All member reviews for Mockingjay: The Hunger Games, Book 3

Common Sense Media says

Exciting, dramatic -- and bloody -- sci-fi trilogy finale.
 

Users say

(out of 240 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 4, 9, and 10 year old Written bymockingbird72 November 16, 2010
 

Torture scenes too intense for teens

**SPOILER** If I were to make a movie in which a main character sees a friend's limbs being cut off methodically or another friend being drenched with water and then electrocuted repeatedly, there would be no question of an R or even NC-17 rating. Why are books not treated the same way? This is not young adult literature.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byBookOak October 23, 2011
 

Not a PG-13 book.

I am appalled by this and the preceding two books in the series. Maybe I got stuck in time somewhere, but this level of violence, even if fake, is simply not acceptable in my opinion. When I read these books I am constantly wondering how my daughter's perspective is being changed. I am trying to talk to her about this and that we should guard against violence of this nature. We've talked about Roman gladiators and the torture of Christians in Roman times, about witch trails and about the holocaust, as well as torture in dictatorships and other situations. I'm constantly trying to tell her that violence is NOT an OK choice and that we abhor violence and especially torture and creative ways of killing human beings. What I fail to understand is how this book is appropriate for 12-year olds. All I want to do is toss the entire series in the trash can, where I think they belong - right with slasher movies and the like. If this book was made into a movie, it would not carry a PG-13 rating, but an R or NC-17.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old April 6, 2011
 

Definately my Favorite Book.

I had finally finished two of three books in the Hunger Games Trilogy. I strongly believed that they were the most fantastic books I had ever read. However, after I opened Mockingjay, I knew that I had been wrong. This book was packed with even more drama and detail than the books before it. The reason I think this book was better than the previous books, The Hunger Games and Catching Fire, is because the situation is much more difficult than before. Instead of having the Hunger Games themselves as a conflict, the conflict in Mockingjay was an entire war, putting tens of thousands of lives at risk rather than just 24. Many characters that I feel like I knew and loved died over the course of the story. I shed many tears over the perfectly written pages. This book reached out farther than any other book had before, right through my heart. That is what I admire most about the series’ author, Suzanne Collins, the most. The way she writes makes the words come alive, makes the characters jump right out of the page, the landscape painting itself right before your eyes. Mockingjay is probably the most inspirational novel I have ever read. I would recommend this book to more mature 9 year olds and up. Younger kids might not be able to understand some of the elements in Mockingjay as well as older kids and teens. The book brings up deep subjects like war, assassination, drug abuse, and alcohol. Although the drug and alcohol themes in the book are minor, it may bother some people. Readers should expect plenty of detailed violence and gore. If you enjoyed the other two novels in the Hunger Games Trilogy, and enjoy a fast-paced book with an excellent plotline, I think you will find that Mockingjay is absolutely breathtaking.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 5 and 8 year old Written byMarinMom73 August 11, 2011
 

A fantastic, but bloody ending - really for 16+

This is the bloodiest book of the series, where they dive into a full out realistic war. This is not pretty - friends die and bad things happen to our 2 heroes. Not for the light-hearted. Still, I believe this is a great story line and a very exciting plot. But, it REALLY isn't for kids below high school. I believe the author is trying to show the true ugly side of war, cruel governments, and the corruption of power.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byJinOhio November 18, 2010
 
As an adult, I was obsessed with this series, which my 11 year old read and insisted I read, too. It is riveting and extremely thought-provoking and intelligent! As for age appropriateness, it is definitely very violent and grim. My daughter is more scared than average for movie watching, but was not affected by these books. I think this is up there with some of the classic dystopian novels I remember reading long ago when i was in 7th grade... Brave New World, Animal Farm, Lord of the Flies. What is wonderful about it? Aside from being a really good story you can't put down... I am THRILLED to have a female hero who is really not at all focused on romance, though the reader is wondering throughout the trilogy if she will end up with Gale or Peeta. But Katniss "knows" early on that she doesn't want to marry, and she spends zero time mooning over boys. It is the boys who are interested in her! The references to Roman times add to the depth of the novel. I found myself thining about places like North Korea today -- this novel made me realize how incredibly difficult it is for a people to throw off a powerful, totalitarian government. It also portrays realistic responses to humans exposed to torture and war... they all have Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. What's neat is we meet Haymitch and initially see him as a drunk and are judgemental of him... Once we are initiated to the Games, we realize he is suffering the inevitable consequences of having survived them. I found Katniss' decision to assassinate Coin to also be extremely surprising and brilliant and made me really think! Katniss was right, but I would not have been as smart as her. And one can have great discussions about: can one person be judge, jury and executioner? What if the person they are killing will otherwise become an evil dictator who kills children? While my 11 year old read and loved it, I think this book is better for teens and adults who want to intellectualize away! And unlike some other reviewers who were disappointed, please re-read Katniss' explanation of why she NEEDS Peeta and not Gale in the end.. Gale represents anger... the anger necessary for a successful revolution Peeta represents hope and rebirth, which is necessary for survival and carrying forward.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bynoveleater October 27, 2010
 

On.... for ages 12 and up.... mature 12- year- olds.

Bloody....... This novel is the most raw one of them all. Bombs are blown off, including a hospital. Many deaths of beloved characters. One man poses in his underwear. Many tears are shed, and a exciting. but scary chase scene in the sewers. It is really good, but blood is often shed, and described. I wouldn't pick this one up if you haven't read the other two. I am sad to see the story end this way, but I guess, its war, right? Katniss does choose who she will live with for the rest of her life, yay!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byAllieO1234 June 8, 2011
 

Horrible ending to a great series.

I loved the first two books, this one doesn't even feel the same. Unfortunately the main character spends most of the book injured, on drugs, hiding in corners or just unable to deal with reality. They've taken a character that could have been a leader and turned her into a self absorbed fool. No roll model here. A real disappointment.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byallisonh March 10, 2011
 

overall satisfying

this was my personal favorite in the hunger games serries. colins exibited a true understanding for the emotions katniss is feeling. at one point she is considering suicide and is refusing food. younger teens who havent been exposed to these trials may be overwelmed or burdened. throught the serries katniss matures and grows into the strong and detrmined woman that she is in the epiloge. it is evident that the strugles that she faced made her who she was ment to be. the violence in this final book is particularly explicit. durring a battle scene, a minor character`s eye is severly ingured and fully described. a certain leval of maturity is required to appritiate the love that peeta and katniss share, and some yonger kids may not understand. overall this book gives new hope and it was a privilage to read
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written bymarintx December 6, 2010
 

Good for older teenagers, but too much for tweens

I read the trilogy, and while I liked it a lot, I would not want my kids to read it before they are in high school. Particularly this last book, Mockingjay, contains some disturbing content and is quite violent. A number of essential characters are killed off in horrible ways, and the main character goes through horrifying experiences. I am not sure why this is being marketed to tweens. There is much more graphic violence than in the Eclipse books, for example.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written byV1 May 14, 2012
 

Too many adult themes - not for kids under 15

After reading the series I'm shocked to see kids as young as 9 reading these books. These books are age-inappropriate for most kids under 15. For example, book 2 refers to a character who preys on desperate women who line up outside his door to sell their bodies. Book 3 has a passing reference to incest and sexual deviance. In Book 2 the main character gets drunk and vomits. Other characters are alcoholics or drug addicts. Violence abounds. People get shot in the head with little provocation. Whole populations are wiped out in fire bombing and bloody war/rebellion. Characters trip over decomposing rotting bodies. Physical and psychological torture abounds. IMHO This is not stuff a 9 or 10 year old should be reading. The books are well written, especially book 3, but make them wait till they are 14+.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 and 12 year old Written bytracylynh March 1, 2011
 

Just wish there was a 3rd book!

My daughter is so upset that she only has 20 or so pages til the end of the book. She LOVED this series.
Teen, 13 years old Written byAwalkeratCSM January 8, 2011
 

Food for teens thought.

The WORST book in the Hunger Games, but with a hooking plot that keeps the anxious reader reading on into the blackness. This was VERY dark and depressing. Many beloved characters die, unimaginable torture and practices described, though not too heavily, you can hardly trust anyone, and the main character sinks deeper and deeper and deeper and deeper into a grave depressing state. Though I have to give credit to the author, Collins, for writing so well as to bring the reader fully into the story and its emotions. But overall, this is a book I doubt I'll ever reread because when I was finished I was just not satisfied with the ending and the story. In fact, one of the best parts of the books was when you learned Katniss, the main character, started becoming normal again and fell back in love with Peeta whom, I hope, became her husband and they had several children. Just by reading this you can tell Collins isn't very good at weaving happiness and genuine hope into a story, even giving the storyline and situations she could have made it more hopeful. On a happier note, the action was eye-gluing, the language pretty clean, and hardly any consumerism to look out for because... it takes place in the future! As for educational value, the reader's mind will be open to thought and discussion on future and tyrannical governments, sacrifices and bravery and tough decisions, and many more topics that deal a dark, futuristic world and justice. To look out for: heavy, though not too graphic, violence which includes torture, people blowing up, blood, and tons of other stuff that a normal thirteen-year old should be able to handle; some kissing and mentions of prostitution;one character drinks A LOT and morphine addiction in some characters; some negative messages about how to handle tough situations, how to treat your at-your-mercy enemies, and other dark subjects; most of the characters in this books are downright bad role models, but readers would normally excuse that giving their condition, and they hardly ever act hopeful about justice and peace. This is definitely NOT Suzanne Collins best book, but it was a gripping conclusion to her infamous Hunger Games trilogy. The story and setting gave plentiful food for thought about a world where its poorer subjects live in dystopia, considering many today live in that condition, and what just governments are. However, violence, drinking, bad role models and messages, as well as mature themes, add to the higher age rating, but if you put this in front of a tween I assure you they will read on for the justice of the rebellious characters and for the pure genius of Suzanne Collins writing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written byKatrianra November 6, 2010
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byK bug January 19, 2013
 

Love the first 2. hate the 3rd

This was the worst one. You have to read it to finish off the sereies but its terrible and sad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byParthena November 2, 2012
 

Suicidal Themes - Not for Depressed Teens or Adults

All 3 books were all very well written, although 'Mockingjay' should not be read by anyone who has or is suffering with depression as it deals with heavy suicidal themes, immense guilt, and some morphine addiction. Parents - please read each book all the way through before letting your child do so. Although I loved the first 2 books, I was very disappointed with 'Mockingjay' due to it's overall depressing message. The last 2 pages and epilogue were ok. Honestly, if you want to know what happens to the main characters just read those last few pages. I wouldn't want ANYONE who is depressed or has been through depression to read this novel. Other than that it gives a fair and honest description of war and what it can do to people.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old August 6, 2012
 

Great Book!

This is probably one of the best books I have ever read! Very descriptive and had me thinking for a long time.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 16 year old Written bykk-bob October 4, 2010
 
Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byShe-WolfAlpha September 27, 2010
 

SADNESS :(:(

AUGH!!!!! HATED HATED HATED THE ENDING!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 6, 2014
 

not my favorite but still amazing!

okay... so this book was amazing but I had to read it twice to get through it. I had all the books and when I finished catching fire I jumped staright into it ,I got upto about page 200 then stopped. I got bored and was skim reading, it took me about a month to finish. then in may/june I reread it and I understood, I got to analyze all the deaths and the phycological aspect of everything. Here we see katniss dealing with Trauma from the past and she's faced with the consequences of everything that she's done. everyone despises her and thinks shes mentally unstable. I feel mockingjay had to much going on, bombs were thrown left right and center as any usual war but this was an emotional rollercoaster! there was a lot of death in this one and a lot of graphic violence. A main character is tortured to the point that all their memories are tampered with, all the characters that survived the Quarter quell dealed with severe PTSD. overall an amazing book and finally, a good book with a somewhat happy ending!!!! the epilogue had me crying with joy and the last page had me squealing! enjoy this rollercoaster xxx
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bytypenamehere June 12, 2012
 

Katniss great role model

The role of Katniss is this book is incredibly admirable. She stands up for the people she loves while being an amazing inspiration to the uprisers of Panem. The violence is consistent throughout the story, with many people dying. There is only a small amount of sex, which comes with the story that President Snow forced desirable victors to be prostitutes. I would make this a 14 and up, but I have read it and many of my friends, and we are 13, so it would be hypocrytical! Great book, can't wait for the film.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages