All member reviews for Rules

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 59 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old November 27, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Rules by cynthia lord

i think it was pretty good, but the character Catherine really bugged me!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bypanda guy November 17, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

panda guy

it ok
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old July 30, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Amazing

loved every page and or word of it a must read
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byDesini June 29, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

;D

This book is interesting and also educational :) I loved it just by reading the first 6 pages ;D
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byneubauera971 June 7, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

ME and my family

it is great
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old March 15, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I L0VE THIS B00K

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great for ages 8-12

I really liked this book because it tells a very good story on a boy that has Autism. His sister has to watch over him and doesn’t always have a normal life. Also I really like that Catherine helps Jason a lot throughout the book with his communication. I also enjoyed learning about different types of Autism. I don’t really have any negative statements about the book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byweisman3 February 17, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

very good messages and lessons to learn for young kids.

It is a very good book. This book was interesting and had an easy messing to send. I think a 12 year old would be a little board. 8+ would really enjoy this book. I did enjoy this book much. It is a very good book to teach young kids how every one is different and that is okay to have a friend in a wheel chair.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great for kids 9-12.

I think it is great for kids 9-12. It gives kids a look of what atrium is and it treats people who a lot nicer.
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

good messages and it keeps you hooked

I thought it taught me a lot of things about people that are different than me and that I should treat them like any other person. It’s not an action book but it does have a good message and it keeps you hooked.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byab_231 February 11, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
it is a simpley an amazing book
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old December 30, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for anyone intere

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bylilbre61455 December 8, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great book Loved it and i can relate to it too!

My little brother has autism and i can really relate to how Catherine feels i am also twelve and after i read this book i cried because half the stuff Catherine said to David i said to my little brother billy it is the moments in books like this that people can relate to if any of you girls out there with a disabled brother or sister just know they cant help it after a few years things will get better never yell or call them stupid disabled or no they have feelings dont let anyone push them around either let them know they are smart even if its not true :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byjordangunner9 October 28, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Books for 9+

I really like the bok because it has a lot of good messages and I was full of zeal when i read this book. I like how Catherine deals with her brother having Autism. I think that she deals with the situation very well.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 13, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Boring but on the upside good role models. -.-

This story gives off a good message and all but I personaly don't like the author's style of writing. The writing is like, "I walk to the couch" and it's not past tense. There isn't really any big events in this book either. She just means this guy and makes him drawings. THAT'S IT. It makes it NOT interesting.Some people may not agree with me, but that's my opinion with some facts in it. (if that even makes sense.) overall, 8 out of 10. -...-
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old September 16, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Very Touching

I thougt it was very touching and made me realize how easy my little sister is. It gave me mo re respect for people with disabilities.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 9, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great book

Love this book! Catherine has a brother that she makes rules for in hopes that one day he will be a "normal kid." It is a book that I would read again when I get the chance!-)
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byearthgurl July 4, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

8+

Interesting story. The girl is a great role model.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old May 28, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

An OK Story

Catharine goes to her brother OT clinic, and meets a boy named Jason with a speech therapist that he hates.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byilovefood May 27, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A great story! Perfect for ages over 9

I loved it, so did my daughter. I would definitly give this book a great review. It was a heartwarming story, and definitly rewarding! It will inspire readers to think about others points of views.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages