All member reviews for The Dark Is Rising

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byihatereading101 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

WOW

um...this book was okay...it was really confusing though. i only read it cus i had to for school and i would have never picked it up otherwise. the chapters are really long and i always had a straying mind when reading this book. if you like fantasy, this is and okay book, but if you dont DO NOT READ THIS BOOOK UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!!!...unless you have to for school!!! hehe
Teen, 15 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I hated it

I found this book just so bad the only reason i read it was because I read it for school.
Kid, 12 years old October 13, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Great book, rubbish movie. This one is the best of the series, a must read for young kids who are fans of fantasy and adventure.
Teen, 13 years old Written byghicken May 12, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

confusing and hard to follow

It is a shame that some schools require this book to be read, it is hand down the worst book I've ever read. It is hard to follow confusing and boring, I can't read this book for more than an hour without falling asleep, crying,or sometimes both. Bottom line- Don't read it ever.
Teen, 15 years old Written byelenmadil April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Really good book by my favorite author!

I loved it. It has just the right amount of everythin'. Some scary parts, some really funny parts, and some complicated parts. The only problem with it is that you have to read the whole series to understand everything and some people aren't ready to do that much reading.
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A MUST READ!!!!!!!!!

this book has an amazing plot and i loved it sooooooo much. it is really a must read!
Teen, 14 years old Written byDragonYay February 11, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

the dark is rising

i think it is amazing book it has some good action and i have to read it for school but i still think its good for anyone to read
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old April 15, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
It's very boring. I was forced to read it in class and all my teacher ever did was tell us to read a part at home. She thought it was interesting but really it was just a disappointment. This book might have been interesting to me if I read it when I was 8 and still believed in time travel. Now I'm more into non-fiction books. Overall, it's a boring, non interesting story. I would never recommend it and when I have kids, I will never make them read this garbage. (No offensive Susan Cooper)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old April 24, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

uwuwu

i completely disagree with you uwuwu. please tell me where the commercialism and violence is. small amount amount of violence. i could of handled it when i was 6. i only rated 10 and up becausd its a bit hard to understand.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old December 14, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

The Dark is Rising.... Slowly

I read this book this year (2011) as a seventh grader and I found the plot in this book really hard to follow. The storyline (of what I could understand) was really not interesting and I thought this was a really uninteresting. A small part of the reason I highly disliked this book was because my class ran this book into the ground going into depth with it. The book really has no action in it. The only scenes that could even pass as an action seen where basically when the wind started blowing harder, it got colder, and the main character holds up a couple of signs and everything is OK again. As for the "violence" part of the rating- The burn is not graphically described at all and for the mother breaking her leg because she was forced to fall down the stairs, that is basically how it is described. If an eight year old could understand the plot, they would not even be offended. I honestly did not like this book at all and I would have given it a one star rating but I reserve that rating for books only as bad as the novel "Julie of the Wolves". And as for me giving it an "off" rating, it is not because it is inappropriate but more so because it is just a boring novel.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymatthew_powell April 19, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Respond to mkalv ( Hard To Understand )

I agree with you this book is hard to understand. The whole book is confusing and I don't understand the plot and what is happening. I had to constantly re-read the first chapter just to sort of understand what is happening. This book is just to hard to understand and I completely agree with you.
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 26, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hard to understand.

I enjoyed this book, but it was at times hard to understand. It had a lot of fantasy, though. I enjoyed the film more.
Teen, 17 years old Written byMiss Practical April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bydesertbaby12 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY