All member reviews for Red Riding Hood

Common Sense Media says

Violent, romantic fairy tale retelling is based on movie.
 

Users say

(out of 10 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old April 7, 2011
 

GREAT!

This book is ah-mazing! Best book of the year.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bykaley_farrell December 8, 2012
 

Awesome!

I read the book & watched the movie & thought they were both really good. Although they have negatives about them, the main character does have positive attitude.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byspecialteachergl July 30, 2011
 

I knew what it would be when I watched it.

Really interesting movie. I loved it. Original. I enjoy the whole romance, horror, fantasy genre with pleasing endings. My husband figured out who the wolf might be before I did. Very pleased with the ending. The PG 13 is an appropriate rating. Be aware of violence and gore and some sexual references but typical. It is a little more intense than the Twilgiht films as far as violence, realtionships and drinking goes. It could frighten children.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byTootie_TooCute October 24, 2012
 

It dosen't matter!!!!!

I think that if you don't want your kids watching that let them read little red riding hood and if you do then well but i don't care accept the ages 11 and under which some of them don't probally watch it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byrude beauty April 10, 2012
 

back to reality after fairytale

absolutely amazing!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 27, 2011
 

From book to movie.

It was alright. I haven't seen the movie but heard it was very good in comparison to the movie itself. After reading it I was a bit frightful of what exactly the movie would be like. The reading content is perfect for 12 and up but I would say the movie more like 15 and up. Depends on maturity level too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old June 24, 2011
 

UGH

stupid boring movie so much talking hardly any action dont bother to watch!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bylolakitty12 June 20, 2011
 

Violent, but otherwise fine

Not many positive messages-plot is intent on killing the wolf. Very violent in the parts where the wolf attacks the town. Some disturbing parts. Overall it is really well written and it ties in Valerie's love life well.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byasager_97 June 5, 2011
 

Death

I loved this book.Everything about it was amazing.Its whole story.I think the only bad parts are the death by the wolf,other then that it is a great book for teenage kids to read during their free time.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byshaeshaelovesdogs May 1, 2011
 

I haven't actually read this book.. but the movie is good

I haven't actually read this book.. but the movie is good
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value