All member reviews for The Cricket in Times Square

Common Sense Media says

Absorbing tale of a very talented cricket.
 

Users say

(out of 10 reviews)
age 8+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byhell0 March 30, 2013
 

Awesome!

This is an amazing book!!! The education is finding your true talent :). But some language and tobacco. Mama yells at Chester for eating money. Papa and Sai Fong smoke. Otherwise, WONDERFUL!! I <3 it :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 14, 2010
 

Great book

This was one of my favorites. There isn't anything that wouldn't be appropriate for younger kids. I definitely would recommend this book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 14, 2011
 

amazing

well it cool and funny and i think every one will like it
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
 

A great book for kids of all ages!!!! I loved it!!!

Parent of a 12 year old Written bycrankylibrarian January 8, 2014
 

Music and friendship conquer all

A beautifully told New York fantasy: Chester, the country cricket, is accidentally whisked away to downtown Manhattan where he finds a home with a lonely boy named Mario, is befriended by 2 crusty New Yorkers, Tucker the mouse and Harry the cat, and discovers an unexpected talent for classical music.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old July 5, 2012
 

The Cricket in Times Square.

I liked this book. First, Chester cricket got lost by going in a lunch basket and getting carried to New York. Next, the Bellini's who own a newspaper stand find Chester because they heard him chirping. Then, Chester meets Tucker Mouse and Harry the Cat. They all turn on the radio and Chester memorizes the tunes and chirps them. Mamma Bellini, who didn't like the Cricket in the first place decided he could stay as long as he chirped her favorite tunes which he did. He became famous for his chirps. Finally, Chester decided to leave New York and go back to Connecticut, his home town, on the tree stump.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old May 23, 2012
 

Sad End... But 5 star begining

Very Touching... I cried when I found out when Chester had lefy
Kid, 12 years old March 27, 2010
 

The circket intimes square great book for kids!

I LOVE that book it was so good! I remeber reading when the mouse tucker let chester the cricket have his life savings I thought that was the best part i theink that is such a good messeage to share and do stuff and not except anything in return! :D LOVED IT <3
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 10, 2010
 

terrific

great.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byMeldrum SFA September 23, 2009
 

Mrs. Meldrum's SFA class opinions

If you like funny, this book is for you! The pictures are amazing. Not only is it funny, it has a serious side too. The characters are extremely excellent and hilarious. There is plenty of action to keep you wanting to read. As you read, you will learn the meaning of true friendship. There are many details about Chester's long journey. This book is clearly an entertaining book.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models