All member reviews for The Book Thief

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Powerful testament to humanity in Nazi Germany.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 131 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bygreensage16 November 26, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Absolutley Stunning

This book is by far one of the best books I've ever read. The writing style was incredible and one of kind. The Book Thief gave me an entirely new view of WWII. It's a must-read.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byJosieD October 29, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
This book captures the live of a young girl living in Nazi Germany. It is defiantly a difficult read because Zusac does not shy away from the suffering in that time, and he shows that by using death as the narrator for the book. Parents should be aware that this book clearly shows death as a theme for this story. The odd way that Zusac writes is what makes this book so interesting and a story that everyone should read.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byPotterheadWhovian104 October 18, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A wow of a novel.

Just wow. You love all of the characters, you feel so much sadness but all of the joys of childhood and young teenhood and you just FEEL so much when reading this. It does have some sensitive subjects and it IS a book meant for the teens, but if you have a mature 10 year old, I'm sure they could handle it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old October 5, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Inspiring and wonderful

This book is really touching and enjoyable, I cried at the end, it was so sad
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byCapucine October 3, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good rythm and special way of writing

Quite a sad ending.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bytaylorrolyat13 September 24, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazing!

This is one if my favorite books I've ever read. Marcus Zusak is a master with words. However, it is a bit dark and depressing (not that anybody was expecting a uplifting story about Nazi Germany). This story was so well written that it makes it hard to believe its fiction! Highly recommended to mature tweens and up!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old September 3, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A 13+ age book but okayish for 12 years old

This book is a great book to read. I'm currently reading this book for summer vacation homework. I'm in love with this book. However, i think there are one or two parts in which i think it is 13+ but everything else is good for 12 years. If you don't want your kids reading those one or two parts which is for 13+ i think then don't. To be honest i feel weird reading them myself and also they are really small parts so this really is what you think. The book is amazing to what i think but it depends on you if u want to read it or not but to make sure read other reviews by parents to see what they think and then see if you want to see your child reading them. This is my review and i hope this helps you on reading this book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written byjujube14 May 29, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Brilliant

This story teaches the reader about life, words, friendship, and tragedy. The story is brilliant and can be summed up as a masterpiece. The writing is gorgeous and poetic and one of my all time favorites! (P.S. it may take you a while to emotionally recover from the ending... As it did with me)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byRose1011 May 29, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A great book for everyone!

This was a really good book!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMr_Toom May 14, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Book

It's a great book, exiting, humorous, but still with the sadness of the time.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 13, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Breath taking and heartwrenching

This book is truly a masterpiece. every thing from the narrator to the authors note is really well written.the narrator is very unique but sometimes very intense. This is a great book.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byJustMai1215 May 3, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old May 1, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

OMG!

ok i loved this book!!! great for middle shcool!! a lot of swearing, but its nothing a middle schooler cant handle since most of it was in germna!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLilyLynne April 27, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

My favorite book!

This book is my favorite of all time, and it is so beautiful. It is based in Germany in world war 2. It does not promote either side in the war, although characters are scared of being bombed by the Americans. Jewish prisoners are paraded down the street and a man tries to give bread to a jew. He is whipped for it in the street. A young teenage girl drinks champagne. There is some language in this book, but swearing is rare. A jew is hidden in a basement, but he has to leave later on in the book. He is caught by nazis, and the main character sees him in a parade of jews. The main character, liesel, and her best friend steal often, but liesel is most interested in stealing books. An entire street of people is killed by bombs the Americans mistakenly dropped there. Liesel kisses a boy for the first time as he is dying because of the bombs, and they are both about 14. This book is so devastatingly beautiful.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 19, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

AWESOME

I'm 11 and I thought that this book was really good. It's about a girl growing up in germany during the holocaust. there is some violence like the nazis hitting jews and stuff but i think it was really good.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byAwalkeratCSM April 17, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A Short Tribute of Praise

The theme is simple: humans have great capacity for many things (courage, committing atrocity, overcoming obstacles, etc) but more importantly for good or for evil. The words used to express this are so simple, and the meanings so grand and many; this is the power of Zusak's, something you rarely find in modern literature. Free verse sometimes appeared so lazily executed, and the looser forms of fictional composition so popular among writers ill used. Zusak accomplished eloquence; this is what I truly admire about this book, in addition to his dynamic perspective and bold approach to using Death as the narrator. The story itself stuck out from among many books in a heralded genre, Holocaust literature, by its exploration of the correlation of words and human actions. Brilliant and well-woven. To truly understand this novel, it should be read at least twice-over; I can sense that I have missed several connections between the two subjects while devouring the story. I recommend this story for fifteen year-olds and older because of the depth and maturity of the themes. Uncountable instances of foul language and a scene of nudity also propel me to recommend this for older teens. I hope they continue to introduce the novel to schools; Zusak's writing style deserves to be analyzed.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bystork13 April 9, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

One of my Favorite Books!

The Book Thief is a really great book for teens and even adults. It definitely captures the struggles of the characters in the book. Yet it also has good role models who later become heroes. What really stands out about this book is the fact that the main characters will fight to do what's right even if it means risking their lives. The book has some language here and there (sh*t, a**hole, pig, etc.) yet its mostly said in German language. The Book Thief is a very educational book and its also very interesting. It's a little slow at the beginning, but IT GET'S BETTER!!! Trust me :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Written byAnonymous March 25, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Wow...

When I finished reading this book, I was utterly blown away. First of all, while there is dark humor, I think that it was best told from the point of view of death (him?her?) self. The characters were very, VERY, well put together. The plot/storyline is splendous. The ending is well done, but sad. This book ALMOST made me cry, but not quite, as I must preserve my manlyness. Not that Nazi Germany was funny, as it was horrific, but there were also some very funny moments in it as well. This may be my all time favorite book, and it will stay with me for the rest of my life. I recommend this to anyone 13 and older, or 10 and older if your child can handle the emotional toll.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviefanatic88 March 24, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Boring start but fabulous end!

(This will sound awful) But the book was a little slow the first couple hundred pages. It didn't really reach its full potential till the last 100 pages (I was SOBBING). Very poignant and moving. There wasn't necessarily "too much violence", but it may be too intense for some kids.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byLostAtSea March 10, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Refreshing

This book, set in Nazi Germany and narrated honestly by Death, is full of terrifying truths and beautiful words. It is refreshing because this is a book for teenagers/young adults, and it informs you that eventually, you will die, and there is nothing you can do about it. That doesn't happen much. Throughout the book, tidbits like this are thrown in. Aside from this, the book has many bittersweet relationships. Rosa, Liesel's foster mother, constantly calls her names and hits her with a wooden spoon, but loves her dearly. All in all, the book has one main message: Sometimes, things suck.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages