All member reviews for One Crazy Summer

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old March 15, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 20, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old July 19, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I love this book!

I learned about the Black Panthers! Amazing book! One of my favorites!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 7 years old May 1, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

its great

LOVE It! it teaches kids about segrigation and black and white ppl being apart but the smoking wont be a good role model when i read it to my kids in the future
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 17 years old Written bymisty f November 29, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

GOOD PARENTS, BAD PARENTS!!!!!!! :)

This book is a very good book and it teaches people how to deal with certain situations. The book is something i can relate to because i was taken from my mother and at times wish i can try to get back in touch w/ her but i am not sure if that is what my mother wants. Maybe if parents read this book they will realize that what they have is a good thing and that they should never give up and just keep pushing forward. I know there are parents out there who are very good to there kids and i want to say keep it that way. But for the parents out there who are not good to their kids need to try to be good to their kids because one day your kids will despise you and not want anything to do with you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byUGH!!! April 26, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Educational and fun!

The book was great! It had a good message about family values and what a family is. There is brief suggestive violence, but overall the book is okay. I recommend the book to a child who has learned a little bit about the Civil Rights Movement because they reference a few things that you would only understand if you had prior knowledge. This is a great middle school or advanced elementary school book. I would recommend it to anyone!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 20, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

delephine and her sisters go find their real mother in oakland.

this is really good book for your kids. it teaches then to be grateful for what they have and to also be grateful for there family.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byCeci Joe January 28, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Blown Away

This book was the perfect combination of a good story and a great message. Reading this at the age of 11, I had never experienced anything like that of this book's general theme of equality for blacks. It was a truly amazing illustration of sacrifice, support, struggle, child-like romance, and most of all, love for others and forgiveness. This book is just more proof to the world what a powerful tool the written word is. I learned much from reading One Crazy Summer, and I hope you will too. Enjoy!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byHappy Bookworm May 4, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great Book!

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY