All member reviews for Looking for Alaska

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Teen, 14 years old Written byBookEater98 April 5, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

DFTBA

I loved this book. I laughed, I cried, and i sighed reading it. John Green is a fantastic author and taught me to live my life to the fullest with his writing. I think there are positive role models once you take away the drinking, smoking, and sex. This Looking for Alaska is truly amazing. DFTBA.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byHugeReader123 March 25, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Amazing Book

This is a really great book. It's what taught me about the real world, like sexe (silent "e") and stuff. But when this book comes to sexeual content, it has a lot. *cracking knuckles* Where to start? First off: Alaska tells her funny story on how her boob was honked on her vacation. She's set as "dead sexy" (and the way John Green describes her, she is). Pudge immediatly likes her. he admits to her that as long as he has some one to kiss, he doesn't care. The colonel observes that a girl has perky breasts. While watching the Brady bunch, Pudge's girlfriend asks if he's ever had a blowejob, which he says no. So they kiss, she pulls down his pants, and she puts his penus (I had to mispell it because the computor wouldn't let me put it in otherwise) in her mouth, but doesn't know what to do, so they ask alaska, who makes fun of them. Alaska and pudge make out on a bed, and he reaches under her shirt but over her bra. Oh, yeah; they hunt for porn, watch a video where a guy is giving the girl orul sexe. Alaska comments to Pudge never to do it that hard, because it looks painful. Lots of cussing, mostly F word. But, like I said, this is the book that taught me about the details of sexe, and life, and how precious it is. This is a beuatiful book; Green's best.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 2, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Looking for Alaska...all will bow.

This is the greatest book I've ever read in the history of books!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGallifrey101 January 30, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Favorite Book

Okay, honestly, you have to consider what your kid can handle. I'm twelve, I read this and I loved it. It's now my favorite book. I'm not going to lie, it has some inappropriate content but if you believe your child is mature enough to handle a few sex scenes and bad words, (which they probably hear about or see everyday due to the media and other kids) then let them read away, because this is a truly amazing, WONDERFUL book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byxaltrockgirlx December 11, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The book is for high-schoolers; SafeLibraries can chill

I actually decided to check this book out at the library after reading this review and watching John Green's video on YouTube, and I agree with him on all counts. Yes, there is one frank sex scene, but it is horribly awkward compared to the emotional encounter Miles has with Alaska. This is not intended to push porn, in fact, it seems to discourage it. If you haven't already, check out the YouTube video with Green explaining his reason for putting the scene in the book and you will definitely become a Nerdfighter. The only reason I list violence is because of minor encounters with bullies and SPOILER: a car wreck and possible suicide. The language is as mature as the book's subject matter, which includes heavy drinking and smoking, but no teenager would walk away from this book thinking that these are good ideas. The debut novel by Green actually portrays positive messages about love, life, and the loss thereof. There is a reason this book remains on many school's reading lists. (If only it was on mine...)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byilovemustaches November 9, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

OMG INCREDIBLE!

This book is INCREDIBLE! At some moments it is questionable, but other than the sex, smoking( cigarettes and marijuana), drinking, and suicide, it is an incredible read. !!!!!!!!!!! If you have read any of John Green's other books he has a theme kind of and Alaska is an amazing inspiration! How much she cared for Pudge but tried so hard not to show it! Oh my goodness! INCREDIBLE!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMarvelite October 21, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

READ THIS BOOK!

When my best friend told me to read this book I thought this would just be another book that I would read and forget about a month later, but I have never been more wrong in my life. This book felt more real than any other book I have ever read in my life, and it made me think more than any other book too. I think that this book should be required reading for anyone and everyone going through high school. Though the content may scare some people off (occasional drinking, sexual references/scenes, and language) this book definitely has enough great things about it to outweigh the bad. Pudge is a lovable, intelligent, and clever character, and he's not the only one. Every character in this story has an amazing feeling of depth and reality to them, which makes the story all the more enjoyable. This book will make you wonder, cry, and laugh out loud, and I recomend to to anyone mature enough to understand it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 27, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Read It!!!!!!!!

Loved it! This book made me think!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byVietpride218 July 13, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

All these worries about a great book for nothing

This is by far the best book I have ever read. The book gets you hooked just from the beginning and never stops. I can see where many things can be inappropriate for kids in the eyes of an adult but things have changed. Sadly, kids are not completely shielded from the things you are opposed to in this book in regular life even as soon as they get to middle school. I do admit that some scenes get explicit but it all contributes to the story. There is underage smoking and drinking but that is a part of life too. Unfortunately, I knew some people who smoked and drank under the age. One I knew smoked when he was in 4th grade. It's sad yet a true part of life. And all the comments about profanity and swearing, I found it hard not to go through a day of school without hearing people swear. We hear people swear in the streets and in a book the swearing is just the same and if not, it contributes to the book. It gives teens the comfort that the author understands what us teens can handle like some swearing and some drinking and smoking under the age. The author masterfully wrote the book for young adults yet also treats the reader like an adult.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byDFTBA_HelloYou May 26, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Best Book I've Ever Read.

It's amazing! I read it when I was 11 and there was nothing in that book that I didn't already know. Yeah, I wouldn't recommend it for someone under 12 because it does require a lot of thinking to process and understand the book (the good values), but I know four year olds who say and/or do half the things mentioned in the book. Parents that have a problem with the book don't need to confront John Green; they need to confront their children. It's perfectly displaying our youth today.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bykikikoala August 26, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Don't miss out on this just because of the content!

I read this book when I was 13, and I handled it just fine. There's nothing in here that you wouldn't find in a PG-13 movie. By 13, I knew that teenagers smoke and drink and have sex, and even if you haven't discussed that stuff with your kids I can guarantee they've heard it somewhere else. So don't keep this book away from your teens just because of the content. It's an amazing book, so well-written and with a powerful message. Every teenager should read this book. If you're still worried about it, read it first. You'll see what I mean.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byseastar13 August 25, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Fantastic

This book was a really fantastic book. It shows how everyone- no matter their outside impresson- has a "labynth" of problems and saddness and pain. It shows the truth, and regardless of age, teenagers are alot more mature than meets the eye. I don't think that you have to be 16 to read this. 12 year olds can handle this just the same.
Teen, 14 years old Written byRyan LCK July 21, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The progressive storyline was a good job!

The Ending could be improved, it was getting way too sloppy.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byeric77 July 15, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great!

The book honestly changed me a little. It was great. Something I will read more than once. The book was funny and many other things. If I could I'd give it 6 stars
Teen, 13 years old Written byneongreen1397 June 16, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A very unique "Love Story" for pre teens/teens

It is kinda hard to find a really good interesting, somewhat relatiable book for pre teens and teens. LOOKING FOR ALASKA is a perfect book. its halirous and a little naughty but not tooo bad. you may shed a tear here and there. its a book you wont forget
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byMelloMelon June 4, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Perfect for all teens and pre-teens

This is my second favorite book and like Alaska I have a lot of books. Although it does include a lot of bad language and sexual REFRENCES it leaves a great message. I read it when I was in sixth grade and trust me, by sixth grade your kids have read a lot worse things. That may seem wrong, but if you look at our twisted world, you'll realize that most of our second graders know a lot of what's in this book. In the little review at the top it states a possible suicide. WRONG! The book clearly states it was not a suicide. I think John Green books are all inspirational and touch my heart. Every teen should read this book.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 15 and 15 year old Written byKotaro May 23, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
It was pretty good, but I don't think any young children should be reading it. Emphasis on YOUNG. I mean, I was a pretty messed up child, and I wouldn't have been bothered by it, or learned anything new, even if I had read it at the age of seven. But I was still pretty screwed up, so don't take my word on it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byoriginality95 February 22, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A Plethora of Perfection.

I recently read all three of John Green's published books this fall, and fell in love with his writing. I was happy to read a book from the perspective of a boy, where most young adult books I've read feature a girls as the main character. It was a fresh outlook, that I enjoyed extremely. I'm offend to see the book is rated "iffy". Unlike the review above, I found that the "plethora of problematic content" to be key toward the story line, Green features things like sex, drugs, and drinking for a reason. It doesn't shield kids, but displays real life topics in a worth while book to read. I was mesmerized by this book, and appreciated it's messages. The loss of a friend is hard to take and John Green's writing makes the story so real, I was deeply touched. It's the perfect story that will make you laugh at the witty comments smile and the sweet observations, and cry for the sad truths it holds. It's award was well deserved!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byemilyjanee November 14, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

An Amazing Book

I loved this book because it offered a lot of complex thoughts. It showed views on life and philosophy. Not to mention as a writer it gave me tons of inspirations. and it was by far not close to being as bad as like 80 percent of books out there. Not graphic nor does it influence anything. it just shows a different life style and back grounds. all of which i think is healthy for kids to be aware of. You can keep your kids in the dark but when they see freedom they will go wild. Introduce them to things and make sure they understand why it is wrong. And there are consequences. The death of Alaska, several punishments by the dean, depression from death ect showing why you shouldn't
Teen, 13 years old Written byKaitlin_ August 7, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great book.

It is one of my favorite books. It really makes you think about the Labyrinth of suffering and how to get out of it.

Pages