All member reviews for Looking for Alaska

Common Sense Media says

Award-winning novel of life and death, for older teens.

Users say

(out of 158 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Written byAnonymous September 25, 2014

Sad dark toned book has gun shooting+military violence

Kid, 12 years old September 9, 2014

:(

I have not read this book (my mum won't let me for obvious reasons I understand) loads of my friends have read it which suprised me when I found out about the sex scene. I think this book may hurt or confuse girls who are not educated or mature enough for this scene. I don't know how good this book is but I put down just fine because you can't reveiw without putting it down.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bysharkgirl021502 September 1, 2014

MAKE THIS BOOK INTO A MOVIE!!!!!

I LOVE THIS BOOK, its romantic adventurous and soo much more if ur not reading this book then you are missing out
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bypepperoots August 31, 2014

DO NOT MISS

this is a very well written book, even thought the themes are pretty heavy, its realistic and has very developed characters.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 10, 2014

not okay for people my age and if you cry at books... you re going to cry a river

a lot of sexual references!! I believe im mature enough to handle that but knowing others my age I cant imagine them reading a book like this! I adore john green! im a nerdfighter and has read all of his novels! this contains some swering including sh*t f**ck and others. absolutely amazing tho and if your unsure whether or not this book is okay for you your probably right... overall FANTASTIC!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 2, 2014

I was 50/50

The book Looking for Alaska was a pretty good book. Compared to some of the other John Green books such as The Fault In Our Stars, it was only decent. It was very inappropriate and was not very interesting. I felt like it could've had a better and more intriguing plot.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written by221TARDIShunter July 1, 2014

READ THIS BOOK!!!!

I love this book. It's my favourite. John Green is an outstanding writer and really gets the teen struggle now. Peer pressure, wild emotions, fun, it's all there. Through all the pages you can tell these characters could be real, John Green just gets it. The book has some really good lessons to learn and some quotes can really help (like my favourite "The only way out of the labyrinth of suffering is to forgive."). Whenever I need a pick-me-up, I always pick up this book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byDogMediaLover June 28, 2014

Looking For Alaska

Very edgy, and though containing an impressive cast with great personality, is not my favorite John Green book, due to a bloated ending, and slimmed-out beginning (Before should be a little longer, After should be shorter) and an unnecessary male stripper scene. Still fantastic though. POSITIVE MESSAGES: Messages about growing up. POSITIVE ROLE MODELS: Yeah, none here. :) But all the kids are really smart. VIOLENCE: 2/5 A character dies, and there's some brutal handling from bullies. SEX: 4/5 Sexual references, a scene where two teens watch a video containing sex, and an oral sex scene. Also a stripper is mentioned. But, as Common Sense said, there is nothing gratuitous. Besides the male stripper scene. LANGUAGE: 3/5 Four-letter offenders are not rare. CONSUMERISM: 1/5 Mainly fake products mentioned. SUBSTANCE CONSUMPTION: 3/5 Drinking and smoking. Good, but as I said, Sex is edgy.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byahmedabdelhalim June 22, 2014

best book i have ever read

i have read the fault in our stars yet but this book is the best book i have ever read in my life i wish i cam read it 100 times again without boring :")
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byRaeBae2000 June 16, 2014

John Green is a genius

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 2, 2014

One of JG's Only Good Books.

This and Paper Towns are by far his only good books. If you're into white, straight teen romance, his books are for you. Needs more PoC and LGBT characters.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byWhovian315 May 29, 2014

Fantastic Book

This book is amazing, I first read it when i was 11 (didn't include anything i didn't know already) but i would recommend it for ages 12+. John Green is a fantastic author and i think all of his books are worth reading. There is a oral sex scene, but it isn't that bad and its only about a page long. All the things that are being done underage Do affect the characters in a negative way and I think thats great.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bypointeshoe May 3, 2014

Reaches the "Great Perhaps" ;)

I really loved this book . It was amusing, meaningful and realistic. There was a lot of talk about sex, drugs, and swearing, but mature pre-teens/teens should be okay with it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymovie_lover7 April 29, 2014

LOVED Looking For Alaska

I am 13 but am considered more mature then most kids my age, but I loved Looking For Alaska. It is an excellent story, though it does have smoking, underage drinking, pornography watching, "ambrosia" which is milk and vodka, and other such things. However it features "pudge" and him looking for his "Great Perhaps" and he finds friends who care about him and they pull a hysterical prank. Also a favorite part of mine is when Takumi has the fox hat and says as self motivation "No one can catch the mother fucking fox." All and all great story, real characters, and the right amount of humor and sadness.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 24, 2014

loved it

What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byrealistic March 2, 2013

Best book! educational!

Best book, My daughter recommended this to me, (she was 15 at the time). we share our passion for for this book together! this book teaches/inspires /helps you to live with a question mark, and not worry!
Teen, 16 years old Written byjakecinkus January 10, 2013

Looking for Alaska Review

The first part of the book revolved around the main character, "Pudge" entering a new school where he meets 'the Colonel', Takumi, Lara and Alaska. The first part of the book was sort of slow moving. It was mostly them having fun- just smoking, and drinking, and playing pranks. But I guess at the same time it was also entertaining to read about their conversations and adventures and such. What I also really liked about the first part, was John Green's wit. What kept me reading was the personalities of the characters and their witty punch lines. I also enjoyed Pudge's like for 'last words'. I enjoyed reading the second part of the book. Although I already had an idea of what the characters were thinking and what would happen. The second part was less witty than the first, but had a lot of depth that made me think more and enjoy the second part more. I really liked the ending, it made me realize a lot and left a good feeling.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old January 3, 2013

Looking for Adventure??

Very heartwrenching with pretty explicit scenes. I read when I was 11 and had no problem because I'm mature.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymusiczombie407 December 18, 2012

gorgeously written, though not given enough credit. :)

I read this book for the first time at age 12, I'm pretty mature for my age, and I absolutely adored it. I fell in love with Alaska's witty yet self detructive personality as well as Miles yearning for his "Great Perhaps." This piece of genius inspired me to be more influencial to people and to love without fear. I think Alaska, although she made a pretty bad choice in the end, had one of the most influencial personalities and attitude than any other character I'd ever experienced at that time. I'm now going on 15, and I am a complete Nerdfighter, I can only hope that young children can be exposed to this ugly world in such a beautiful way. I had never looked at depression or misunderstanding in such a way, until this unique novel opened my eyes to it. John Green deserves more credit for this gorgeous piece of work, and this novel is what made me into the raving fan of his that I am today.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byalexchristine96 August 22, 2012

Life changing

I read this book shortly after a death of a friend when I was 15 years old. The book not only helped me come to terms with an untimely death of a young adult I knew, but it helped me learn things about myself and where I wanted to be. I've never credited a book for opening my eyes as much as this one does. This book changed my life and I will forever be grateful to Mr. Green for writing this how to guide on finding yourself as a confused adolescent.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages