All teen and kid member reviews for Mockingjay: The Hunger Games, Book 3

Kid, 11 years old April 6, 2011
 

Definately my Favorite Book.

I had finally finished two of three books in the Hunger Games Trilogy. I strongly believed that they were the most fantastic books I had ever read. However, after I opened Mockingjay, I knew that I had been wrong. This book was packed with even more drama and detail than the books before it. The reason I think this book was better than the previous books, The Hunger Games and Catching Fire, is because the situation is much more difficult than before. Instead of having the Hunger Games themselves as a conflict, the conflict in Mockingjay was an entire war, putting tens of thousands of lives at risk rather than just 24. Many characters that I feel like I knew and loved died over the course of the story. I shed many tears over the perfectly written pages. This book reached out farther than any other book had before, right through my heart. That is what I admire most about the series’ author, Suzanne Collins, the most. The way she writes makes the words come alive, makes the characters jump right out of the page, the landscape painting itself right before your eyes. Mockingjay is probably the most inspirational novel I have ever read. I would recommend this book to more mature 9 year olds and up. Younger kids might not be able to understand some of the elements in Mockingjay as well as older kids and teens. The book brings up deep subjects like war, assassination, drug abuse, and alcohol. Although the drug and alcohol themes in the book are minor, it may bother some people. Readers should expect plenty of detailed violence and gore. If you enjoyed the other two novels in the Hunger Games Trilogy, and enjoy a fast-paced book with an excellent plotline, I think you will find that Mockingjay is absolutely breathtaking.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byallisonh March 10, 2011
 

overall satisfying

this was my personal favorite in the hunger games serries. colins exibited a true understanding for the emotions katniss is feeling. at one point she is considering suicide and is refusing food. younger teens who havent been exposed to these trials may be overwelmed or burdened. throught the serries katniss matures and grows into the strong and detrmined woman that she is in the epiloge. it is evident that the strugles that she faced made her who she was ment to be. the violence in this final book is particularly explicit. durring a battle scene, a minor character`s eye is severly ingured and fully described. a certain leval of maturity is required to appritiate the love that peeta and katniss share, and some yonger kids may not understand. overall this book gives new hope and it was a privilage to read
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bynoveleater October 27, 2010
 

On.... for ages 12 and up.... mature 12- year- olds.

Bloody....... This novel is the most raw one of them all. Bombs are blown off, including a hospital. Many deaths of beloved characters. One man poses in his underwear. Many tears are shed, and a exciting. but scary chase scene in the sewers. It is really good, but blood is often shed, and described. I wouldn't pick this one up if you haven't read the other two. I am sad to see the story end this way, but I guess, its war, right? Katniss does choose who she will live with for the rest of her life, yay!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byAwalkeratCSM January 8, 2011
 

Food for teens thought.

The WORST book in the Hunger Games, but with a hooking plot that keeps the anxious reader reading on into the blackness. This was VERY dark and depressing. Many beloved characters die, unimaginable torture and practices described, though not too heavily, you can hardly trust anyone, and the main character sinks deeper and deeper and deeper and deeper into a grave depressing state. Though I have to give credit to the author, Collins, for writing so well as to bring the reader fully into the story and its emotions. But overall, this is a book I doubt I'll ever reread because when I was finished I was just not satisfied with the ending and the story. In fact, one of the best parts of the books was when you learned Katniss, the main character, started becoming normal again and fell back in love with Peeta whom, I hope, became her husband and they had several children. Just by reading this you can tell Collins isn't very good at weaving happiness and genuine hope into a story, even giving the storyline and situations she could have made it more hopeful. On a happier note, the action was eye-gluing, the language pretty clean, and hardly any consumerism to look out for because... it takes place in the future! As for educational value, the reader's mind will be open to thought and discussion on future and tyrannical governments, sacrifices and bravery and tough decisions, and many more topics that deal a dark, futuristic world and justice. To look out for: heavy, though not too graphic, violence which includes torture, people blowing up, blood, and tons of other stuff that a normal thirteen-year old should be able to handle; some kissing and mentions of prostitution;one character drinks A LOT and morphine addiction in some characters; some negative messages about how to handle tough situations, how to treat your at-your-mercy enemies, and other dark subjects; most of the characters in this books are downright bad role models, but readers would normally excuse that giving their condition, and they hardly ever act hopeful about justice and peace. This is definitely NOT Suzanne Collins best book, but it was a gripping conclusion to her infamous Hunger Games trilogy. The story and setting gave plentiful food for thought about a world where its poorer subjects live in dystopia, considering many today live in that condition, and what just governments are. However, violence, drinking, bad role models and messages, as well as mature themes, add to the higher age rating, but if you put this in front of a tween I assure you they will read on for the justice of the rebellious characters and for the pure genius of Suzanne Collins writing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written byKatrianra November 6, 2010
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byK bug January 19, 2013
 

Love the first 2. hate the 3rd

This was the worst one. You have to read it to finish off the sereies but its terrible and sad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old August 6, 2012
 

Great Book!

This is probably one of the best books I have ever read! Very descriptive and had me thinking for a long time.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byShe-WolfAlpha September 27, 2010
 

SADNESS :(:(

AUGH!!!!! HATED HATED HATED THE ENDING!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 6, 2014
 

not my favorite but still amazing!

okay... so this book was amazing but I had to read it twice to get through it. I had all the books and when I finished catching fire I jumped staright into it ,I got upto about page 200 then stopped. I got bored and was skim reading, it took me about a month to finish. then in may/june I reread it and I understood, I got to analyze all the deaths and the phycological aspect of everything. Here we see katniss dealing with Trauma from the past and she's faced with the consequences of everything that she's done. everyone despises her and thinks shes mentally unstable. I feel mockingjay had to much going on, bombs were thrown left right and center as any usual war but this was an emotional rollercoaster! there was a lot of death in this one and a lot of graphic violence. A main character is tortured to the point that all their memories are tampered with, all the characters that survived the Quarter quell dealed with severe PTSD. overall an amazing book and finally, a good book with a somewhat happy ending!!!! the epilogue had me crying with joy and the last page had me squealing! enjoy this rollercoaster xxx
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bytypenamehere June 12, 2012
 

Katniss great role model

The role of Katniss is this book is incredibly admirable. She stands up for the people she loves while being an amazing inspiration to the uprisers of Panem. The violence is consistent throughout the story, with many people dying. There is only a small amount of sex, which comes with the story that President Snow forced desirable victors to be prostitutes. I would make this a 14 and up, but I have read it and many of my friends, and we are 13, so it would be hypocrytical! Great book, can't wait for the film.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 5, 2011
 

Way to go Katniss!

This series really makes you grateful for what you have. Great ending to a great series. Peeta was always my favorite! Katniss needed someone calm but not wimpy to balance out her violent, rebellious side. Gale was too....violent and would've driven Katniss crazy listening to him rant.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow February 19, 2013
 

The best Hunger Games of them all!

The Hunger Games book series seems to be getting better with each book, and this epic finale is no exception. I know a lot of people consider it the least good in the series, but I think it's the best. Although it is the only book that does have an actual arena in it, it is actually the most violent of all the books, with much warfare taking place in the city, complete with mutant lizards chasing Katniss and friends through a maze of tunnels. Yikes. There are also some sickeningly tragic deaths, horrific images left for the imagination, and a freaky (but ultimately happy) twist ending. Katniss continues her character arc, and it's wrapped up nicely in the end. Peeta and Gale continue to be supportive of Katniss throughout, and she finally decides between them in the end. Some elements of the plot felt contrived, but other than that, this stands as my favorite Hunger Games book, as well as one of my favorite books of all time, if not my all time favorite.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 24, 2012
 

A perfect ending

I thought this time there was more violent than the other two books but i still think it wwould be good for kids 12+ 1 thing that told me that this book wasnt for kids in elementary school was when Finnick Odair said the some victors were sold for there bodys to rich captiol citizens. That wasnt for young kids to hear! One part that I thought was creepy was the lizard mutts towards the end of the book, they MIGHT scare young readers. A few of my fave charecters ended up dying in the end but thats real life, not everyone you love makes it out of the war. The end of the book was kinda vague but thats good because it lets readers imagine what they want for the ending but still having the ending that Suzzne wrote. Mockingjay is amazing? Real or not real? REAL!!!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byskiergirl202 November 19, 2010
 
This book is Amazing! I thought it was the best book in the Hunger Games series! I cried on the last chapter it was that good. Wonderfully written.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 8, 2014
 

The BEST!

I think Mockingjay is the BEST book ever! I read it for 12 hours straight! The things you need to know though are: Minor kissing scenes, VERY emotional, and really violent. The other books dint have half as much gore as this book does. ******SPOILER ******* Somebody gets there legs blown off by a bomb, another person gets thrown into barbed wire, a man's skin MELTS off, and, many people get their heads ripped off by giant lizard-mutts. In this book though their is not as much drinking as the last books, (until you get to the end) though, there is more morphing then there is in the previously written books.There is several suicide attempts and a HUGE depression scene at the end. Overall, even with all the above I read this book (and the others) FOUR times in the last TWO months!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old April 6, 2014
 

good finish of trilogy!

Mocking jay is definitely the most violent, heart wrenching book in the series. The role models in this book aren't as impressive as they were in the first 2 books but the educational value and good messages are still good. I recall quite a bit of swearing but not the worst swear words. Unlike the other 2 books there's pretty much no sex or sexy stuff in this book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bymahi4eva June 6, 2013
 

Great Book! Loved It!!!

I think this is a great book. I don't know why some parents think its innapropriate. I guess if your child is really faint hearted then maybe not, but its awesome, so are the other books in ths trilogy. It's really sad though. There are some really horrible ways of torture used and some sad deaths. There are kisses between Gale, Katniss, and Peeta, and there is talk of former victors being soled as sex slaves by the capitol.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old May 31, 2013
 

VIOLENT

This book is full of violence. Really. 13+ good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byrebma97 December 29, 2012
 

Violent end to the Hunger Games series (3.5/4 stars)

I liked this book pretty well, but I don't know if it was my favorite HG book or not. One thing I don't understand is why they killed off some characters. SPOILER ALERT I know that people get killed in wars, but what was the point of killing Prim? She's the whole reason Katniss got into the Hunger Games. Also, I didn't like how Peeta was hijacked for most of the book. SPOILER END but I did like how, in this book, Katniss questioned President Coin's motives (she used propaganda and other questionable means against the Capitol). It was thought-provoking. Violence: Tons of violence, with many people getting killed or injured. Mentions of blood. POSSIBLE SPOILERS a hospital is bombed, and near the end of the book several kids are killed with bombs. Peeta is presumably tortured. Sex: Not as much kissing as in the first book, but still some. One character became a sex slave for the Capitol after winning one of the Hunger Games Language: Very rare use of "H*ll" (I think only two times) Drinking/Drugs: Haymitch isn't allowed to drink in District 13, but sometime he does manage to get a bottle of liquor.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bypatilly100 May 31, 2012
 

A Beautiful Piece - The Mockingjay Really Sings

This story, like the other two books and the movie, is beautiful. There is a lot of blood and gore though, and drinking and drugs. I most definitely would recommend it to kids ages 14 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages