All member reviews for Rules

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 59 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

BAD! WHATS THE BIG DEAL!

i honestly don't get what is the big deal over this book i mean it's so boring. All it has is a boring story with a list of rules. Don't waste your money!!!!!!
Kid, 11 years old December 7, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

What will Catherine do?!

I think that Cynthia Lord did a really good job making such a big deal into a loose, easy going, fun novel. It can make you laugh at times and sometimes frown. I really felt hate for Catherine, and that's good! Catherine always wanted a friend, and she gets what she wants! Her friend is pretty, and she can't help to feel compared. Her little brother has autism, and she finds that embarrassing. There's Jason, Ryan, and her mom and dad! Catherine wants to make friends with her neighbor, but is her neighbor nice, or using her? Does jason have a sweet crush on her? What will Ryan do next!? Catherine wants attention, what will she ever do?!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old January 25, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Awesome!!Book. Not.Stinks a big one!!!

Awesome book! It tells about a girl who has to deal with her brother who has autism. Trying to fit in with her new normal neighbor is hard with her brother around ruining everything. Being good friends with a boy from Catherine's brothers OT ( Occupational Therapy) might be much better then friends with her next door neighbor who is friends with a big jerk at her school.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old January 14, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

GREAT BOOK!

I just finished this AMAZING book and i absolutely LOVED it! I could even kind of relate to Catherine. It sends out great messages and there was not ONE time in the book where I was bored! If I had to be concerned about ANYTHING I would say there is the tiniest bit of romance (a 12 yr old girl goes to a dance with a 14 yr old boy and there is some EXTREMELY mild flirting) Anyone under 10 could read it but I think kids from 10-14 would understand Catherine and her feelings more.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 11, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Unpositive messages for 9 year olds

i think that it has some misleading "rules" for younger children. EX: leaving out isnt the same as lying....
Teen, 14 years old Written byemmers2000 January 21, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

BEST Book Ever!!!

I love this book. I have a brother with Autism so it was nice to know that im not alone.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old October 21, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Hi!

I think that it is a very nice and interesting book that I would love to read again. However, I can't find the climax in the book that is the only problem!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :P :D XD
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

perfect for tweens

is a pretty good book I like how Catherine the main character always tried to stick up for David her brother with autism even when she was sort of frustrated and she was really nice to Jason a boy who goes to her brothers occupational therapy “OCT” who is not able to talk and he has a communication book . Catherine likes to draw and during “OCT” Miss Morehouse Jason’s mom catches Catherine drawing a picture of Jason and than she asks Catherine to draw a picture for some of the communication book. It sends a great message and I would think tweens would like it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 6, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
i read it with my class and every body in my class loved it so read & enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byMy Autistic Brother March 24, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

My little brother ( :

I Love this book! It really touches me. Because I am an older sister(14) Of an Autistic Brother. Who is 7 years old. All the stuff David does Reminds me of my brother. Well except for the talking part.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymayy17 January 3, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

perfect for children of all ages

one of the best books ive read in a while.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old September 16, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good for people older than kids (tweens,older kids etc)

Love it. The book is just awsome and I really recomend it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byshoeman March 5, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

ChickensRcool

Good
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 8, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Great Book About Kids With Special Needs

This is a great book for kids. I read it with my fourth grade class last year, and loved it! Rules is a great educational book because it teaches about kids with autism and also, physically disabled. Catherine is a positive role model because she is nice to her brother, David, who has autism, and makes friends with Jason, a fifteen year old boy who can't walk and can't speak. I think kids five and under won't really understand this book, so don't read it to your child unless their six and up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 2 years old February 22, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Bleck

Its awful
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 2, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

not the best one out there

I think this was very disappointing. There are a bunch of books about kids with autistic siblings out there, and this definitely does not win the prize. It has very little emotion, doesn't focus on autism enough, and moves both too fast and too slow. Not worth reading.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old February 2, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT PLEASE READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

omg! if u read this book you can not even put the book down its that good
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bypoop1234 January 16, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

ok

i think it is ok... it sets a good example for kids, and how not to behave and be so worried about what other people think.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bybubblegumlover December 4, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Great book for any age

The book is great for any age, but it is 200 paages, so it may be too long for young children.

Pages