All member reviews for Looking for Alaska

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Award-winning novel of life and death, for older teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 133 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bypointeshoe May 3, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Reaches the "Great Perhaps" ;)

I really loved this book . It was amusing, meaningful and realistic. There was a lot of talk about sex, drugs, and swearing, but mature pre-teens/teens should be okay with it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymovie_lover7 April 29, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

LOVED Looking For Alaska

I am 13 but am considered more mature then most kids my age, but I loved Looking For Alaska. It is an excellent story, though it does have smoking, underage drinking, pornography watching, "ambrosia" which is milk and vodka, and other such things. However it features "pudge" and him looking for his "Great Perhaps" and he finds friends who care about him and they pull a hysterical prank. Also a favorite part of mine is when Takumi has the fox hat and says as self motivation "No one can catch the mother fucking fox." All and all great story, real characters, and the right amount of humor and sadness.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 24, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

loved it

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bymangoRSL April 20, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Trash, Garbage, Simply JUNK!

Okay, to start out- spoiler. The main character DIES. Who on EARTH would want to waste their time reading a book where the main character dies. Actually, wait- people have to have been reading it, because Mr. Green and his Vlog account have been making a whole lot of money off of his kill-the-main-character franchise. Second, the stuff in it. Okay, sure there is some stupid positive message hidden somewhere in it,but not where kids can grasp it. But what kids DO get from it is the sex, the drugs, the drinking, the smoking- all the stuff that make Ms. Alaska here "cool". It's like shouting out "Drink Alcohol at age 16!" And plus, none of the characters are real, even in the fictional sense. They seem to be a way for John Green to get his opinion across where people will read it, and think, "Hey, this dude is so deep- let's subscribe to his vlog account and tell everyone how deep he is!" Which, by the way is EXACTLY what it is intended to do: you cry, and spend money on his books, he gets the money, and you get to be "deep". Where is the great adventure, the smiles, the humor, the magic, the romance? All the elements for a good book are missing. But for a book to be a bestseller, it has to follow the same recipe that it has had since the Secret Life of Bees was first published- first, kill all parents, then send the main characteroff to remote place, then, include lots of sex, language, drugs, and alcohol, and finally, kill a main character and leave the others in a life of depression. What could possibly inspire people to read trash like this repetitively? Simple- being deep. Mr. Green and his deep books are a living example of the emperor's new clothes- how people read trash just to be deep.Go, sensible people, stand up while you still can, stand up for those nice books that don't violently kill the main characters off, the ones like Lord of the Rings, Percy Jackson, or Little Women, Castaways of the Flying Dutchmen, Star Wars, the ones that are plain old GOOD BOOKS.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byKristalkaye February 25, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

All the hype, no come through

The book was hyped so much. It was a disappointing read from beginning to end. Lacked original imagination. (something that has been done 100 times before and better) Didn't create, nor stick to the mere story line or the "plot". I feel as though the book had a whole lot of nice words and sayings but not worth the read at all. The outcome of Alaska was utterly stupid and just when the book seemed to be picking up interest. Hopefully fault in our stars is a much better read..
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byilovemanga January 30, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great meaning....but

So i'm 14 read it about a week or two ago and let's be honest i think the thing that is bad is the fact that the sex is really full on. I mean they LITERALLY describe a blowjob! And porn , i think it really distracted from the great meaning that we never really know one another as much as we think
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMetalman173 November 27, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Very well written, mature book

great story and charictors. but content includes sex (kissing, touching, one scene with oral sex that is mostly comedic), charicors discuss drugs and use alcohol and smoke ciggarettes), and language (including f*ck) It depends on how mature your kid is
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byrealistic March 2, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Best book! educational!

Best book, My daughter recommended this to me, (she was 15 at the time). we share our passion for for this book together! this book teaches/inspires /helps you to live with a question mark, and not worry!
Teen, 16 years old Written byjakecinkus January 10, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Looking for Alaska Review

The first part of the book revolved around the main character, "Pudge" entering a new school where he meets 'the Colonel', Takumi, Lara and Alaska. The first part of the book was sort of slow moving. It was mostly them having fun- just smoking, and drinking, and playing pranks. But I guess at the same time it was also entertaining to read about their conversations and adventures and such. What I also really liked about the first part, was John Green's wit. What kept me reading was the personalities of the characters and their witty punch lines. I also enjoyed Pudge's like for 'last words'. I enjoyed reading the second part of the book. Although I already had an idea of what the characters were thinking and what would happen. The second part was less witty than the first, but had a lot of depth that made me think more and enjoy the second part more. I really liked the ending, it made me realize a lot and left a good feeling.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old January 3, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Looking for Adventure??

Very heartwrenching with pretty explicit scenes. I read when I was 11 and had no problem because I'm mature.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymusiczombie407 December 18, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

gorgeously written, though not given enough credit. :)

I read this book for the first time at age 12, I'm pretty mature for my age, and I absolutely adored it. I fell in love with Alaska's witty yet self detructive personality as well as Miles yearning for his "Great Perhaps." This piece of genius inspired me to be more influencial to people and to love without fear. I think Alaska, although she made a pretty bad choice in the end, had one of the most influencial personalities and attitude than any other character I'd ever experienced at that time. I'm now going on 15, and I am a complete Nerdfighter, I can only hope that young children can be exposed to this ugly world in such a beautiful way. I had never looked at depression or misunderstanding in such a way, until this unique novel opened my eyes to it. John Green deserves more credit for this gorgeous piece of work, and this novel is what made me into the raving fan of his that I am today.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byalexchristine96 August 22, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Life changing

I read this book shortly after a death of a friend when I was 15 years old. The book not only helped me come to terms with an untimely death of a young adult I knew, but it helped me learn things about myself and where I wanted to be. I've never credited a book for opening my eyes as much as this one does. This book changed my life and I will forever be grateful to Mr. Green for writing this how to guide on finding yourself as a confused adolescent.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJohn.green19 July 15, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fantastic for mature audiences

This book is FANTASTIC If you are open minded to mature content and can see metaphorical resonance there within.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent of a 6, 10, 12, and 12 year old Written byComplementing Critic April 26, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Beautiful book.

John Green is a wonderful writer and this book is quite well written. My 12 year olds read it, and it is a great book for mature tweens and teens.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byBookEater98 April 5, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

DFTBA

I loved this book. I laughed, I cried, and i sighed reading it. John Green is a fantastic author and taught me to live my life to the fullest with his writing. I think there are positive role models once you take away the drinking, smoking, and sex. This Looking for Alaska is truly amazing. DFTBA.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byHugeReader123 March 25, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Amazing Book

This is a really great book. It's what taught me about the real world, like sexe (silent "e") and stuff. But when this book comes to sexeual content, it has a lot. *cracking knuckles* Where to start? First off: Alaska tells her funny story on how her boob was honked on her vacation. She's set as "dead sexy" (and the way John Green describes her, she is). Pudge immediatly likes her. he admits to her that as long as he has some one to kiss, he doesn't care. The colonel observes that a girl has perky breasts. While watching the Brady bunch, Pudge's girlfriend asks if he's ever had a blowejob, which he says no. So they kiss, she pulls down his pants, and she puts his penus (I had to mispell it because the computor wouldn't let me put it in otherwise) in her mouth, but doesn't know what to do, so they ask alaska, who makes fun of them. Alaska and pudge make out on a bed, and he reaches under her shirt but over her bra. Oh, yeah; they hunt for porn, watch a video where a guy is giving the girl orul sexe. Alaska comments to Pudge never to do it that hard, because it looks painful. Lots of cussing, mostly F word. But, like I said, this is the book that taught me about the details of sexe, and life, and how precious it is. This is a beuatiful book; Green's best.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 2, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Looking for Alaska...all will bow.

This is the greatest book I've ever read in the history of books!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGallifrey101 January 30, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Favorite Book

Okay, honestly, you have to consider what your kid can handle. I'm twelve, I read this and I loved it. It's now my favorite book. I'm not going to lie, it has some inappropriate content but if you believe your child is mature enough to handle a few sex scenes and bad words, (which they probably hear about or see everyday due to the media and other kids) then let them read away, because this is a truly amazing, WONDERFUL book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byxaltrockgirlx December 11, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The book is for high-schoolers; SafeLibraries can chill

I actually decided to check this book out at the library after reading this review and watching John Green's video on YouTube, and I agree with him on all counts. Yes, there is one frank sex scene, but it is horribly awkward compared to the emotional encounter Miles has with Alaska. This is not intended to push porn, in fact, it seems to discourage it. If you haven't already, check out the YouTube video with Green explaining his reason for putting the scene in the book and you will definitely become a Nerdfighter. The only reason I list violence is because of minor encounters with bullies and SPOILER: a car wreck and possible suicide. The language is as mature as the book's subject matter, which includes heavy drinking and smoking, but no teenager would walk away from this book thinking that these are good ideas. The debut novel by Green actually portrays positive messages about love, life, and the loss thereof. There is a reason this book remains on many school's reading lists. (If only it was on mine...)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byilovemustaches November 9, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

OMG INCREDIBLE!

This book is INCREDIBLE! At some moments it is questionable, but other than the sex, smoking( cigarettes and marijuana), drinking, and suicide, it is an incredible read. !!!!!!!!!!! If you have read any of John Green's other books he has a theme kind of and Alaska is an amazing inspiration! How much she cared for Pudge but tried so hard not to show it! Oh my goodness! INCREDIBLE!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages