All member reviews for Silent to the Bone

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Absorbing mystery includes child abuse, sexual manipulation.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 29 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Such Crap

I cant believe people write this crap and it gets published. I accidently picked this up when I was much younger (it was in the childrens section of the library?!) and read it adn was absolutely disgusted. I hate this book completly.
Adult Written byfhfjhn April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bylyndsey791 September 30, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great Mystery!

This was a good book, I loved the mystery. But, I had some inappropriate things for kids that are in elementary school. It really shows how friendship can go a long way, and has some great messages. At times though, it got kinda boring. The plot was kind of repetitive. Overall, it was a good book. If there is a sequel, I would definitely read it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bylaurenes April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i felt like i was almost there...very good book!!

this book started out by confusing me a little bit, but as the story went on to tell branwells problema nd what had happened, piece by piece everything else fell into place! the highlight of this story is when branwells friend finds out what really happened to him and the whole situation with his half sister! im telling you that this book is worth reading and if you dont you are missing out on soo much and youll regret it!
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pretty good

I have to say one of the best books ive read. It was good and kept me hanging Great Book
Teen, 13 years old Written byvrumayo90210 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great mystery!

I really enjoyed the plot of this book. I do agree that the sexual content was kinda iffy but other than that it was really great. I finished it in 2 nights.
Teen, 16 years old Written by@sean.craft16 December 1, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing

I think this book was quite good. The sexual part at the end was alittle disturbing but that Is life. NOT saying it is right but i do not think this is inappropriate.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byEGarden December 9, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Silent to the Bone

Was a disappointing book in my opinion i was expecting more! But it was an alright read.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bycraicalaic November 2, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Silent to the Bone Review

I think this book can be very interesting for kids who like mystery. However, their is some content that I wouldn't recommend for children under 13. I read this book with my class in the 8th grade, and although the sexual content was a bit uncomfortable to talk about, it's something that we will have to learn about in some point in our lives. And especially with this generation, I think kids at around 13-14 should start to slowly learn about these things. With publicity and the internet, kids these days are a lot more exposed to these types of things then people used to be. So in conclusion, if you're a parent who doesn't feel comfortable with their kids reading things with any sexual content whatsoever, I wouldn't recommend this book. But overall, it's a great book with a good storyline, and I would definitely recommend it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages