All member reviews for Peace, Love and Baby Ducks

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 19 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byOGORMAN May 21, 2010
age 13+
 

For mature teens 13+

This was an all around good book except for a small part in the beginning of the book where a boy gets one of the sisters in trouble for looking up a porn website at school. Nothing is described about the website or what is on it. There is also a party where teen drinking is involved and some teens are described to be puking and peeing on the walls. Throughout all of their troubles, the two sisters do grow closer together in the end. Comments? Questions? Concerns? Email me: ogormanscommonsense at yahoo. :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bysoccer_411 July 20, 2009
age 12+
 

12+

I thought it was such a good book! It was really interesting and showed good emotion. Under age 12 might be a little iffy but otherwise it's wonderful!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 17, 2009
age 12+
 

AWSOME!!!!!

the book starts off a little slow, but once you get to the 5or 6th chapter, the book get's really good
Teen, 13 years old Written bysmartkitty July 6, 2012
age 12+
 

better on a kindle

realy good book ,not for kids under 10 though
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 17, 2011
age 9+
 

Not a Book about Saving Ducklings

I picked this up thinking it would be about a kid who cares for ducklings (I'm a serious animal lover), and I read it cover-to-cover. The book has some pretty bad things in it, like for example, they talk about thongs as well as body parts. The S-word is used a bunch of times, and they make fun of Christianity (I trust in God with all my heart and accept Him as my Savior). The B-word and A-word are also used. This part might not bother some people, but there are tons of references to brand names, crushes, and lip gloss, and I'm a tomboy, so this book kind of made me dump out my juice. They also stereotyped people. For example, Carly doesn't shave her legs yet, so Payton calls her a "homosexual". Just because you don't shave your legs yet doesn't mean you are gay! (I don't yet because I'm still too young, and I certainly am not!) Boys are always calling Annie "sexilicious", and that's a disturbing comment to women. DON'T even THINK of picking this up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byhamstergurl09 December 26, 2010
age 12+
 

Meh.

This book is basically about the protagonist's sister's boobs. I wish I was joking. I thought the protagonist was a cool, quirky girl, though, who wasn't afraid to be herself and really cared about her sister. WARNING: It's a major chicklit. (chicklit= literature for chicks).
Kid, 12 years old November 4, 2010
age 12+
 

Great Book. DEFINITELY reccommend it :)

It's a really great book. i have to say that lauren myracle is one of my fave authors, but that one party scene is a little much. i suggest that you make sure your kid is "ready" to read about more mature stuff like this :) :). Kids 10 and under DEFINITELY shouldn't read this because they might get some thoughts put in their mind that shouldn't be there :P
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old September 25, 2010
age 11+
 

tweens

love it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bysummerluver April 19, 2010
age 13+
 

great for 13 and up

This was a very good book. It is a great example of sisterly love. There is one scene in the book that is iffy. It is a party scene and Carly, Anna's sister, gets very drunk, and is making out with a guy older than her on her bed. Other than that this is a great book for teens 13 and up!!! (:
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlinaW. March 19, 2010
age 12+
 

Amazing Connections!

I'd grab this book for any tween or teen girl with a younger sister, especially one only a couple of years younger then them. I was amazed at how on-spot Lauren Myracle got the older-sister-younger-sister roles right! Although the book does talk about Anna and her developing body, and everyone's reaction, the lessons in here are positive, and it's a great little read for any tween or teen girl.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byblob77 December 27, 2009
age 11+
 

good for mature tweens and teens

i love the book so far. im on the baby ducks part i just started it. lauren myracle is my all time favorite author. go lauren!!!
Teen, 14 years old Written byfreddygirl11 August 18, 2013
age 12+
 

Great Sister Story

I have read this book about 50 times and I just love it. The only problem is Anna disappears halfway through the book. I said it has issues with sex because Anna is blamed of looking at porn on the internet, it has a few bad words like the b word, s word, and many religious expressions. Consumerism is Urban Outfitters, Goodwill, Neiman's, Starbucks and a few more. It also has a party with underage drinking. If you are okay with this stuff, you should be fine.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 3, 2011
age 10+
 

defenitly cant tell a book by its cover

not worth reading tottaly blah i thought it would either be romantic or about baby ducks but NO it looks like a kids book but is completely not
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old May 17, 2011
age 10+
 

BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

This is one of my ALL TIME FAVORITE books!!!! I gave it positive messages beacuse Carly sticks up for her younger sister Anna. There are cuss words here and there. At one part, Anna throws a party, which involves drinking. I also gave it sexual behavior because Carly finds her sister with the boy that she likes in bed, kissing. Overall a very good book for mature kids!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old March 22, 2011
age 10+
 

You Will Lov This Book!

I read it because i love ducks & just thought it would be 4 my enjoyment but i ended up loving the book. its one of my fave books now!
Kid, 11 years old August 23, 2010
age 12+
 

Nice Story. Kind of iffy.

I loved this book. It had a very positive message, because no matter what happens, and no matter what she does or says, Carly always sticks up for Her sister. the only bad role model for kids is the one boy in this story, who cheats on his girlfriend and is in bed with Carly's little sister.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old July 21, 2010
age 10+
 
i luv this book and i luv this book i think its for more middle tweens to early teens
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old February 28, 2010
age 11+
 

AWESOME!

THIS BOOK WAS AWESOME! I thought the beginning was REALLY funny!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bycheer15 September 8, 2009
age 12+
 
where can i get it i want 2 no?
What other families should know
Educational value