All member reviews for North to Freedom

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 5 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old March 12, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I read this book not to long ago and it was pretty good. It was boring in the beggining then got better in the middle.
Teen, 13 years old Written byILoveReading765 November 19, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

So good!!

this is a good book but would be hard for younger kids to understand. if you want your child to get the full experance have them wait a few year.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bydana m. April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

okay if...

I did not read this book to anylize, but for a school assignment with pressing deadlines. I am sure that if I read it to critisize, I would have thouroghly enjoyed doing that. But for pure pleasure/booktalk, this is a fifty-fifty book. About half the people who read it will like it and about half won't. If you are the kind of person who is bored over survival stories where the author tries to keep you interested with emotional thoughts and descriptions (but doesn't do a very good job) about (yet again) children alone, than this is not the book for you. On the other hand, if you like books about children who have never lived in the outside world and are searching for their parents or parent, than this, I am sure, is a book you will like. But, I still must say (despite the fact that I did not, overall, like this book) it had a very touching ending.
Teen, 14 years old Written bybibliophilepianist May 31, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Amazing novel

Amazing novel with great life lessons to be learned. Of course, not everyone will "love" this book as much as I do, but ALL should read it. It is definitely a thinking book. Younger children may not understand it, but a must read for those 9+. It is not graphic, which I enjoyed. The subtle references to Psalm 23 are wonderful and the works of God are done in a non-cheesy way.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byChristianHistoryFan June 28, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

My Favorite Book Of All Time

This is my favorite book of all time (except my Bible, of course). It is inspiring, and a unique POV of life itself. There is no content (most) parents would find inappropriate. Beautifully written. Kids need to know about WWII and the Holocaust so it won't happen again. This would be perfect for that. (It's set in post-WWII)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 4, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Awsome!

I love this book! It's well writen, good length and this is my favorite book ever! My dad picked it out for me one time. It is really inspiring.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byEEO April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byEO April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I just finished reading "North to Freedom" this morning and loved it!! This is a great book!! It really makes you think because the some things we are used to and take for granted, David didn't know existed. We have so much and forget that many don't have anything. I saw the movie and even though I cried, if I was alone, I would have sobbed! It's such a touching book. God is watching over him all the way!