All member reviews for Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Common Sense Media says

Tale of dying teen is full of embarrassing comic moments.

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byJflores14 February 7, 2015

Comedic look at friendship, high school, and cancer

This book is hilarious and depicts high school spot on! It was good and I throughly enjoyed it(red it within one afternoon). CONTENT: Violence: one fistfight Sex: crude humor typical of two males, jokes about erections, masturbation, porn, homosexuality, lesbians, semen, sex, and oral sex Langauge: pretty salty compared to other YA tiles: Usages of f**k and motherf**k, c**k, t*t, p*ssy, shit, b*tch, ass, d*ck, damn, he'll, n*gger, and other uses of these words combined together. Drugs: two teens accidently get high MY RATING: R- for langauge
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written byBookNerd4Ever December 13, 2014

Quality Read

This book, while it does contain some mature content, is a very worthwhile read. Students today deal with difficult issues on a daily basis, and as an educator I feel that it is important to share books with students that allow them to feel a connection to others dealing with similar things. To encourage students to develop a love of reading, they need to have exposure to books that challenge them or make them think about ideas in a different way. Despite some profanities, this book is unarguably a quality read that will grab students who don't typically gravitate towards reading.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byCalcabrina March 31, 2012

I laughed the entire time

a little too much swearing for me, but I laughed so hard throughout the entire book. Greg is the funniest antihero ever. I loved it when they accidentally got high!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent Written byteacherreader314 November 1, 2015

Not for Middle Schoolers

I will admit I have not read the whole book, but I felt I needed to add a review to complement the previous review. I was alerted to this book when I saw a group of middle schoolers huddled around it. I looked at the page they were reading and the sexual reference on it was something I didn't know about until I was in college. I know kids grow up fast these days, but the book is written from the perspective of a boy who is a senior in high school, so includes thoughts and language of an older high school boy. While the book may be very well written, parents I would advise you to read the book yourself... especially if you plan to let your 13 year old read this.
Teen, 13 years old Written byag.leftwich September 28, 2015
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byadrianna m February 24, 2016

me earl and the dying girl

The book i read is called Me, Earl, and the dying girl by Jesse Andrews. This book was about guys named Greg and Earl. They were best friends, they think life sucked. That's basically what every teen thinks. There lives get a little more interesting when greg's ex/ neighbor Rachel is diagnosed with leukemia. The central idea was about trying to hang out with Rachel a lot before she gets worst. Rachel loves the films that Earl and Greg make, so they made a video in her honor because she's the only one that likes them. The central theme was '' life is too short to not have fun and make memories''. That's the theme because that's is what there trying to do with rachel before this gets worst. I thought this book was really good because I can relate to this. This may relate to most teens because it's about life and how teens feel. I would recommend it for teens because this is basically about highschool and life.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byPangorostar September 6, 2016

What is Tem doing here?!?!

I read this when I was twelve, recently after reading The Fault in Our Stars, Paper Towns and the Hunger Games trilogy, this was a great book for me, but probably not for anyone who hasn't started high school yet.
Teen, 15 years old Written bydinaalf March 4, 2016
Teen, 13 years old Written byXinaTurtle September 9, 2015

SO FUNNY

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex