All member reviews for The Book Thief

Common Sense Media says

Powerful testament to humanity in Nazi Germany.
 

Users say

(out of 132 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byILoveBroadway January 18, 2015
age 13+
 

The Book Thief

The Book Thief is easily one of my favorites! It's certainly a heavier book that will make you think. Zusak did a wonderful job of capturing the scene of a Nazi Germany town. The narrator, a personified Death, is comical and gives the reader a unique look of the world through his eyes. The book lightly included and mentioned alcohol and cigarettes but none of which were excessively used. I did not like some of the language throughout the book, but it should not be anything too difficult for a teenager or mature preteen to handle. Since it is based in World War II, it includes Anti-Semitic comments from some characters. Incredibly beautifully written story that is sure to please!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bycollaborate.fmc December 31, 2014
age 6+
 

BEST BOOK EVER

Oh my gosh! I read this book when I was 10 years old and I fell in love with it. The characters are so vivid and compelling. I felt like they were all real and like I was talking to them. Yes, the storyline is dark and extremely sad, but the way that death is portrayed in this book is very metaphorical and it is not an inappropriate read. There are some swears, but most of them are not used in an inappropriate fashion. The ending is quite sad, I would suggest tissues. It is an amazing book to read and you will certainly want to read it over and over and over!!! I think that kids should be able to read this to learn about the history of our country through good and bad times. This is such a good book. Markus Zusak is a genius.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bythatintrestingirl December 6, 2014
age 13+
 

My all time favorite book!

Markus Zusack origonaly wrote this book for adults, but the YA audunce pickeded up... Even though the main chatacter is a pree teen and teen in the story, deth is the narater so it has both a masculine and feminine ballence... I think this book is fine for anyone over 13, thats when I first read it myself! There is A LOT of death in the story, but all of it has meaning, it is not mindles volience. But there are some intence immages, and deth is a very intence subject. there is a wee bit of swearing, most of the swearing is in german, if you don't understand German you do learn some greatght swearwords form the 40s! the first line in the book is "you are going to die" deth speeks the the reader a lot, but you begin to know him as a person and dair i say e becomes likeable! This book is beautifuly written as well! I read this book three times in one year, and it helped me deal with a lot of sad deaths around me (including the suside of a close friend) This is a must read for everyone, and if you are under 13 make shure you are mature anough to handle a lot of death talk. just remember that this book will tear your hart out, run it over with a steemrolar then put your hart back to gether a gain! YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bygreensage16 November 26, 2014
age 12+
 

Absolutley Stunning

This book is by far one of the best books I've ever read. The writing style was incredible and one of kind. The Book Thief gave me an entirely new view of WWII. It's a must-read.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byJosieD October 29, 2014
age 13+
 
This book captures the live of a young girl living in Nazi Germany. It is defiantly a difficult read because Zusac does not shy away from the suffering in that time, and he shows that by using death as the narrator for the book. Parents should be aware that this book clearly shows death as a theme for this story. The odd way that Zusac writes is what makes this book so interesting and a story that everyone should read.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byPotterheadWhovian104 October 18, 2014
age 12+
 

A wow of a novel.

Just wow. You love all of the characters, you feel so much sadness but all of the joys of childhood and young teenhood and you just FEEL so much when reading this. It does have some sensitive subjects and it IS a book meant for the teens, but if you have a mature 10 year old, I'm sure they could handle it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old October 5, 2014
age 12+
 

Inspiring and wonderful

This book is really touching and enjoyable, I cried at the end, it was so sad
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byCapucine October 3, 2014
age 14+
 

Good rythm and special way of writing

Quite a sad ending.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bytaylorrolyat13 September 24, 2014
age 13+
 

Amazing!

This is one if my favorite books I've ever read. Marcus Zusak is a master with words. However, it is a bit dark and depressing (not that anybody was expecting a uplifting story about Nazi Germany). This story was so well written that it makes it hard to believe its fiction! Highly recommended to mature tweens and up!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old September 3, 2014
age 13+
 

A 13+ age book but okayish for 12 years old

This book is a great book to read. I'm currently reading this book for summer vacation homework. I'm in love with this book. However, i think there are one or two parts in which i think it is 13+ but everything else is good for 12 years. If you don't want your kids reading those one or two parts which is for 13+ i think then don't. To be honest i feel weird reading them myself and also they are really small parts so this really is what you think. The book is amazing to what i think but it depends on you if u want to read it or not but to make sure read other reviews by parents to see what they think and then see if you want to see your child reading them. This is my review and i hope this helps you on reading this book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written byjujube14 May 29, 2014
age 13+
 

Brilliant

This story teaches the reader about life, words, friendship, and tragedy. The story is brilliant and can be summed up as a masterpiece. The writing is gorgeous and poetic and one of my all time favorites! (P.S. -spoiler---- it may take you a while to emotionally recover from the ending... As it did with me)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byRose1011 May 29, 2014
age 13+
 

A great book for everyone!

This was a really good book!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMr_Toom May 14, 2014
age 12+
 

Great Book

It's a great book, exiting, humorous, but still with the sadness of the time.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 13, 2014
age 12+
 

Breath taking and heartwrenching

This book is truly a masterpiece. every thing from the narrator to the authors note is really well written.the narrator is very unique but sometimes very intense. This is a great book.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byJustMai1215 May 3, 2014
age 12+
 
Kid, 10 years old May 1, 2014
age 11+
 

OMG!

ok i loved this book!!! great for middle shcool!! a lot of swearing, but its nothing a middle schooler cant handle since most of it was in germna!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLilyLynne April 27, 2014
age 13+
 

My favorite book!

This book is my favorite of all time, and it is so beautiful. It is based in Germany in world war 2. It does not promote either side in the war, although characters are scared of being bombed by the Americans. Jewish prisoners are paraded down the street and a man tries to give bread to a jew. He is whipped for it in the street. A young teenage girl drinks champagne. There is some language in this book, but swearing is rare. A jew is hidden in a basement, but he has to leave later on in the book. He is caught by nazis, and the main character sees him in a parade of jews. The main character, liesel, and her best friend steal often, but liesel is most interested in stealing books. An entire street of people is killed by bombs the Americans mistakenly dropped there. Liesel kisses a boy for the first time as he is dying because of the bombs, and they are both about 14. This book is so devastatingly beautiful.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 19, 2014
age 12+
 

AWESOME

I'm 11 and I thought that this book was really good. It's about a girl growing up in germany during the holocaust. there is some violence like the nazis hitting jews and stuff but i think it was really good.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byAwalkeratCSM April 17, 2014
age 15+
 

A Short Tribute of Praise

The theme is simple: humans have great capacity for many things (courage, committing atrocity, overcoming obstacles, etc) but more importantly for good or for evil. The words used to express this are so simple, and the meanings so grand and many; this is the power of Zusak's, something you rarely find in modern literature. Free verse sometimes appeared so lazily executed, and the looser forms of fictional composition so popular among writers ill used. Zusak accomplished eloquence; this is what I truly admire about this book, in addition to his dynamic perspective and bold approach to using Death as the narrator. The story itself stuck out from among many books in a heralded genre, Holocaust literature, by its exploration of the correlation of words and human actions. Brilliant and well-woven. To truly understand this novel, it should be read at least twice-over; I can sense that I have missed several connections between the two subjects while devouring the story. I recommend this story for fifteen year-olds and older because of the depth and maturity of the themes. Uncountable instances of foul language and a scene of nudity also propel me to recommend this for older teens. I hope they continue to introduce the novel to schools; Zusak's writing style deserves to be analyzed.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviefanatic88 March 24, 2014
age 10+
 

Boring start but fabulous end!

(This will sound awful) But the book was a little slow the first couple hundred pages. It didn't really reach its full potential till the last 100 pages (I was SOBBING). Very poignant and moving. There wasn't necessarily "too much violence", but it may be too intense for some kids.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages