All member reviews for Savvy

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 23 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old September 4, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Amazing!

I loved this book! Its good to read before bed beacuse all my other books are about murder and stuff like that. So, this book was good to read before I went to bed!I love how the book has suspense and is very interestng!
Kid, 9 years old February 13, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great!

What IS Mibs savvy (what this special family calls their "magical power")? If you read this book that is probably a question you will be asking yourself. I really liked this book. I think this is a good book for seven and up (strong readers). If you don't like magic this is not a good book for you, as it is about a family with magical powers. Otherwise it is a great book for every one!
Kid, 10 years old May 23, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome for tweens!

There's definitely more content for tweens. In the book, there are at least 3 kisses (one of which results in the boy getting slapped), an ex-girlfriend who calls Lester "stupid", tatoos, a homeless man that the author insinuates is drunk (younger kids may not notice this), & Will's older sister is a little boy crazy. It's OK for tweens, but I would say 9 is kind of pushing it. This is a great book that I really enjoyed. I like that it's realistic in a way, but unrealistic in other ways. I'm just starting to be a tween & a lot of the content is perfect for my age & older. There's so much to the story that makes for extremely interesting reading. I do think that the content I mentioned above makes the book more interesting.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byChristian gurl May 1, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I say 10+ It's really good though, it won a newbery award

They kiss in the pool The he*l is mentioned once, there's a girl with a punk attitude with temporary tattoos
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old February 26, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Perfect fo tweens, but to confusing for kids 5 and under.

Best book ever! Perfect for 4th graders.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byBrooky30 March 8, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Perfect for Imagination Building

I loved this book because it created a world for your imagination. It left you wondering what the end of the book would bring. I imagined what savvy I would have, and how I would use it.
Kid, 12 years old October 31, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Savvy By: Ingrid Law

I think that this is an amazing coming of age book. Any child who loves a great adventure (with a slight hint of romance!) would absolutely love this book. The way Ingrid Law writes and sets everything up, it makes turning the page an adventure in itself! I highly recommend!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 3, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great thought provoking book

I thouroughly disagreed by the intial review for this book, it had many positive messages about right and wrong, and thinking before acting that make it an inappropriate book for a nine yr. Old. I think part of growing up is learning how to make decisions correctly, and this book certainly emphasizes that.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 22, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Amazing book!

This was one of my favorite books that I read as a tween (twelve). It never gets boring and I love the story. It's so original. I highly recommend you read it!
Kid, 11 years old February 2, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

savvy

i love this author and her books even though i think scumble was a little better but there both good
Teen, 13 years old Written bymini39 January 25, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

the best book for all!

This book is for everyone. its a family kind of book that doesn't have any flaws in it. every one will enjoy this book!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bysammy4488 January 16, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

just ok

This book was just ok. I liked the whole magic thing, that was pretty cool, and I liked Mibs savvy. But for me the book didn't really pop. Don't get me wrong, it was good, it just really wasn't exciting and it lost me at some parts...a bit slow for me. I think a lot of young readers would like it but once you start hitting the 13 year old mark it starts to lose its sparkle.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old November 28, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Wonderful Book!

This is a great book! I loved it. Kids who are younger than 9 could read it because it is not inappropriate but it wouldn't mean as much to them if they were older. It is a great coming-of-age book too. It is amazing and I really wonder what my savvy would be.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good read

I think that it could be bad dor younger kids because they might not understand the concept of a savvy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old March 24, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Well
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

perfect for tweens with an imaginative mind.

It is very interesting but some times the book just looses me especially when their on the road trip to salina.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byKJT March 6, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byFun4Me January 27, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Thought-provoking and funny

It was a well put together book. It was thought-provoking and I even recommended it to my siblings at home! I think all kids should get this book. However, you probably would have to bring a dictionary around when you read this book because they use some funny slang of some sort that might be confusing for some.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byh8rPatrol December 21, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
This book is beautifully written and fun.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old August 1, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

This book Sucked.

This book Sucked. Sucked. Sucked. DO NOT READ!

Pages