All member reviews for The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Funny, gritty, and powerful novel of growing up on the rez.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 29 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byHeroOfLight94 January 2, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

my favorite book of all time next to drums girls and dangerous pie

this book i thought was going to be funny but what i get was an amazingly written tale of racism, homophobia, love, compassion, teen life, life on reservations, and acceptance. There are numerous sexual references but mostly all portrayed humorously. there is also strong language. one f--k and other mild language. there are short fistfights a few sad deaths and strong alchoholic content
Teen, 13 years old Written byfox10145 December 29, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great comedy

I choose to read this book for our "banned book" project. The masturbation mention seems to be the most controversial topic for this book. You should know masturbation is only mentioned and does not go into detail. My teacher even suggested I choose a different book because of it. But I think this is just Sherman Alexie's way of accurately portraying teenagers these days. I felt like Alexie genuinely understood what being a teen is like. Alcohol, strong language, and a small amount of violence take place in the story aswell. I laughed throughout the whole book. A great message of making new friends and forgiving old friends is a main theme throughout the book. The importance of family and standing up for what you believe in is also an important moral preached throughout the story.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 7 year old Written bye.tai09 October 1, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I just finished reading this novel for my college english course. I'd have to say that when i first picked up the book, I wondered why we were reading it! I mean, pictures?! Really? lol Then after I read it I understood why. Though there are some sexual references, alcohol abuse, ect, Alexie gives us an intimate look into the life of a teenage boy with hopes and dreams who is lead to self-discovery by the people around him throughout the novel. There was a connection I felt with Junior (the protagonist) that influences me to give this novel a two-thumbs-up! I would recomend this novel for teens 16 or over =]
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Adult Written bymoviemadness April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Wonderful...

A funny, inspiring, and brutally honest book about unfairness, racism, friendship, and pulling yourself up by the bootstraps. The characters are believable, and readers will sympathize with Junior's plight. This is a great story to introduce readers to the lives of those living on Native American reservations. Parents should know that there is a frank reference to masturbation and boy has his head sewn up without anasthaesia. There is also so swearing. Altogether, it's a great story for teens 14+!
Kid, 12 years old October 10, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I am only in the third chapter and there is already talk of masturbation. I am 12 and I feel a little awkward about reading that stuff. Although, it does have some great messages about poverty and bullying. If your child is mature enough to not show that sexual stuff to their friends as a chuckle during class, than I think it is a great book.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 8, 10, and 17 year old Written byMrs. Bartels December 6, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

INSPIRING PERSEVERENCE!

I love how persistant the main character is in his pursuit of an education. I admire his work ethic and his ability to stick with school despite the many obstacles put in his path: racism, alcoholism, loss, poverty etc... He is amazing on the basketball court, not because he is a natural basketball player, but because he refuses to let anything get in the way of his success. It is his ability to stay focused in the midst of chaos that I find particularly inspiring. He never loses sight of his goals, and that embodies a wholesome vision of success that is endearing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byboyyy July 16, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Brandon's Brilliant Review

This book isn't actually that bad my parents read it and they thought it was educational and im only 13. Yes it has some swearing andsome alcohol related things but its not like the're not going to say it when they grow up. once they get older the're allowed tosay whatever they want without your permission. Plus if the bookwasn't really that good why is it a NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byMelodyMV August 14, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

It's one interesting perspective of one interesting teen

Great book! Recommended for mature readers, and something to definitely discuss with parents. So much character growth in this book makes you want to continue cheering for Junior!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byeloc5 December 16, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Best book ever for kids over 12 or 13 ... teaches kids alot about indian reservations
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great role models
Parent of a 1 and 5 year old Written byrustfam November 11, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A Must Discuss book!

This is a powerful book relaying a hopeless and hopeful message, but it's a book that can't be read in solitude. Parents read with your teens and discuss -- there are incredible life lessons that are worth discussing!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bynoveleater November 9, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A comedy with heart, but death(s) take place

True Diary is hysterical… one of the funniest books I’ve ever read with a perfect end to a perfect novel. The story tells of a boy named Junior who lives in the Rez, a town with an Indian culture background. He decides he is going to go to an all-white-school where Junior will be bullied, will bully, make friends, get a girlfriend and have an experience like no other. Junior’s adventure in the school is witty and the writing is accompanied by little comics that express just as much as the writing does. He is realistic and has little quirks that make you love him more. Although the humor is funny, it does touch upon erections, masturbation, and a girl underwear magazine (all just said, no real action explained) and the book does not talk about S.E.X AT ALL!!!!! The story has a suicide, three deaths (or is it four) and Junior talks about how The Rez is filled with alcoholics and parents that abuse children. The f*** word is used once in teh sexuely correct way, also sh** is said. The novel is great and recommend it for anyone over 13 and for anyone with a witty sense of humor, the ride is totally worth it, I promise you.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byLadiicoca August 30, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Perfect for teens and young adults

I Think this book is absolutely appropriate for Teen from the age of 14+ because this is wen kids start to get an idea of how life is and you cant hide things from your kids you have to be very open so that they will trust you in the long run and listen when you give advise
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 13 year old Written byrkskymuffin March 2, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
it was not one of my fav books at all i mean it was ok but many other better books
Teen, 13 years old Written byfuzzyowl November 17, 2008
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Hilarious and sad

This book is hilarious though slightly crude. It is a well worth your time book. It will especially help when you thought you had a bad day!
Teen, 15 years old Written byphoenixadvanced June 7, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Fantastic book, great for anyone cause it's interesting and funny

This book was great. The narrator was hilarious, and the drawings throughout the book made it interesting to read . The main guy is great cause he knows what he wants and isn't afraid to go for it. Even though he's small and skinny he stands up for his family and tribe, even when some massive senior makes a racist comment, Junior punches him in the face despite the fact that it might earn him a beating. What made this book even better was that I learned after I read it that it was based on the author's life and experiences growing up on an Indian Reservation. This book taught me a lot about Indian Reservations that I didn't know before, and it was really well written.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byhamstergurl09 May 7, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fine

I thought the majority of this book was very funny. The story was interesting, and I learned a lot more about native americans on reservations. There are only some parts of the book I didn't like, but other than that, I enjoyed it.
Teen, 15 years old Written by111 year old man October 18, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Book!

Awesome book and I hate books. I read it in one day, I couldn't stop reading(not just because the project was due the next day). The masturbation caught me off guard but it was only talked about for one paragraph.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 year old Written bybookaffair November 27, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Positive messages about life is what you make it!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 15 year old Written bymomtojoe August 19, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

great story of hope and overcoming adversity

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byWC August 18, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I had to read this in June-August 2010 for my incoming freshman high school year. I thought it was a good book, but was way inappropriate for kids my age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages

Pages