All member reviews for Rules

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Newbery honoree about life with an autistic sib.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 70 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old October 13, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Boring but on the upside good role models. -.-

This story gives off a good message and all but I personaly don't like the author's style of writing. The writing is like, "I walk to the couch" and it's not past tense. There isn't really any big events in this book either. She just means this guy and makes him drawings. THAT'S IT. It makes it NOT interesting.Some people may not agree with me, but that's my opinion with some facts in it. (if that even makes sense.) overall, 8 out of 10. -...-
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old September 16, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Very Touching

I thougt it was very touching and made me realize how easy my little sister is. It gave me mo re respect for people with disabilities.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 9, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great book

Love this book! Catherine has a brother that she makes rules for in hopes that one day he will be a "normal kid." It is a book that I would read again when I get the chance!-)
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byearthgurl July 4, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

8+

Interesting story. The girl is a great role model.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old May 28, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

An OK Story

Catharine goes to her brother OT clinic, and meets a boy named Jason with a speech therapist that he hates.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byilovefood May 27, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A great story! Perfect for ages over 9

I loved it, so did my daughter. I would definitly give this book a great review. It was a heartwarming story, and definitly rewarding! It will inspire readers to think about others points of views.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byshsschoolgyrl May 6, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

k

i think it was very educational
Kid, 10 years old March 30, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Educational, and shows that anybody can be your friend.

I love it. I have to do a book report on this. It will be easy since this is a great book!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byMy Autistic Brother March 24, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

My little brother ( :

I Love this book! It really touches me. Because I am an older sister(14) Of an Autistic Brother. Who is 7 years old. All the stuff David does Reminds me of my brother. Well except for the talking part.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 17, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Rules

It is a sweet book. Good for lots of young children, but still entertaining for older children.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 14 year old Written bystars.1234 February 23, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
i love this boo k is the bet i have ever read so far and this shows a lot and means alot
Teen, 13 years old Written byBrinlee February 20, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Perfect for all ages

Kids should understand autism once they are in school they will probably know kids with autism, if you want to read it to younger kids that is good too.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 2, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

perfect for older kids

i think that this is a good book i read it twice
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 18, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

perfect for ages 10-13 =-)

i like this book! it was very fun to read and i couldn't put it down! i liked the book and how it realates to real life situations. a++++++++++ lol!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBbOoOoKk WwOoRrMm October 18, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great for anyone 9 and up!!

i LOVED this book! It has a lot of great messages in it, it's very appropriate, no violence, negative messages, bad role models, inappropriate sexual behavior, foul language, noticeable product placement, drinking, drugs or smoking. Very appropriate and educational. It has positive messages and the characters are good role models.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old September 16, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good for people older than kids (tweens,older kids etc)

Love it. The book is just awsome and I really recomend it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byRoxygirl97101 September 8, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I loved this book it was amazing out of all four I read this summer!:)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 27, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Perfect for 3rd, 4th, or 5th graders

it is a good book, sad at times though. I liked it and i recomend it to all of my friends. I thought it was weird too!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 15, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Must read

You must read this book. I don't care what you think but you must buy it. This is a great book and I love the main character. It made me feel really good inside after I read it! Please read this book!
Teen, 13 years old Written byjoshhklee November 20, 2008
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A touching yet thrilling story about a girl with a brother who always get in trouble.

This book is about a girl named Catherine who wishes she had a normal brother. Her brother David, has autism. So he does not understand life as other people do. She has a friend who has just moved to her next door. But a friend who is dating her worst enemy. A boy who is in a wheelchair and can't speak who has a crush on her. And an overworked father who she thinks does not care a single bit about.

Pages