All member reviews for Survivors: The Empty City

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Exciting start to dog fantasy series.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old April 17, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great book for dog people like me

i think this book is great so far im at page 53 and im writing a book report about i think at the end the book will be great and the dogs call humans "long paws" i enjoyed the book so far i give it a 8.5 out of a 10 and im only ten and it just caught my eye in my school library unlike all those cat books no offence and for dog people like me they will really like it and for cat people they might like it so hope youll read it and have a great day.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 6, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Dog Lovers Must Read

You know, this book isn't that bad. I mean, sure it's not as well written as Warriors but dog fans are sure to love this. There is plenty of action, and a lot of good charecters. I don't like this as much as Warriors of course, and I'm pretty sure a new cast of Erins is writing this, but it's worth reading if you love dogs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old October 7, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Ehh..

Follow Lucky and his new friends as they attempt to survive after a giant earthquake ravaging the city he lived in. With all the humans gone, how will they survive? Ehh.. this book was okay. There is nothing really to watch out for. The violence is at it's minimum compared to other Erin Hunter books.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old December 28, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Read Warriors

Ehhh... Well the violence is at it's minimum compared to warriors. I'm more of a cat person anyway I have 4. READ WARRIORS IT'S AWESOME!!! Maybe for a dog person it would be enjoyable. But half the book makes no sense!! Are these different Erins I'm baffled.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written byThe Book Aholic March 11, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

The DOGS Rule!!!!!

My four eldest (George, Lucinda, Ralf and Margaret) love all animals. They own everyone of her books. We own 3 dogs and we love them. I think this is a great book. George used to be shy, but when he read this book he found courage of the dog packs. He now is a soccer player, the quarterback of the football team, member of the swim team, and president of the student council, and on Honor Roll. I'm grateful to this book because it helped my son gain courage! GO MIGHTY BADGERS! :)
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old November 2, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Just Okay

This book is by the author of Warriors and Seekers, Erin Hunter. It is okay, but not her best work. The story revolves around dogs searching for a new home after an earthquake. There are mean dogs, dead dogs, and one dog almost dies when it tries to get into it's house. I would suggest this for animal lovers.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byXxIceshadowxX May 15, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

ehhh

Its a fine book actually, just not as well written and exciting as Erin Hunters other book series, Warriors. Theres a bit a violence, and Lucky is a good role model I guess.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old February 10, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Dont bother.

What was Erin hunter THINKING when she made survivors? warriors is epic but surviors?! I wish they DIDNT survive.