All member reviews for Scat

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Eco-mystery is suspenseful and funny.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 28 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old July 29, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

GRRRRRREAT!!!!

Yes you should read it it is a great book
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old March 6, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Should I read it???

I am looking for a good book...should I read it?
Teen, 17 years old Written byashleyshepard January 17, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

goood for highschool teeens and younger ages like junior high schoolersd

love it and you neeed to make a movie and get pictures of characters
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byMomWhoPreviews November 10, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Mild, but constant bad language

My 12-yr-old daughter is reading this for a book club and "loved" the first 1/4 of the book, but now she won't finish because it has "lots of bad words." I thought she was being overly dramatic because I hadn't read this when I previewed the reviews for it. BUT...the 3 or 4 pages prior to her bookmark that I read (about 1/2way in) contained a d@mn, smarta&&, and dumba&&. That means about 1 swear word per page! Yes, they're "mild," but completely unnecessary! Sure, the boy who threatens teachers is a rough kid, but young readers get that just from the descriptions of him; they don't need the adult dialogue. There is also the constant reference to middle schoolers having cell phones and other unnecessary consumer goods.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written bykcw96zsxc September 8, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

GREAT!!!

it was the best book ive read in a long time and i read a lot of books!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 20, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

If you like nature you'd love this book!

There is one curse word, d**n. It has great messages. It teaches that the environment is at danger at a risk. And that a lot of animals are close to being extinct. This story has a lot about nature and environment.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old March 15, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old October 8, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

SCAT

:) it doesn't disappoint!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bybooklover18 September 9, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great

What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old July 9, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

not really for kids

i read this and i didnt know what most of the words ment like smart*** things like that
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 8, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Amazing Book

I love this book. I really think kids should read it!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 8, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Really good!

Good for tweens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byshanerocks May 9, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Crappy book

I started reading this book and got SOOOO bored. I abandoned it after 70 pages. I HATE THIS BOOK!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written by_Thao_ April 14, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Why Should This Book Meet For Littler Older Kids?

Should we worry about our kids reading this kind of book? Sinse there's a whole of violent in this book ( not like "The Hunger Games") and plenty of cursing, we should really make this read rate 11-13 & up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byA_Bennetts December 16, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Scat, the book.

I liked it. It was very interesting. And kept me throughout the WHOLE book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old December 11, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Try it first

Ok, I read this book about a month ago and I loved it. When I was choosing a book to read I choosed the SCAT because even the cover looked mysterious and I thought I could read first few pages and if it was not good I could read other books. When I first started to read I couldn't stop reading!!! It talks a lot about endangered animals and I think it would help kids my age how important the animals are and we should protect them. There's a lot of mystery and that's the main reason I kept reading it, I wanted to solve the mystery and I think this book is very educational for kids and kids should try to read it^^
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old December 10, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for kids!

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bysharonfxxoo August 16, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Scat

A boy didn't bite off a teacher's pinky and eat it. That's....weird. He broke the teacher's pencil and then chewed it....But the book was amazing, and one of the first I've read by Carl Hiaasen.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old June 26, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

dont hate Scat!

I think the book is great.The only thing i would change is the language
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old May 14, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

GOOD

I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!! I think it is a good read for teens, tweens

Pages