All member reviews for Ranger's Apprentice, Book 1: The Ruins of Gorlan

Kids say

(out of 27 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byEliasador April 27, 2011
age 11+
 

Breathtakingly Brilliant!!!!

It is the spectacular kickoff to one of the best series that I have read in a few years. I have just finished the fourth one and I loved it. I can't stop thinking about. I NEED the next one!!!! I cannot rest until I have the next one!!!! The only reason I am writing this review is because I do not have the fifth one at my fingertips. If I had it, I would be curled up on the couch until I had read it cover to cover, for these books are nearly impossible to put down.
Teen, 13 years old Written byBluegillkid January 26, 2011
age 11+
 

This book rocks

It is a good way to get kids to read or to continue reading
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 12, 2011
age 11+
 
Kid, 10 years old June 12, 2011
age 6+
 

BEST SERIES EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Best book ever I can't think of a reason why someone would hate this book. I usually hate reading but I finished this book in one day Other recommended series by me are the percy jackson series, the underland chronicles, the hunger games troligy, the kane chronicles, and the heros of olympus, and the diary of a wimpy kid series
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 31, 2010
age 15+
 
hate the BOOK
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBooklover123m December 14, 2014
age 11+
 

Awesome Characters and plot.

I love this book!!!!! It is a quick read but is in a fairly long series, Definitely recommended.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byRockbinder September 12, 2011
age 13+
 

The Best Book I Ever Read!!!

I actually read this book by accident. I was searching for some other book and found this one, I found the cover interesting so I started reading it. After I read it, I highly recommend this to those who don't believe in themselves, or are always getting bullied. This book will teach them to sometimes rely on other and always believe in one's self.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheMythologyGeek May 9, 2011
age 9+
 

Perfect for all ages!

Amazing book! I am now reading the ninth, and almost finished. John does use the 'D- word' several times, but it's not too bad. The messages are very good. Although, the book can be a bit over detailed. But he is Australian so it's as expected(they're like british is their writing, stretching it out a bit). But over all amazing!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byLil'Fires2001 September 28, 2014
age 10+
 

Absolutely Amazing!

Just finished reading the entire series for the second time. I really enjoyed the first book because it was very intriguing. Ruins of Gorlan caught my attention and got me really into the book, constantly keeping me on the edge of my seat. Whether or not someone likes the book is completely up to taste in books. all throughout the series, there was not ONE boring moment for me. Every kid (adults too) should read at least the first book.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2014
age 10+
 

Best book ever!!!!!!!!

I think this is a great book for kids who are into medieval time and like knights and weird creatures. It is not a scary book but it does have war in it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old December 29, 2013
age 9+
 

THE BEST

THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER! well the whole series is.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 21, 2013
age 9+
 

Gets you hooked the moment you read it!

I love this series! There is mild swearing and a little violent but it is after all the Middle Ages and you would expect a little violence. But other than that it is a wonderful series. I just finished the fifth book and can't wait to finish the series. Halt and the other adults are good role models to the teens. So basically give it a chance and you will be amazed! :D
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byRollTide0131 March 6, 2013
age 9+
 

AWESOME

This book is awesome I read it and it has definitely ranked upon my top ten favorite books list!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old October 27, 2012
age 10+
 

Lord of the Rings like fantasy

Review by rsm2. Great fantasy story that feels like lord of the rings. Lots of violence but to good to miss. A must read for fantasy lovers!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bychloerox27 March 7, 2012
age 9+
 

Ranger's Apprentice!

This is a great start to an amazing series! I'm just starting the 10th book and I can't put it down. Other than a little swearing and a little violence, this is a great book for kids and adults.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byclosowski January 20, 2012
age 2+
 

Appropriate for all ages indeed

I have read all the books of this series available in my library(1-10), and all that I believe were published, and personally i truly believe It's one of the best and most interesting series of all times. And once reader settles in with this first book he'll(or she) will be literary addicted to read the rest. I even think these series are as good as Harry Potter series or in some aspects even better ! Enjoy! ;D
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 6, 2012
age 9+
 

The best books ever

I loooooooooovvvvvvvveeeeee these books i loved them so much i read all the books two times. These are my favorite books in the whole world. This is a great book for kids. I love it so much that i cannot say anything more. It will leave you speechless.The book is that good
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 19, 2011
age 9+
 

ok

its a slow read but interesting. the books after this one are a lot better though.
Kid, 12 years old July 23, 2011
age 10+
 

Jaw Dropping Brilliance

I have only read the first book of this outstanding series and already i'm hooked. You are always on the edge of your seat and i have found now that i am 'addicted' to the books. It has a great story line and has lots of positive messages. If you love this book like me i recommend Deltora Quest by Emily Rodda, Guardians of Ga'Hoole by Kathryn Lasky and Artemis Fowl by Eion Colfer. Spectacularly Brilliant! Go John Flanagan!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byEpicPerson June 26, 2011
age 9+
 

Flanagan is really cool

This book is perfect for children! It has a few cursing, and it's kind of violent, but it will get you hooked and begging for a sequel. An awesome book!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages