All member reviews for The Big Field

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Action-packed, emotional dad-son baseball story.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator Written bysb34chick November 21, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Fantastic Read

Mike Lupica does it again. A great story for those readers looking for something a little more challenging than Matt Christopher's famous sports books.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byRidley21 September 6, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Perfect for teenagers (12,13,14,15,16,17,18)

My 13 year old son hates to read and out of all of the books he had to read in his life he only liked three books and "The Big Field" is one of those three books
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Written byAnonymous March 24, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Rated ON

Rated ON for brief mild violence and emotional situations.
Teen, 17 years old Written bymakinaaaaa May 3, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Some People over 9. Dad is not a good role model.

The big field.... i used for a book report in 8th grade english, let me tell you it was a bore. I finshed it and thought it was someone okay. i love softball and baseball , day in and dayout, however the way that this book described the plays on the infield, outfield, and in the batters box were a dread. I sat there with a blank stare wondering what i was going to do the following period in the school. I wonder what went through with this guy, mike lupica when he decribes his sences to us as the reader? Other than the baseball aspect(which I was disipointed) the drama was wonderful. I did read another book by the author mike lupica and this boook was amazing , a total jaw dropper. However this one i was sad about knowing that mike lupica could do way better. so sad about this but i finshed it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Adult Written bysuperbook January 20, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Reading Jungle's Review

This fast-paced sports drama follows the challenges faced by 14-year old star shortstop Hutch Hutchinson. His love of baseball is put to the test with the arrival of competing shortstop and stronger player "D-Will." This further complicates Hutch's tense relationship with his father, himself a former shortstop and disappointed minor leaguer. This attention-grabbing tale relates positive lessons learned about baseball, team, and father relationships. Visit www.readingjungle.com for the full review and recommended book lists!
Teen, 14 years old Written byChew On My bubblegum March 9, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

math quiz

solve -3b=96+b
Kid, 12 years old January 31, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

the big feild

GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byI love the big field October 24, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

New York Times

It is a wonderful book
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bypats15 May 9, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
This is a great book, that I would recommend to others.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I loved it

I loved The Big Field. I thought tha t it was a great book that always had something going on. It is fun and up to date. If you like sports books then I really recommend this book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 1, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

perfect

i like this book because it is just good
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byWhoops December 28, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great!

It's a great book! I had to read it for school and it was a bumber cause I don't like reading,but once I started I coldn't stop!It's truely a GREAT story.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 30, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good book

it was a very good book i enjoyed reading it
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byJill Murphy April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

We Love Mike Lupica!

My kids loved Heat and now The Big Field. The author really knows how to write stories that appeal to young kids -- especially to young boys. It's thoughtfully written and brings the reader beyond the game but into the life of the characters.