All member reviews for New Moon: The Twilight Saga, Book 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 197 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old November 9, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

tweens and up go ahead and read it!!!!!!!

i love the book! i cant wait for the movie. yes bella is recklass after edward leaving but he is her soul mate and never thought of leaving his side. with her and jacob she spent months with little human interaction not doing anything at all she goes out with jacob for a while because he was there for her when edward left. she did not play with his emotions.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byD_anIe-l October 22, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

perfect for who don't like vampires movies

i hate twinlight,is too pacific to a vampire movieand book(but i don't think those things are vampires i think they are aliens)
Teen, 13 years old Written bySagalover2 October 4, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very emotional

I think it is an amazing book, writen very well and is very emotional, I found myself sharing Bellas feelings through alot of the book.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bycatwiz97 September 30, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Amazing, Complaining

I loved it! The only thing I didn't like was that Bella complained A LOT. L-O-T. It was amazing writing and Stephenie Meyer is great. You can check out her website! stepheniemeyer.com!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old August 31, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Equivalent to its predecessor, satisfactory-wise

Book Review: I finally finished the highly anticipated "New Moon" last night and must say I was impressed. It is a very long book and could get tedious at moments, but for the majority of the book, it was entertaining. If you enjoyed Twilight, you'll like this as well. Stephanie's New Moon book is highly similar with Twilight, by the writing and characters. All I can say is that the book is highly entertaining and is a great follow-up to Twilight and is equivalent in the satisfactory department of its predecessor. Parental Advisory: I think the book is appropriate for ages eleven and up. There is some kissing, but there's not a plethora of it. There is minimal to no profanity and the profanity spoken is very tame, examples include "hell" and "d*mn'. There is no drinking or drugs. There's more violence here but not grotesque and not used at an excess. Overall: 4/5 I recommend this book to avid book readers. Great writing and characters. I'm starting on Eclipse and will do a review on that when I'm done.
Teen, 15 years old Written byCOOLIO-girl August 25, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

NOT THE BEST

mot the best twilight book but still pretty good....
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 13, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

The Twilight Saga : New Moon

I love this book!!!! I have read all of them, and can't wait for the rest of the movies!
Teen, 14 years old Written byjenyven July 1, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bycorkiepookie June 12, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I had a few panic attacks!

As much as i love this series, this one scared me. It really kept freaking me out the whole time, because of Edward leaving. So much suspense, so much drama. In other words, It was awesome!Probably my least fave. of the series, but it still passes with flying colors!
Teen, 13 years old Written bymisabaybay222 June 2, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I LOVE THIS BOOK!

this book was amazing.....i was absolutely sad when Edward left Bella for so long. But at least he came back! This book is something every 13 year old should read! if you love a book based on eternal love and vampires than read it! I like that Jake cares soo much about Bella....but Edward and Bella are meant to be....and Bella's dream comes true....Jake and her daughter are meant to be so yeah.
Teen, 13 years old Written bysamples964 May 14, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

boring!

i thought that this book was o.k it is hard to not have Edward in it and Jacob is not the most exciting character. nothing happens for 200 pages in this book except for Bella doing ridiculous things!
Teen, 16 years old Written byJessietwilightfan May 1, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

You'll feel the pain.

This book is so sad when Edward leaves that you'll actually feel how Bella is leaving. I almost cried which i rarely do for books and movies.
Teen, 15 years old Written bytwilightfankatie16 April 16, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I cried!

I cried when Edward broke up/left Bella. And no book has EVER made me cry! This was a amazing book. Stephanie Meyer is an awesome author! xxx
Teen, 14 years old Written byadjacient April 11, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

It was awesome!!!

I think that New Moon was a awesome book. I cried when Edward left Bella. In spots it was so sad. No book has ever made me cry that way before. New Moon was also a great book because it hooked you and you just couldn't stop reading. The night that i finished the book i read until about 7:00 p.m. - 3:30 a.m. This book is a must read for any teen. Twilight was also good but in New Moon the story changes drastically. I can't wait until they make the movie for New Moon because the book was simply amazing. It blew my mind how good this book was. This was the best series ever made. I read the whole series and it was so AWESOME!!! Anyway the series is a must read series.
Teen, 14 years old Written bynoemisita661 April 1, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

love it

it was grate i really want to read this book its the best series there could its the best.
Teen, 13 years old Written byiloveboks_13 March 3, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written byjaylan mah. February 22, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byHappilyEverAfter January 8, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Necessary to the series, but not the best book in the saga

New Moon was a natural next step from Twilight. Bella's agony (SPOILER ALERT) when Edward leaves her is understandable, but it is very played up. In this particular book, fans choose whether they are on the Jacob train or the Edward train. It's probably my least favorite book in the series, but it's definetly not bad. There is some good action towards the end and it leaves you satisfied.
Teen, 14 years old Written bysalvations November 20, 2008
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Nonsense

New Moon was personally the worst book in the series and was not worth my time. It was dull and I can only read about Bella freaking out because Edward left her for so long. The entire series was BS. Certainly NOT a good read.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Not As Good As Twilight

I like this book a lot, but I do not feel that this book is as good as Twilight, but that is my opinion. It was a very slow beginning, but it slowly turns thrilling.

Pages