All member reviews for Skellig

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

This gorgeously weird novel captivates readers.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 51 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old January 13, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Best book ever

I love this book. It is probaly my favorite and favorite author. I am almost 11 and my older sister suggested it for me. You should definely read it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byanasali12 October 14, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The book is Not so good or bad its All RIGHT

I love the book In the starting the book is ok but in the middle the swear like for EX: bloody
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Parent of a 12 year old Written byribenarav July 30, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

my amzing descripion of this foul book

rubbish and it is settting a bad influence on the children and know they have made a film about it it is absolutely foul
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old June 14, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Spooky!

I thought this haunting story was really strange. Almond never provides clear answers or even facts - just the views of a depressed ten-year-old. The author centres the whole story around birds - owls, blackbirds and even angels. I guess every reader will have a different interpretation of this moving tale. I really enjoyed this book and it was written fabulously, however I feel like I've outgrown it although I appreciate the level and style of Almond's writing.
Adult Written byTeykia April 11, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I Loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I read this book in my Reading class. I am in the 6th grade and my teacher gave us this book to read with partners.At first I really didnt understand it because they are from England.It is a great book that teaches a valuble lesson about how not giving up can help someone.
Kid, 11 years old April 11, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

asome

butifull
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 17 years old Written bytbeachbumn April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I LOVED IT

i loved this book. i had to read it this your for my senior term paper and i thought it would be bad. but as i got further and further into the book i learned to love it. i would recommend this book to anyone. and a good review from me is A LOT because i don't read much due to the fact that i hate reading. But this book was amazin
Teen, 15 years old Written bymoviegeek April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Wow....

This is a real quick book to read, but it has a lot of power. I guess it's one of the best examples of "quality over quantity". I wasn't sure that I was going to like the book at first, because it was very weird. It leaves the reader with something though, and it keeps you thinking after to finish(something most novels fail to do). The writing is excellent as well.

Pages