All member reviews for Princess Ben

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Bewitching tale with a refreshingly real heroine.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It was O.K.

I thought this book was a big disapointment, considering her other two books were amazing...i would definately reccomend Dairy Farm and The Off Season (her other books) more than this book.
Teen, 14 years old Written byKristeeni September 17, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Read!

I think this is a great book and didnt really find anything extremely negative about. Generally, it doesnt deal with too much of the heavy stuff. There is some violence, but the author does not describe it in a way that is overly gory. I read this book about a year ago and i still remember almost every detail of it...just talking about it makes me want to pick it up again!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written bynewmillenium January 8, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A clever find for readers of all ages

I loved this book! It felt like a classic fairy tale with modern attitude. The main character isn't perfect and her flaws are very relatable. She is a great role model for girls because she doesn't aim for the beauty and popularity of today. Overall, the story was very clever and I enjoyed reading every minute of it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byhomegirl13 March 25, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good!!

great!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Parent of a 12 and 15 year old Written bylady of the library March 11, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Fairy tale fun

This was on our "young adult" list, but I don't know why as I found nothing objectionable. It was slow starting, but I ended up enjoying it. The themes are good, but the "voice" was a bit annoying to me.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byLetsbebalenced January 24, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

good read for mid to older teens

I found this book a very exciting and unusual read.I only had a problem with one part, when a friend of the prince talks about his lover and her bed. Its not graphic and only hints but it's still wrong. Only children who fully understand why, and believe. that you shouldn't have premarital sex, should read this.. There were a lot of words that I didn't recognize so if your planning to read this keep a dictionary at hand. I loved it!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byglamgirlsg November 9, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I really loved this book. I thought that it was perfectly funny and serous at the same time
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of an infant, 2, and 7 year old Written byPaaru September 17, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great for girls of any age

I thought this book was fantastic. An enjoyable fantasy novel and coming of age story, the main character is strong, yet easy to identify with and matures a lot throughout the story. It also incorporates strong messages about positive body image, maturity, and understanding others, without over-emphasizing them to the point of being annoying. The story has a decent amount of plot twists, a good portion of humour, and some exciting adventure. And I can't say how much I enjoyed having a female main character who stands up for herself, but at the same time, can admit when she's wrong and tries to do better. I bought this book for my neice, but I fell in love with it myself. I'd reccomend this for girls of any age.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY