

I read this book shortly after a death of a friend when I was 15 years old. The book not only helped me come to terms with an untimely death of a young adult I knew, but it helped me learn things about myself and where I wanted to be. I've never credited a book for opening my eyes as much as this one does. This book changed my life and I will forever be grateful to Mr. Green for writing this how to guide on finding yourself as a confused adolescent.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJohn.green19 July 15, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fantastic for mature audiences

This book is FANTASTIC If you are open minded to mature content and can see metaphorical resonance there within.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent of a 6, 10, 12, and 12 year old Written byComplementing Critic April 26, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Beautiful book.

John Green is a wonderful writer and this book is quite well written. My 12 year olds read it, and it is a great book for mature tweens and teens.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byBookEater98 April 5, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

DFTBA

I loved this book. I laughed, I cried, and i sighed reading it. John Green is a fantastic author and taught me to live my life to the fullest with his writing. I think there are positive role models once you take away the drinking, smoking, and sex. This Looking for Alaska is truly amazing. DFTBA.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byHugeReader123 March 25, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Amazing Book

This is a really great book. It's what taught me about the real world, like sexe (silent "e") and stuff. But when this book comes to sexeual content, it has a lot. *cracking knuckles* Where to start? First off: Alaska tells her funny story on how her boob was honked on her vacation. She's set as "dead sexy" (and the way John Green describes her, she is). Pudge immediatly likes her. he admits to her that as long as he has some one to kiss, he doesn't care. The colonel observes that a girl has perky breasts. While watching the Brady bunch, Pudge's girlfriend asks if he's ever had a blowejob, which he says no. So they kiss, she pulls down his pants, and she puts his penus (I had to mispell it because the computor wouldn't let me put it in otherwise) in her mouth, but doesn't know what to do, so they ask alaska, who makes fun of them. Alaska and pudge make out on a bed, and he reaches under her shirt but over her bra. Oh, yeah; they hunt for porn, watch a video where a guy is giving the girl orul sexe. Alaska comments to Pudge never to do it that hard, because it looks painful. Lots of cussing, mostly F word. But, like I said, this is the book that taught me about the details of sexe, and life, and how precious it is. This is a beuatiful book; Green's best.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 2, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Looking for Alaska...all will bow.

This is the greatest book I've ever read in the history of books!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGallifrey101 January 30, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Favorite Book

Okay, honestly, you have to consider what your kid can handle. I'm twelve, I read this and I loved it. It's now my favorite book. I'm not going to lie, it has some inappropriate content but if you believe your child is mature enough to handle a few sex scenes and bad words, (which they probably hear about or see everyday due to the media and other kids) then let them read away, because this is a truly amazing, WONDERFUL book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byxaltrockgirlx December 11, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The book is for high-schoolers; SafeLibraries can chill

I actually decided to check this book out at the library after reading this review and watching John Green's video on YouTube, and I agree with him on all counts. Yes, there is one frank sex scene, but it is horribly awkward compared to the emotional encounter Miles has with Alaska. This is not intended to push porn, in fact, it seems to discourage it. If you haven't already, check out the YouTube video with Green explaining his reason for putting the scene in the book and you will definitely become a Nerdfighter. The only reason I list violence is because of minor encounters with bullies and SPOILER: a car wreck and possible suicide. The language is as mature as the book's subject matter, which includes heavy drinking and smoking, but no teenager would walk away from this book thinking that these are good ideas. The debut novel by Green actually portrays positive messages about love, life, and the loss thereof. There is a reason this book remains on many school's reading lists. (If only it was on mine...)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byilovemustaches November 9, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

OMG INCREDIBLE!

This book is INCREDIBLE! At some moments it is questionable, but other than the sex, smoking( cigarettes and marijuana), drinking, and suicide, it is an incredible read. !!!!!!!!!!! If you have read any of John Green's other books he has a theme kind of and Alaska is an amazing inspiration! How much she cared for Pudge but tried so hard not to show it! Oh my goodness! INCREDIBLE!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMarvelite October 21, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

READ THIS BOOK!

When my best friend told me to read this book I thought this would just be another book that I would read and forget about a month later, but I have never been more wrong in my life. This book felt more real than any other book I have ever read in my life, and it made me think more than any other book too. I think that this book should be required reading for anyone and everyone going through high school. Though the content may scare some people off (occasional drinking, sexual references/scenes, and language) this book definitely has enough great things about it to outweigh the bad. Pudge is a lovable, intelligent, and clever character, and he's not the only one. Every character in this story has an amazing feeling of depth and reality to them, which makes the story all the more enjoyable. This book will make you wonder, cry, and laugh out loud, and I recomend to to anyone mature enough to understand it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 27, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Read It!!!!!!!!

Loved it! This book made me think!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byVietpride218 July 13, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

All these worries about a great book for nothing

This is by far the best book I have ever read. The book gets you hooked just from the beginning and never stops. I can see where many things can be inappropriate for kids in the eyes of an adult but things have changed. Sadly, kids are not completely shielded from the things you are opposed to in this book in regular life even as soon as they get to middle school. I do admit that some scenes get explicit but it all contributes to the story. There is underage smoking and drinking but that is a part of life too. Unfortunately, I knew some people who smoked and drank under the age. One I knew smoked when he was in 4th grade. It's sad yet a true part of life. And all the comments about profanity and swearing, I found it hard not to go through a day of school without hearing people swear. We hear people swear in the streets and in a book the swearing is just the same and if not, it contributes to the book. It gives teens the comfort that the author understands what us teens can handle like some swearing and some drinking and smoking under the age. The author masterfully wrote the book for young adults yet also treats the reader like an adult.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byDFTBA_HelloYou May 26, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Best Book I've Ever Read.

It's amazing! I read it when I was 11 and there was nothing in that book that I didn't already know. Yeah, I wouldn't recommend it for someone under 12 because it does require a lot of thinking to process and understand the book (the good values), but I know four year olds who say and/or do half the things mentioned in the book. Parents that have a problem with the book don't need to confront John Green; they need to confront their children. It's perfectly displaying our youth today.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bykikikoala August 26, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Don't miss out on this just because of the content!

I read this book when I was 13, and I handled it just fine. There's nothing in here that you wouldn't find in a PG-13 movie. By 13, I knew that teenagers smoke and drink and have sex, and even if you haven't discussed that stuff with your kids I can guarantee they've heard it somewhere else. So don't keep this book away from your teens just because of the content. It's an amazing book, so well-written and with a powerful message. Every teenager should read this book. If you're still worried about it, read it first. You'll see what I mean.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byseastar13 August 25, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Fantastic

This book was a really fantastic book. It shows how everyone- no matter their outside impresson- has a "labynth" of problems and saddness and pain. It shows the truth, and regardless of age, teenagers are alot more mature than meets the eye. I don't think that you have to be 16 to read this. 12 year olds can handle this just the same.
Teen, 14 years old Written byRyan LCK July 21, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The progressive storyline was a good job!

The Ending could be improved, it was getting way too sloppy.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byeric77 July 15, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great!

The book honestly changed me a little. It was great. Something I will read more than once. The book was funny and many other things. If I could I'd give it 6 stars

Pages