All member reviews for Love That Dog

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Terrific for reluctant readers, discussion groups.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 11 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byholesiscool April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

good book

if you like poetry than you will like this book, Love That Dog. I haven't finished this book yet but i think its great!
Teen, 15 years old Written bylala8796 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

a must read book for people of all ages

i loved this book. it's short and gets right to the point and is a great book for kids of all ages a must read for everyone
Adult Written byleahanddusty12 May 11, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A must-read-book for everyone 1-100!!!

this book is personly my favorite of all!!! It's great for all ages and it only takes about an hour to read. you know it's a good book when it makes you cry, laugh, smile, or you read it a lot faster than you usually do with most books. I did all of these.
Teen, 16 years old Written byhamstergurl09 November 28, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A Gem

I have to be honest - the first time I read this book, I didn't like it. I had to read it two or three times before I really understood it's magic. Jack is very easy to relate to. The story of him and his dog Sky is a touching one. I like watching Jack's development as a poet. This is a good book for kids who may be reluctant to read and write.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It was a very, very good book!!

Kid, 8 years old May 25, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Touching book.

This book is such a touching book. It's sad at some parts, but I recommend it to anyone. It is such a good book! Any book by Sharon Creech is amazing and great!
Teen, 13 years old Written bySCLove222 December 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Loving and Touching Story

I love this book and thought it was very touching and amazing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old September 25, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

touching, warming, and sad book

this is possibly the best book ever but i also cried like a baby when i read it. its simple reading but toddlers may be very upset and not understand why the dog died. they might be very concerned after that
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 8, 13, and 16 year old Written bydebk190 February 6, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

All ages love it

This book sparked an interest in all forms of poetry in our house. I read it to my 8 year old and then reread it to my 13 year old son. We can't wait to read Hate that Cat coming soon.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written byclass of 2012 May 29, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

wonderful

omg i cried when i read it. beautiful book.
Kid, 12 years old June 24, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I love it!

I love this you have to think in this book what the potery means!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages