All member reviews for Silent to the Bone

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Adult Written bykingslyle December 16, 2008
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not for 6th Graders!

Each year I encourage my children to read books from the school's suggested reading list. I often read the books before my children do so that I can discuss the content with them. Last summer I read Silent to the Bone by E. L. Konigsburg, a selection from the 6th grade list. I was appalled to find Konigburg’s book to be several grades over my child’s head in terms of its sexual content. It is about a young boy who has an erection and feels so guilty about it that he literally stops talking (read the title again). The episode occurs when the naked, older, unmarried babysitter cozies up to him in the bathroom after bathing. The narrative includes a reference to a “Viagra thing” happening to the boy. The scene takes place after the babysitter has had sex with her biker boyfriend in the adjoining bedroom while the parents aren’t home. Naturally, I don’t think that this book should be “suggested” for sixth graders. Remember, sixth grade children are 10, 11 and 12 years old. The sexual content of this book is not what we should be teaching our 10, 11 and 12 year olds, at least not without the consent of the parents. To do so in this example would mean that we would first need to explain to a 10 year old the notion of premarital sex, why the main character in the book feels so guilty about his adolescent erection, and what Viagra is and why it was referenced. In Silent to the Bone, we learn in fiction that premarital sex is acceptable and that normal adolescent events are shameful and cause for terrible guilt.
Adult Written byhoopstoad April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Tread carefully

My 12 year old was upset by the distrubing sexual content that is revealed in the last pages. I should have been more wary about the age range given on the book itself, which said ages 10-14; I think ages 14 or up would be better.
Adult Written bybmackey55 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Not for young teens

My 12-year-old daugther was very embarrased by sexual content in this book. The conduct of the adult nanny with a 13-year-old boy is very disturbing and not something for young teens to be reading.
Parent of a 10 year old Written bymckbran January 2, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
My 10 year old son and I have read several Konigsburg books and loved them. We were listening to this one on a road trip and I turned it off before it got to graphic .. did not know where it was going. I was completely caught off guard because the audio set recommended it for ages 10 to 14 and we had read other books by this author without mature subject matter. I am now reading your comments (should have read CSM, first) and agree. Will take nothing for granted going forward. We will revisit it in another 3 to 4 years, but NOT appropriate for age 10. Even for one who understands sexuality basics.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byustogether4ev December 16, 2008
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byBookHelperForYou April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bykobi123xa June 2, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Relaxing, yet Exciting!

Silent to the bone is a nice mystery book, that I myself recognize as a relaxing, yet exciting, book for anyone over the age of (at least) 13. I recognize this book as an adventurous, thriller book. Although this book may contain unsuitable material, such as minor sexuality as well as smoking, I actually enjoyed trying to solve this mind bobbling book. I am 14 years old, and I have succeeded in enjoyment, and respect, of a book chosen for a curriculum requirement.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bydreamgirl234 May 18, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

not ages under 10

had to read this book for class and i thought i was going to hate it but i can admit it was pretty good
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Adult Written bySunsetDarling August 29, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Do not read! You will waste precious hours of your life! Read something like Doctor Zhivago instead.

I had to read this book for school, and I found it dull and slow. Once I'd put it down I dreaded picking it up again. I love to read, but this wasn't enjoyable. I thought the writing was poor and the story unbelievable. I didn't want to spend time reading about two teenage boys struggling with adolescence.
Teen, 13 years old Written by♪♫music♪♫ August 22, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

a great book

my school participated in reading olympics and delaware county recommended this book to be on the middle school list. there werent that many inapropriate scenes and i loved the mystery. i dont see why kids cant read this i read it when i was 11 and ok fine im 12 now but i still dont get why people make such a big deal about not even a couple pages. yes that stuff is innapropriate for elementary school kids but cant parents just give a little more credit to older kids?? im starting the second book tonight :-)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byfhfjhn April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written by@sean.craft16 December 1, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing

I think this book was quite good. The sexual part at the end was alittle disturbing but that Is life. NOT saying it is right but i do not think this is inappropriate.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byEGarden December 9, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Silent to the Bone

Was a disappointing book in my opinion i was expecting more! But it was an alright read.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bycraicalaic November 2, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Silent to the Bone Review

I think this book can be very interesting for kids who like mystery. However, their is some content that I wouldn't recommend for children under 13. I read this book with my class in the 8th grade, and although the sexual content was a bit uncomfortable to talk about, it's something that we will have to learn about in some point in our lives. And especially with this generation, I think kids at around 13-14 should start to slowly learn about these things. With publicity and the internet, kids these days are a lot more exposed to these types of things then people used to be. So in conclusion, if you're a parent who doesn't feel comfortable with their kids reading things with any sexual content whatsoever, I wouldn't recommend this book. But overall, it's a great book with a good storyline, and I would definitely recommend it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bylyndsey791 September 30, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great Mystery!

This was a good book, I loved the mystery. But, I had some inappropriate things for kids that are in elementary school. It really shows how friendship can go a long way, and has some great messages. At times though, it got kinda boring. The plot was kind of repetitive. Overall, it was a good book. If there is a sequel, I would definitely read it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySiennaroar1 April 10, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

It's a great book for tweens and teans.

I love this book. I had to read it for a book project for school and I thought it was great. I was very interested in it and I could not stop reading it. I think that it is a great book for some tweens and teens.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 16, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
love it so much
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Parent of a 17 year old Written bybookguyy212 November 16, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

should not be read boringg

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old September 24, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Doesn't make sense, but is discusting in the meanwhile

Dont read, please
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bypetrarca007 March 2, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Love it!!! Very strong themes and characters!!! I've read it and I thought it was very heavy but enjoyable!
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages